We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
york
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights .Our room was comfortable and clean.Breakfast on each morning was very goodand our evening meal also very good.The staff were helpful and pleasant. We found the location to be a bit out of the centre but o.k. The thermal spring at the front was an added bonus?!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    551
    390
    159
    64
See reviews for
390
530
75
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our experience at this hotel was extremely disappointing and we are surprised at the generous reviews written by others. Our room on the second floor was dreary and shabby. There are only two windows you can open, one in the bathroom (which makes everything public to rooms in other wings of the hotel) and one in the sleeping area. If you want air circulation, since there is no air conditioning, you can open the bedroom window or sliding glass door but be prepared for the sulfur smell and bugs as there are no screens. The hotel is across the street from the lake, but it also has its own private geothermal vent next to the parking area, which assures the entire property gets a hearty dose of that signature Rotorua aroma. The bathroom is fairly spacious, but the shower was not clean. The carpeting was extremely old, thin and wrinkled and the window sheers frayed and torn. Bed linen was clean but old and thin. There is an elevator that barely holds two people with two suitcases and seems ready to expire at any moment. We did not dine at the hotel so can't comment on the food. While staying at the hotel the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful. After we left and had occasion to telephone about some items we left behind, they failed to return phone calls after agreeing to check for the items and, once we persisted in calling back three more times to get an answer, they failed to forward the items to a future destination after finding them and promising to send them on. Overall, this was the poorest accommodation in our three week visit to New Zealand and one we do not recommend to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pbahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the particular flavour of our city and the experience that this brings. We are in the process of adding more airconditioning to guest rooms which will extend to the block where you were accommodated. I am a little disappointed at your comments in regards to lost property, escpecially in light of the extensive efforts made to resolve this for you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Hotel ideally situated. We had a room overlooking the lake which was lovely to look out first thing and see the steam rising..
All staff friendly and helpful, and food we had at breakfast and evening was very good.
We stayed 2 nights and have no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed on lake view side on 1st floor for 3 nights. Room small or the beds to big for the room, couldn't open door all the way. No aircon only a heater. Very tiny bar fridge, no toaster or kitchenette area to speak of. Bathroom needs allot of work, old dirty shower head and mould etc. Balcony has a great view of carpark and an ok side view of lake. Traffic noise from buses can keep you up (even with doors and windows shut) and can hear people talking from the carpark area. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
The smell from the lake can be overwhelming at times, but the heated pool is great on cold nights.
Don't think I would recommend this hotel, just looks old and tired.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumnut85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

When you go on holiday you only need a room to sleep in. This one had a bonus of a verandah overlooking the lake so I took advantage and had dinner and breakfast outside- very serene.
The block we were in was refurbished but still a bit dated but generally ok.
The bonus was the house heated pool and spa. Not mineral but just as good.
We booked into the Maori cultural show onsite and were more than happy with the evening. The food was good and plentiful and the artists very good. A great alternative to the main stream tourist shows in town.
We also found the thermal pools in a local park to be a great way to see nature's foibles without the cost of admission.

Room Tip: Lakeside or stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusBVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here on a bus tour many years ago and could not see many changes apart from the updated lobby and reception area. Our "superior" room was extremely basic and overlooked the car park, which meant we could not open the curtains. It is centrally located, but definitely "tour bus" accommodation for one night.
We were pleasantly greeted each morning when we went to breakfast, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Sudima is a large hotel with rooms in different blocks. The reception area was very nice and the staff were helpful abd friendly. Our room was perfectly adequate if a bit tired. We were on the top floor of a two level block with no lift, but staff who happened to be around at the time carried our cases up for us.
We didn't find the sulphurous smell a problem, after all, the mud pools etc. were the reason we came to visit Rotorua.
While visiting the sights we noticed that most of the hotels were well out of town, whereas the Sudima was in walking distance of the towns restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillsiders2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing