We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Hotel ideally situated. We had a room overlooking the lake which was lovely to look out first thing and see the steam rising..
All staff friendly and helpful, and food we had at breakfast and evening was very good.
We stayed 2 nights and have no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed on lake view side on 1st floor for 3 nights. Room small or the beds to big for the room, couldn't open door all the way. No aircon only a heater. Very tiny bar fridge, no toaster or kitchenette area to speak of. Bathroom needs allot of work, old dirty shower head and mould etc. Balcony has a great view of carpark and an ok side view of lake. Traffic noise from buses can keep you up (even with doors and windows shut) and can hear people talking from the carpark area. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
The smell from the lake can be overwhelming at times, but the heated pool is great on cold nights.
Don't think I would recommend this hotel, just looks old and tired.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gumnut85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

When you go on holiday you only need a room to sleep in. This one had a bonus of a verandah overlooking the lake so I took advantage and had dinner and breakfast outside- very serene.
The block we were in was refurbished but still a bit dated but generally ok.
The bonus was the house heated pool and spa. Not mineral but just as good.
We booked into the Maori cultural show onsite and were more than happy with the evening. The food was good and plentiful and the artists very good. A great alternative to the main stream tourist shows in town.
We also found the thermal pools in a local park to be a great way to see nature's foibles without the cost of admission.

Room Tip: Lakeside or stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusBVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here on a bus tour many years ago and could not see many changes apart from the updated lobby and reception area. Our "superior" room was extremely basic and overlooked the car park, which meant we could not open the curtains. It is centrally located, but definitely "tour bus" accommodation for one night.
We were pleasantly greeted each morning when we went to breakfast, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Sudima is a large hotel with rooms in different blocks. The reception area was very nice and the staff were helpful abd friendly. Our room was perfectly adequate if a bit tired. We were on the top floor of a two level block with no lift, but staff who happened to be around at the time carried our cases up for us.
We didn't find the sulphurous smell a problem, after all, the mud pools etc. were the reason we came to visit Rotorua.
While visiting the sights we noticed that most of the hotels were well out of town, whereas the Sudima was in walking distance of the towns restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillsiders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel is very centrally located for the attractions in Rotorua, although perhaps a little smelly from the sulphur. The reception area and main building appear to have been updated more recently than the adjoining buildings which were looking a bit shabby and tired. The net curtains in the room and corridor were dirty, The bathroom door handle was broken as was the towel rack which was hanging off the wall. Although the room was well cleaned it does not hide the fact that a bit of DIY was needed. The internet which cost $10 does not work in the rooms and we had to ask for a refund.

Room Tip: We chose a room in the outer buildings which had a balcony, although perhaps with hindsight we woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed one night with three children aged (10,5 & 4 months). Arrived earlier than expected and room was set to go. Security was amazing, staff helpful, attentive and friendly. Clean room and premises. Only negative was the parking. Overall do intend to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeshaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing