We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa, Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We spent three nights at the Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorura in June 2013. It was winter and raining. Our room was spacious and clean with two double beds, a great bathtub for anyone who wanted to soak the sore muscles after activities around Rotorura, well stocked with coffee and teas. The reception staff was very helpful and well-groomed. The hotel is very large with many rooms. It offers private jacuzzi rooms in the pool area, but you'll need to reserve one. Some rooms have balconies with outdoor furniture which would be great for summer months. Breakfast selection is great - offering either continental or hot breakfasts. The pool table, sports bar, restaurant, and computer center are great conveniences.

Coin operated laundry facilities are available in each hotel section. Detergent and other supplies are available for purchase, but there is also a store nearby should you want to purchase different laundry supplies. We encountered a dryer that simply wouldn't dry. After a call to reception, a repair call was placed, and our coins were refunded. The hotel compensated us by providing complimentary drying. The room bathrooms also have a convenient pull out clothes line in the shower/tub for drying small lightweight items.

The hotel offers a view of Lake Rotorura which is cool to see in the winter with all of the steam activity blowing across the lake. Up close, though, the lake needs cleaning, and it was disappointing to see the debris. Activities in Rotorura require driving, so there's nothing really within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel staff can arrange your pick-up/return to an authentic Maori village or they'll arrange other activities for you as well. During our stay, the Maori cultural show and Hangi meal weren't offered at the hotel. There are a few shops and restaurants nearby, but if you want to go Zorbing, to volcanoes or to sulfur pools, for example, you'd have to drive.

Polynesian Spa! A must go to treat! The spa offers THE BEST hands down THE BEST massages and body scrubs anywhere. The natural hot springs are an excellent top off after a luxuriating massage or alone to relax and enjoy the natural outdoor beauty.

Overall, for the cost and conveniences, this is a great place to stay in Rotorura. I could imagine it being extremely busy in the summer months, though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doc_Asellus_Borealis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our 3 night stay was flawless. Aiden on the desk welcomes you with a huge smile. He's Informative helpful friendly and kind. Thanks Aiden!!!! Our rooms were clean comfortable and most of all warm especially at this time of the year. Sudima is close to Polynesian Spas however we made use of the facilities at the Hotel. The pool is heated and so too are the Private Spas. We enjoyed our 3 night stay and wanted to stay longer. I had a personalised card in my room that added that special touch. Thanks to Gert and your Team. I highly recommend Sudima Hotel to anyone spending the night in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200 range have a private balcony. I did notice in other parts of the Hotel there are ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SELINA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for the kind words about our team, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Lovely lake view but disappointing rooms and facilities. Rooms were small and very worn.
Phone would not work, notified reception however was not sorted in our 3 night stay so unable to make calls. Brochure doesn't match up to hotel, if hadn't pre-paid would have found another motel. Uncomfortable and confined bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAKSKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,
I do apologise that we did not attend to the issue with your telephone, we have shared this with the team here as that is most certainly not acceptable. I am pleased that you enjoyed the fantastic location as well as the view, not sure about your comment in regards to our brochure as all the shots are of the actual product. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Had a great night at the Sudima. Very friendly staff and a great cultural expserience with the Hangi and Show. Would recomend this as a must do. Child Friendly . Lovely indoor heated pool and spas. Walking distance to the main shopping area of Rotorua, but very quiet. Lovely views across the thermal water opposite hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel has very simple rooms. They are nice and roomy, and I loved the location to the Polynesian spa. The smell was overwhelming for me and I never got used to it. The walls between the rooms were paper thin. Bring your earplugs!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethebeach048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We regret that you encountered some noisy neighbours during your stay with us, thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Sudima is well situated beside the Polynesian Spa in Rotorua and close to geysers and hot pools. The hotel itself is a bit tired and needs updating. It was fairly clean (my floor wasn't vacuumed as thoroughly as I would have liked). The food in the hotel restaurant was lovely and the service very good. My colleague and I enjoyed three dinners and three breakfasts there and I recommend that dining in is worth it. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TutuSwannanoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights, excellent location. Right next door to Polynesian Spa, close to thermal activities of the area. Only an hour or so from Matamata (Hobbiton).
Staff excellent, great Maori concert and hangi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £74 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing