We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here over Anzac weekend, with 15 month old, 4 year old and wife. Original family room leaked so had to move, this was done quickly by the front office staff. If you come here expecting style and grandeur then the Sudima is not for you, it is a large property that is the domain of the one night Korean, Chinese and University tours. The rooms are tired, rather battered and in need of a paint. Aircon was non existent. That said, What made the stay great for us were the staff, and restaurant for kids. Sudima had 5 dollar kids meals, the staff were very obliging opening up early to feed our young ones, and they provided kids activity packs. For the money we paid you can't complain, would we come back - yes certainly so, if all you need is a bed for the night and somewhere to feed and water kids.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel is right on the Lake - the scenery is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and clean and well appointed. breakfast was delicious, but a little costly. Breakfast is served with a beautiful scenery overlooking the lake. Parking is pretty close to the rooms, and easy to navigate around the hotel. Close to CBD. Enjoyed the facty the bus pick up is door-to-door for the Maori show outside town. Happy to stay here again, even with a stinky sulpher lake - just a quirk to the place.
Dont know about fitness centre or childrens activities as we did not use or enquire about these facilities.

Room Tip: Happy to return!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

The hotel is on a large complex with many coach loads of visitors. It is close to the town centre and many attractions. I wouldn't do the Maori meal and dance but go to Whakarewarewa, the living thermal village. The hotel has seen better days but was comfortable and reasonablr priced. Parking was quite close to the room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodilly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We have stayed at this property 3 times: June 2004, 2006, & 2012! The location is excellent--right on Lake Rotorua so get up early to witness the AMAZING SUNRISE! The wonderful Polynesian Spa is right next to the hotel...we head over there immediately :) The hotel rooms are not real fancy but are clean & comfortable. The staff is helpful & a traditional Hangi feast+Moari cultural show is a very fun experience with a great meal! Rafting the Grade 5 Kaituna River rafting experience is a MUST....we have gone with both River Rats & Raftabout---truly THRILLING! Mountt Ngongotaha provides a wonderful view of the lake & town..the gondola ride is awesome the luge is so fun! We enjoyed the Whakarewarewa traditional termal village experience....community based & very informative.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upupandaway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights .Our room was comfortable and clean.Breakfast on each morning was very goodand our evening meal also very good.The staff were helpful and pleasant. We found the location to be a bit out of the centre but o.k. The thermal spring at the front was an added bonus?!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our experience at this hotel was extremely disappointing and we are surprised at the generous reviews written by others. Our room on the second floor was dreary and shabby. There are only two windows you can open, one in the bathroom (which makes everything public to rooms in other wings of the hotel) and one in the sleeping area. If you want air circulation, since there is no air conditioning, you can open the bedroom window or sliding glass door but be prepared for the sulfur smell and bugs as there are no screens. The hotel is across the street from the lake, but it also has its own private geothermal vent next to the parking area, which assures the entire property gets a hearty dose of that signature Rotorua aroma. The bathroom is fairly spacious, but the shower was not clean. The carpeting was extremely old, thin and wrinkled and the window sheers frayed and torn. Bed linen was clean but old and thin. There is an elevator that barely holds two people with two suitcases and seems ready to expire at any moment. We did not dine at the hotel so can't comment on the food. While staying at the hotel the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful. After we left and had occasion to telephone about some items we left behind, they failed to return phone calls after agreeing to check for the items and, once we persisted in calling back three more times to get an answer, they failed to forward the items to a future destination after finding them and promising to send them on. Overall, this was the poorest accommodation in our three week visit to New Zealand and one we do not recommend to anyone.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pbahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the particular flavour of our city and the experience that this brings. We are in the process of adding more airconditioning to guest rooms which will extend to the block where you were accommodated. I am a little disappointed at your comments in regards to lost property, escpecially in light of the extensive efforts made to resolve this for you. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Hotel ideally situated. We had a room overlooking the lake which was lovely to look out first thing and see the steam rising..
All staff friendly and helpful, and food we had at breakfast and evening was very good.
We stayed 2 nights and have no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing