We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but BAD room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After my experience with Sudima Auckland Airport, I lost all my expectation for "four stars hotel". I did have high hope since this hotel locates near the city center and the beautiful lake was an added bonus. Again, bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was even smaller. Pictures only showed the front lake view but there weren't anything else in the back. If you got one of those rooms, you're stuck with the lot and sulfuric smell. Wifi was slow and weak. Price wise, it was alright. Glad it was only a one-night stay. I couldn't sleep at all on those beds. Lastly, avoid the elevator .. really creepy and dangerous .. desperate need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctrany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the room was not to your liking on this occasion but pleased that you enjoyed our team. You need not worry about the elevator, it may not be the most modern unit but it is thoroughly maintained in accordance to the legal requirements for buildings in this country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed overnight here last week and found the staff to be agreeable and efficient. Very nice room with a lovely comfy bed. Access to complimentary spa pool available - would certainly stay here again. Had a lovely buffet breakfast which set me up for the day

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed in September as part of a conference group. The room was comfortable and very clean, the young guys that are ALWAYS around to help with your bags were very enthusiastic and friendly. The Sudima is in a handy, picturesque location and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and the comments it contained, in particular about our team here. We are pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Quite surprising not expensive clean and nice and central to town. Overall a nice hotel and we will stay here again. Next time we will try the cultural show as well. Never got to the spa again maybe next time. Staff seemed very friendly and smiled and always said hello. What more do you need.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do appreciate your wonderful comments about our team and have shared it with them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We looked at some of the other hotels offering spas but found them very downmarket and rough. Decided on the Sudima as it is right on the bay and next to the Polynesian Spa which is a must visit place. The price difference was minimal so why not stay somewhere nice eh?
We had a two bedroom room so the kids were not in our room for a change. They had their own TV and bathroom, great. The restaurant was first rate, the service perfect. everyone was very friendly and we would stay there again tomorrow. Didn't get a chance to swim in the pool as we were at the hot baths across the road, they are fantastic too. Very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducatifella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest
We are pleased that you liked the family room and that the kids also enjoyed the stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

One night here recently and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel used to be separate motels so the buildings are all in blocks but some do have a view of Lake Rotorua. The rooms very nice and the beds comfortable. There is a swimming pool and they have private spas that are free to use. The breakfast buffet was very nice and filling in the morning. The staff were helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Some rooms do have a lake view so enquire when you book :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel has seen better days but looks like owner has saved money on maintenance. It is a bit tired. Toilet didn't work. Wifi didn't work. We were charged more than the price listed on Trip Advisor. We were offered a $62 deal for dinner/ maori cultural group. Didn't go but later heard from the corridor the group singing a Village People song!? You've got to be kidding if this is presented as "cultural". Overall, quite poor.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest
We apologise for the fact that you did not find our building to your liking and regret that you failed to notice the modern look of the restaurant, lobby, guest room passages and many other areas. It is a pity that you decided not to attend our cultural show, as it may have explained the context and meaning of a "mainstream" song in the evening's proceedings. It is an excellent night and we are sorry that you missed it! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
883 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing