We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here almost two years ago and came back to stay with my husband.

Once again I was in the last room of the last wing but upstairs this time. Room was clean. Beds comfy. Curtains darken the room.

The restaurant food is great. Loved eating here, both at breakfast and dinner. Staff are polite.

The only thing missing from the room on a stormy day is a TV guide. We enjoyed our stay and will stay again when we go back to Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for another review from you, we are pleased that your visit was also enjoyable again. We have removed the TV guide books from our rooms due to the amount of paper used to produce these, instead the listings are now available from our front desk team on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    567
    406
    160
    65
See reviews for
395
550
77
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed at the start of the month for a night and it was a comfortable clean room.

The hotel is spread out. If you know this before you arrive you won't have any problems.
There is plenty of parking around the site and beautiful views of the lake.

The room was decent sized, comfortable beds, usual amenities were available.
The buffet breakfast was great and varied. There was something for everyone.

Easy location for getting around the city, friendly staff, good shower. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MissMW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I trust that your business trip was a successful one and that we may welcome you back here again at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here one night. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable , and perfectly fine without being anything special . Centrally located. Slightly awkward layout as the hotel is huge so your room can be quite a distance from the lobby which is awkward at night as they close all other access doors.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit, in spite of the slightly unconventional layout of our buildings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After my experience with Sudima Auckland Airport, I lost all my expectation for "four stars hotel". I did have high hope since this hotel locates near the city center and the beautiful lake was an added bonus. Again, bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was even smaller. Pictures only showed the front lake view but there weren't anything else in the back. If you got one of those rooms, you're stuck with the lot and sulfuric smell. Wifi was slow and weak. Price wise, it was alright. Glad it was only a one-night stay. I couldn't sleep at all on those beds. Lastly, avoid the elevator .. really creepy and dangerous .. desperate need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctrany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the room was not to your liking on this occasion but pleased that you enjoyed our team. You need not worry about the elevator, it may not be the most modern unit but it is thoroughly maintained in accordance to the legal requirements for buildings in this country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed overnight here last week and found the staff to be agreeable and efficient. Very nice room with a lovely comfy bed. Access to complimentary spa pool available - would certainly stay here again. Had a lovely buffet breakfast which set me up for the day

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulls, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed in September as part of a conference group. The room was comfortable and very clean, the young guys that are ALWAYS around to help with your bags were very enthusiastic and friendly. The Sudima is in a handy, picturesque location and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cass327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and the comments it contained, in particular about our team here. We are pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Quite surprising not expensive clean and nice and central to town. Overall a nice hotel and we will stay here again. Next time we will try the cultural show as well. Never got to the spa again maybe next time. Staff seemed very friendly and smiled and always said hello. What more do you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do appreciate your wonderful comments about our team and have shared it with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing