We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent 2 nights stay no complaints at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent 2 nights stay no complaints at all”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

we arrived friday afternoon we had a deal very good value even had a bottle of sparkly wine in the fridge .
our room was to a very high standard a superior room very clean light and comfortable , with a lake view . they have a happy hour 5.30 - 6.30 in their modern bar . all in all a very pleasant stay .

Room Tip: try to get a superior room looking onto the lake quiet and i think they have recently been refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    579
    418
    163
    66
See reviews for
404
561
79
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Broken Hill, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Although I have never stayed with this hotel I can only relay the excellent service they provide to my parents recent stay. I contacted the reception to arrange a gift for them as they were celebrating thier 50th wedding anniversary. The service they provided was above what I asked for and certintly contriubuted to Mum and Dad having the special day , their words " Flabbergasted with the service " Thank you Sudima Hotel in particular Parag"

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PABLO_426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My friend and I stayed here after touring Rotorua and then went to the Maori dinner/show that evening. The hotel is a great value and the hangi was a real treat! Set right on the lake we enjoyed the scenery too!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deefs17026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My friend and I were given a first floor room in the Annexe part of the hotel, which DID NOT HAVE A LIFT!! We were offered some help to carry our luggage, but this took so long that we carried our things up ourselves. We thought we would relax that evening in a spa (as advertised) only to be told they were all out of order!! Howeve, we were given vouchers for the public spa across the road. My friend's bed was lumpy and when she checked, it was due to an OLD mattress protector which was "pilled". The room was adequate, but did not have a microwave - which was surprising. The following day we were told that the spas were working, but when we got in, the water was cold and the bubble jets did not work. We were talking to some other guests who were there, and they said the same thing. The TV reception was really bad too. Although we were told the rooms had been refurbished, the bathroom was antique, the shower was over the bath and leaked through the curtain that was supposed to cover.

All in all we were really disappointed with this hotel, and it spoilt a 4 day well-earned break for us, as we are CYFS carers and had not had a holiday for years!!!

Room Tip: Check whether they have lifts installed yet, and ask for one away from the road frontages!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weebsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This hotel was a great place to stay at. We had 4 rooms and had no complaint from anyone
Staff were very accommodating and even organised for us to eat early in the restaraunt as we had to be at a concert by 6. The meals were amazing and reasonably priced. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and is handy for the walk around the lake. My room was spacious and well fitted out and recently upgraded I think as the appliances/ fittings were new. Certainly everything needed for a comfy stay. There was quite a bit f noise early in the morning as the tour buses loaded luggage and got ready to depart. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Food was good and service very prompt. In fact, the customer service from every single member of staff at the hotel was exemplary.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LocalTouristNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2012

All 37 guests who attended the birthday lunch had glowing comments to make about the excellent quality of the service provided by management, restaurant staff, lounge staff and others. The room that was provided for overnight stay provided a very good view of the lake and the provision of a bottle of bubbly on ice (free of charge) was a great finale to a wonderful occasion and we convey our utmost appreciations and commendations to the Sudima Hotel. Thank you and aroha nui

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Te Kei M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
1,148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing