We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second worst hotel stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 18 April 2014

In my 40 years of staying in hotels, this has just slipped in easily as the second worst stay ever. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 213.

1. We arrived and it was bucketing down with rain, there was no covered area to park or unload, so everything we had, including ourselves got completely soaked. I let the family off as close to reception as I could. I had to park in a public carpark over the road. No problem, we'd just go for a swim we thought.

2. They have used a camera lens that makes their tiny pool look a whole lot bigger than it actually is. The private spas were free which was good, until we saw a huge wad of wound bandages someone else had left beside the spa (which isn't really the hotels fault).

3. We go out for dinner, when we come back there is absolutely no parking anywhere near the hotel, the public carpark over the road suddenly looks like a smorgasbord for thieves, it's very private and very dark, so I had to empty everything we had from the car at 9pm at night.

4. We put the kids to bed, and then realised we have what must be the worst room in the hotel. It is right by reception and drop off area, which was great when it was heavily raining earlier, now it's the common walkway for every person in the hotel. The walkway for the large tour bus that turned up, the walk way for the drunk group of young people yahooing, the walk way for the kid who walked past with a basket ball at 11, then 12, the walkway for every person who if they talked louder than a whisper or didn't have soft sole shoes, felt like they were actually inside our room. The kids and my wife finally got to sleep after midnight.

5, We are woken at 6am by more people outside doing anything louder than tip toeing and not talking. I'm laying in bed thinking that I'll have to endure this for a long time as I'm tired,then i get to thinking I'm going to have to write a review about this place...... when the fire alarm goes off. So every person in the hotel has to get up anyway at 6.20.

When I told the guy behind the reception desk he denied the room was noisy. I asked if he had ever stayed there, he said no. He said he wouldn't give me any sort of compensation as I should have called when the noise was happening, like is was some extraordinary noise he could have stopped, not just completely normal hotel coming and goings.

The breakfast was good. And the stay was cheap, but a pretty shoddy experience all round really. Very bad start to a holiday.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 213 - Or anywhere near the reception entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review as well as the communication with you separate to this forum. We appreciate the feedback about your visit and apologise for the shortcomings you encountered with your guest room in particular. Thank you for mentioning the lighting in the carpark, we will review this again to ensure that all areas are well lit, in addition to the other security measures already in place. I also regret the instance of the fire alarm, but I am sure you understand that we have to abide by the law in cases like that. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next stay as discussed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The first thing that we notice when we get off the bus is the sulphur. This is because we were warned about it on the bus about three times already. When you get past this mental block against the hotel, things get better.

Our rooms were located at the back of the hotel, so the smell was far less pronounced. We could either go through the reception through two corridors to the separate building (with a second car park to our left), or take the path directly to the second building. The lobby area is large, with a small cafe on the side, and a larger breakfast room on the left. The Breakfast was a little pricey at NZD 17 for the Continental, and NZD 20 for the Full Breakfast, and NZD 25 for the full breakfast (if we remember correctly. I hope so!). You can picnic from the supermarket or convenience store, or go McDonald's/Burger King (next to each other) breakfast for less than half that. The continental seemed to be worth it. The check-in was a little slow as there was a queue and an application to complete. Perhaps this could be avoided if your tour operator gives the full information in advance. The hotel is very well located, and is about 15 minutes from the McDonald's and Burger King, 10 minutes from the i-site, and just 4 minutes from the famous Polynesian thermal spa. It is also about 5 minutes walk to the lakeside and its attached walk, and just a little further to the beautiful Rotorua museum, set in a Edwardian building. The tours seemed to pick us up last and drop us off last, so it must be on the outer reaches of their route. The I-site was the pickup point for the Hobbiton bus, so we had to walk there, not a big deal as we had an afternoon tour instead of the morning one. We also had a super Tamaki Village tour and Hangi (the buffet dinner), a visit to Te Puia and much more. If your tour does not Rotorua, it certainly should. We could not do the thermal spa, but understand that this is the no. 1 thing to do in the city.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the lake, otherwise the sulphur smell may be strong (didn't try to can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalActingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our city's unique flavour did not bother you too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed three nights and chose this hotel for its location. Comfortable beds and modern bathroom we were fortunate to have a room with a balcony and a view of the lake.
We were not put off by the sulphur smell as we were expecting to experience something as we were so close to the lake. Occasionally we noticed the odour but found we adapted and it certainly didn't overpower us all the time.
We attended the hungi which we enjoyed, especially the audience interaction they included.
It was nice to be able to use the spa and warm water pool without an extra charge.
The staff were very polite and courteous especially one young man who carried our bags and guided us to our room. The lady who worked behind the bar made us feel like old friends asking about our trip and getting us pamphlets to attractions and as a local advising us of the good things to see.
Close to the museum, polynesian spa and an easy walk to the shops and local restaurants.
I would stay here again but I think a room with a balcony is a bonus.

Ausy1

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. It was nice to have the view of the lake. There is no air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting a review, we appreciate the lovely comments about our team and your stay in general.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Booked 3 nights and it was rather an unpleasant experience. Encountered a receptionist who was not particularly polite and poor in communication skills. She has failed to solve our bathroom problem with water leakage despite telling her many times. The hotel inner decor is old and rustic with a very strong smell of sulphur from lake rotorua. This gives us a very nausea feeling and we felt is detrimental to the health. Internet is expensive and location wise is not as good as what other reviews have stated. There are more afforable motels along Fenton street that provides more comfortable stay without the stench of sulphur.
Will not stay there again definitely.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank keplertrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your stay failed to meet your expectations, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Yes, it has privacy, lakeside views, walks, nearby supermarket and mcD's, spa pools, heated mineral pools, restaurants, reasonably-priced room service, helpful staff What more could you need?
Recently had a very nice stay there for 4 nights and found it everything you'd need for a pleasant holiday stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just ask what you can see from the window. Some will see the lake, others may see a car park, others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience,we are pleased that your time here with us was so enjoyable. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were a team of golfers staying at the Sudima for the NZ Women's Masters tournament at Springfield Golf course. The rooms were great with comfortable beds and good strong showers.
We used room service one night and had the gourmet burger, it was very nice, couldn't finish all the chips...
We made use of the hot pool after playing 36 holes on Saturday, which made recovery quicker and set us up for the final round on Sunday.
The buffet breakfast was great, with a wide selection on offer.
We would definitely go back there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay, the food, and the golf! Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Room came equipped only with tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. It was mid sized with tired looking decor both in the room and public corridors.
Constant stench of sulphur dioxide in the area, and cooking smells from the restaurant and kitchen which roof our window overlooked.
Nothing outstanding to remark about this hotel, and we did not use the restaurant as there were lots of other eateries nearby

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabingates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We are pleased that your overall experience was pleasant, thank you for writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
1,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £76 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing