We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms but nice staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 9 April 2013

When you go on holiday you only need a room to sleep in. This one had a bonus of a verandah overlooking the lake so I took advantage and had dinner and breakfast outside- very serene.
The block we were in was refurbished but still a bit dated but generally ok.
The bonus was the house heated pool and spa. Not mineral but just as good.
We booked into the Maori cultural show onsite and were more than happy with the evening. The food was good and plentiful and the artists very good. A great alternative to the main stream tourist shows in town.
We also found the thermal pools in a local park to be a great way to see nature's foibles without the cost of admission.

Room Tip: Lakeside or stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusBVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,516)
There are newer reviews for Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here on a bus tour many years ago and could not see many changes apart from the updated lobby and reception area. Our "superior" room was extremely basic and overlooked the car park, which meant we could not open the curtains. It is centrally located, but definitely "tour bus" accommodation for one night.
We were pleasantly greeted each morning when we went to breakfast, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Sudima is a large hotel with rooms in different blocks. The reception area was very nice and the staff were helpful abd friendly. Our room was perfectly adequate if a bit tired. We were on the top floor of a two level block with no lift, but staff who happened to be around at the time carried our cases up for us.
We didn't find the sulphurous smell a problem, after all, the mud pools etc. were the reason we came to visit Rotorua.
While visiting the sights we noticed that most of the hotels were well out of town, whereas the Sudima was in walking distance of the towns restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillsiders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel is very centrally located for the attractions in Rotorua, although perhaps a little smelly from the sulphur. The reception area and main building appear to have been updated more recently than the adjoining buildings which were looking a bit shabby and tired. The net curtains in the room and corridor were dirty, The bathroom door handle was broken as was the towel rack which was hanging off the wall. Although the room was well cleaned it does not hide the fact that a bit of DIY was needed. The internet which cost $10 does not work in the rooms and we had to ask for a refund.

Room Tip: We chose a room in the outer buildings which had a balcony, although perhaps with hindsight we woul...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed one night with three children aged (10,5 & 4 months). Arrived earlier than expected and room was set to go. Security was amazing, staff helpful, attentive and friendly. Clean room and premises. Only negative was the parking. Overall do intend to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeshaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

'Next to Lake' suggests lovely views over the beautiful lake in Rotorua...should read 'next to smelly sulphur flats'. I appreciate that Rotorua is always going to have its own unique smell (which is part of the charm?) but this hotel is near the particularly pungent area!
Room cleanliness; after checking in, we immediately went out for supper. On arriving back to our room at 11pm, we pulled back our bedding to discover that we weren't the first people to sleep in these sheets...I don't expect fresh bed linen every night but I do expect it on the first night!
Wi-Fi is not free- not unusual in a big hotel but once paid for, I struggled to find anywhere in the hotel with decent reception.
Woken early with coach parties noisily departing at 6am.
All-in-all, not a hotel that we could recommend or would return to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newman_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. The sheeting on our beds do settle below the blankets resulting in some creasing, which may have appeared as though they had not been changed, I can assure you that it is definitely not the case! Thank you for commenting on the wifi and the noise caused in the coach access areas, both of these issues are currently being addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed 2 nights, very close to ammenities. Shops, resturants local attractions.Handy to the Blue Lake which is why we came to Rotorua. Very big hotel and felt we were tucked @ the back out of the way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £59 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing