We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Retreat Package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have just spent a night away for my husbands birthday. I booked the couples retreat package which gave us a superior room, 3 course dinner, breakfast, double pass to the polynesian pools and Lindauer special reserve and Devonport choccies(..and chocolate strawberries) delivered on a tray, on arrival. We had a lovely stay, before I booked, I was almost put off by the negative comments on this site. I just thought it was important to add a positive comment, as we enjoyed our stay. You can tell the Hotel has been upgraded. The whole vibe is casual and that suited us perfectly. Once you take off all the extra's the room cost very little.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lin463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for not being put off by some of the comments posted here. I am pleased that you decided to stay and that you enjoyed the experience as well as the value for money on offer, just like so many of our guests do on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights, room was very nice with two double beds. Very clean with plenty of toiletries provided, and fridge. View was very poor of next block of peoples windows, quite close. Didn't eat in the hotel at all so cannot comment. It appeared there were a lot of groups staying there, many coaches each day. Think the signs for exception were very poor, for such a big hotel. Massive parking areas all around, not sure where reception was! I expected a much grander entrance. Had to pay for wifi also which you don't seem to have to when staying in motels. It was ok for a couple of nights but would pay more for a room with a view in future. Hotel was full so couldn't upgrade.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the feedback on a number of areas, we will most certainly consider some of your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The rooms were surprisingly nice and spacious (given the price, I expected worse). Location is about a km outside the central district, which is ok.

Their restaurant is a bit too downmarket for my taste, buffet isn't my style, especially when shared with budget tourists (so we went elsewhere, which wasn't hard).

I'd recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gernot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Happy to hear that we provided you with a pleasant surprise as far as our quality was concerned. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Sudima Hotel was an okay place to spend a couple nights in Rotorua. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing outstanding. The breakfast buffet was a good way to start the day and had a good selection. This was a good base for exploring Rotorua and the staff was helpful in booking attractions. Our room was in the annex overlooking the street and not the lake, so not very scenic in this quaint town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Arrived for 2 nights to a room with a window that wouldn't close properly so room full of mosquitos. Bathroom dirty. Telephone and personal request for spray and help produced promises but little action. On return to room after dinner out , problems not rectified. Call to duty manager who refused to attend but sent member of staff who became insulting , claiming mosquitos were not mosquitos as those in new Zealand were the size of a small egg, and asked what did we expected the " poor cleaners to do in a volcanic area". ... certainly eliminate the raised dirty rings around the taps and toilet flush and the stains in the toilet. By now very upset we asked the member of staff to leave. Some little time later the duty manager rang, he again refused to attend the room but miraculously had now found upgraded room which had not been available earlier. The upgraded room was smaller than our original, and located right by the entrance where tour buses loaded and unloaded very early in the morning. This with no lake view, which we had paid for. The new room was far from clean but at least mosquito free. We have been lucky enough to travel many parts of the world and habe to rate this hotel as one pf the worst we have stayed in!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you encountered some of Rotorua's famous trout flies on your visit, but I am pleased that our team assisted with this. Please do note that dark residue around some of the bathroom taps is evidence of the rich mineral content of our water and air here and not dirt as you pointed out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms are below average, very old and dated. The smell of the lake is really prominent in this area. We booked and paid for two nights but left after one. I would not recommend this hotel for families as it facilities are limited. Lots of little bugs in the rooms and it just felt dirty.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we regret that the product did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just had the one night here. It's in a convenient spot by the lake and in easy walking distance to the town centre. Our room was in an annexe behind the main block so no lake view but the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. We had a good breakfast. Service was also friendly and efficient. A good base to explore the many local attractions.

Room Tip: You need to request a lake view room if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Guest,
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing