We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 4 November 2012

My friend & I recently stayed at the Sudima Hotel loved our stay. We had requested a quiet room with a view and this is exactly what we got. The room was very comfortable although the bathroom tiles a little tired.
We booked several tours at the Information Office in town and the 3 we choose were an absolute treat and a gave us a real and absorbing cultural experience.We loved Rotorua in every way: the friendly people, beautiful and well cared for city and the tour guides. A very enjoyable and rewarding stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from where coaches arrive/depart. Kerry at the information centre in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

My wife,our two young kids and I spent a lovely, relaxing weekend at the Sudima in Rotorua. Reading the past trip advisor reviews we were expecting something different to what we got. As a family we totally loved our stay! The reception staff were great and so efficient. Zenia always greeted us with a big smile when we came by. Our two double beds room was clean and well stocked with everything we needed.Pillows, towels, AC, fan,fridge. Parking was easy. The heated pool was a favorite. We spent hours splashing around in the hot relaxing water three days in a row. We discovered the free, private, spa baths were excellent to relax in. The pools and spa had a partially open roof so when the sun shone in, wow. The pool and spa area may seem a little dated, but we did not care because we had so much Fun. For groceries, easy!The supermarket is across the road! A blessing. The location is excellent. A minutes walk and we were on the main street, Fenton Street with so many choices to eat and shop. There's always something happening by the Lake. When it was time to leave, One of the staff, Sanu, helped us out. Thanks. We are planning our next family holiday back to the Sudima, with our friends. Great price,Great Place,Great fun!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Pita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This was a good choice in Rotorua. We had a view of the lake from our balcony, comfortable beds, a small frig and microwave for making breakfast...all for under $100NZ! Also just a short walk to the Polynesian Spa. Walking distance to everything we wanted to do.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golformeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I recently stayed in Sudima Lake Rotorua with my family which consist of 2 adults and 3 children (9, 7 and 3 years old) The bedroom we got was great as it was at a corner and separated the children room and the adults.
Our bedroom had a generous size Queen Bed with our very own LCD TV, the children room had 3 single beds and their own TV to watch their children channels, so no fighting over the TV.
Another good thing about the room was the dining area which made it easy for us to buy takeaways from nearby restaurant and not the hassle of dragging the kids out after they settled in the room.
The swinming pool was also enjoyed by all, having the lake in front also allowed us to have good strolls. The location is perfect! Supermarket just accross the road and the city centre just a few blocks away. Polynesian Spa just opposite the hotel.
Heaps of parking and secure too.
The breakfast was great and enjoyed by the family.....overall the hotel allowed us to have a nice holiday and rest. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: When making a booking, ask about their family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I thought I'd mention first that Rororua doesn't have a single CD/record shop!

We Sat-Nav'd down from Auckland to Rotorua and were delighted to find the hotel right on the lake. There are a few decent hotels in Rotorua - but this one is right on the lake. Simples.

The Sudima had a ridiculous (IMO) breakfast system (delicious food though). You are asked if you want Continental ($18), Cooked ($20), Combined ($25). Eh? Nobody polices this; it's all serve yourself and if your party is two or three people, the person electing to have cooked breakfast can receive fruit, cereals, etc, from the other member and vice versa. And, as with all NZ hotels, there is Worcester Sauce; more than can be said for most UK hotels.

Dinner was also tasty. On the second night we were treated to s special dinner with a maori stage show (in which I had to participate). My daughter has that all over Facebook now! The dinner was a buffet; it was curious that you had to put your starter and main on the same plate. I don't like mixing raw fish with lamb. They hadn't thought this part through; you could go back as often as you like and could have taken the starter first and returned for the main. But the psychlogy of these things is that when there are 100 or so people there, you worry about whether or not there would be enough meat left on your return.

The room was excellent; concierge effort excellent. All round, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suspishio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for a conference it's a lovely hotel good food great beds and just a 5 minute walk to the centre of Rotorua. There is a natural spa in the hotel as well as another across the road the park in Rotorua is beautiful and very near the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is right on the lake it is a very quite area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April120449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

we arrived friday afternoon we had a deal very good value even had a bottle of sparkly wine in the fridge .
our room was to a very high standard a superior room very clean light and comfortable , with a lake view . they have a happy hour 5.30 - 6.30 in their modern bar . all in all a very pleasant stay .

Room Tip: try to get a superior room looking onto the lake quiet and i think they have recently been refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing