We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay in the school holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 22 May 2013

In May we booked in to the Sudima Hotel for 1 night. We had a supermarket voucher with a special deal for our stay. We took or grandson aged 7 and we all loved it. Had a great room with balcony overlooking lake and just above the heated pool. We all loved it and would go back.

Room Tip: Room 2nd floor front of hotel overlooking lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

The weekend away. arrived at sudima hotel Rotorua, Nth Island NEW ZEALAND. Th client leason perfect,18/05/13 every everything is perfection, Damn, one thing not happen, something real special, spoke to Hemal at front desk n he is on th phone straight away, no answer, so th team went into action n got th duty manager, Ropata to th front desk, I explained th problem, n straight away He says ,Jack,full breakfast in th morning and refund for what I paid to happen, I ok'd this n it happened. was not happy about th problem, yet I have to say, that Ropata n his Team are the BEST that I have had th pleasure to deal with,I did not get what I paid for, NO FAULT of thiers, yet they went further than anybody else did n turned m break into a Kingly experience. THANKYOU Roparta n th TEAM.
'

Room Tip: room 342, no noise no problems, Th Best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Fairly old hotel with no elevators for most of the second story rooms. Our room was small with little storage space for unpacking and storing clothing. Do not pay attention to any of the advertising which says lake views as few of the rooms meet this boast. It appears that the majority of their clientele is composed of bus tour passengers. Within walking distance of center of town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinite34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I recently stayed at the Sudima during my visit to Rotorua for the 2013 Half Marathon. This was my third visit to this hotel over the last few years. The location is great, being within walking distance to the nearby restaurants, shops, and the Polynesian Spa.

There is ample parking out the back of the hotel for guests to use, which is not something that can be taken for granted. I was pleased with the tidy and clean rooms provided for a very reasonable price. The staff are genuinely helpful as I was asked several times if i required assistance with my baggage when i was checking in and out, not that it was required. Based on the room rates relative to other properties in the area, i would highly recommend the Sudima to anyone visiting Rotorua. This is a Hotel facility at Motel pricing.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra and good for a Superior room, preferrably one with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed over the Christmas holidays. There were 2 adult and 2 children and we were not impressed. Had to have the fridge, the T.V and the fan replaced on the first day as they were not working. Shower leaked and flooded main room. Fan was useless, not sure whey there was no proper cooling system and there was no window you could open to get a through breeze. As my title says Never Again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest,
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We ackowledge that the lack of airconditioning is an issue and we are continuing the installation of this into more of our rooms. I also regret that some of the appliances in your room failed during your time with us, we have shared this with the team in order to improve our processes in this area. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here over Anzac weekend, with 15 month old, 4 year old and wife. Original family room leaked so had to move, this was done quickly by the front office staff. If you come here expecting style and grandeur then the Sudima is not for you, it is a large property that is the domain of the one night Korean, Chinese and University tours. The rooms are tired, rather battered and in need of a paint. Aircon was non existent. That said, What made the stay great for us were the staff, and restaurant for kids. Sudima had 5 dollar kids meals, the staff were very obliging opening up early to feed our young ones, and they provided kids activity packs. For the money we paid you can't complain, would we come back - yes certainly so, if all you need is a bed for the night and somewhere to feed and water kids.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel is right on the Lake - the scenery is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and clean and well appointed. breakfast was delicious, but a little costly. Breakfast is served with a beautiful scenery overlooking the lake. Parking is pretty close to the rooms, and easy to navigate around the hotel. Close to CBD. Enjoyed the facty the bus pick up is door-to-door for the Maori show outside town. Happy to stay here again, even with a stinky sulpher lake - just a quirk to the place.
Dont know about fitness centre or childrens activities as we did not use or enquire about these facilities.

Room Tip: Happy to return!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing