We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“picturesque view hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Mersing, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“picturesque view hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is spacious with friendly and helpful staffs. The lake view was very beautiful especially at dawn.. The service was great and really enjoyed the hangi concert and dinner at the hotel. I will surely come again..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest
I am pleased that you enjoyed our location as well as the service provided by our fantastic team. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    564
    402
    160
    65
See reviews for
395
546
77
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent one night in this lakeside hotel. The rooms were pleasant and although fairly small were adequate for 1 night. The restaurant service was one of the best I have experienced and the dinner was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigrinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and for the kind words about the service you received in our restaurant. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is comfortable, if anything I found it too hot at night. I ended up opening a window. Service was great, fresh milk, luggage storage, spacious rooms. Buffet breakfast and ability to get gluten free which was important for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed the visit in general and also that we were able to cater to your dietary requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed on the second floor overlooking the Lake. The views were great and being in Rotorua one has to accept the Sulphur smell (it wasn't too bad and once closing our ranch-sliders there of course was no smell). Our Unit was clean and tidy and presented well. After we had checked in we sat out on the deck and had a few drinks admiring the view.When we heard a crash, thump and oohh!! we looked out and a another person had fallen down the Ramp (as one enters the Hotel). Our daughter who was already staying at the Sudima had fallen going up the Ramp on the previous morning and one of her colleagues had fallen down the Ramp on the same morning... We walked up the Stairs. We called out.. did the immediate Lady want help and she said she was fine.
We had a drink in the Lounge Bar before we went into Dinner. The Bar Staff were friendly and obliging. We then had Dinner in the Restaurant. The food was fresh, appetising and hot. My husband had the Fish and him being a fishing person found it fresh and delicious and presented well. I had the Roast Beef it too was well presented, hot and yummy. (It was great having real roast beef and not microwaved - like most restaurants), straight out of the oven. We also had a bottle of wine. The meal overall was excellent and 'went down a treat'. Price wise very reasonable. "Why go out in the cold and eat up town, when it's all there?" Our daughter joined us as well for Dinner. All in all a great meal and wonderful hospitality by the Staff.
We used the 11.00am check out the following day and had a good sleep in.

Room Tip: We were up on the second floor and had great panoramic views over the Lake. Very handy to the Walkwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the stay as well as the dinner in our restaurant. Thank you also for making us aware of someone falling on the ramp, we have taken steps to ensure that this area is not slippery in order to prevent any further accidents. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotelin the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My superior room was the most inferior 4 star room I have ever visited. It is old, there is no sound proofing and it is very dated. The staff are disinterested. My room's cheap battery operated smoke detector started beeping at 1am and I was surprised by such low standards of safety. Surely if you have cheap smoke detectors you would regularly replace the batteries??? It seemed to much to ask to get the battery replaced (4 inquiries to be exact). I had booked a room with free wifi, and despite my booking confirmation this was disputed with me at the front desk. I later realised it was irrelevant as the internet was not working anyway. The only good thing about the place is the lake side location, however, very few rooms have views that look over the lake - most look over the car park.

Room Tip: go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aucklander68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest
I do apologise for the number of issues you encountered during your stay which are truly regrettable. The fact that you had problems with the wifi system as well as our team being unable to solve something as simple as the smoke detector is very disappointing indeed, not to mention that they did not even provide an apology. I do trust that the direct contact that I have made with you has gone some way to assuring you of our concern in regards to this complaint, as well as our commitment to the comfort and wellbeing of all of our guests. Thank you for sharing this experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Recently visited with a College cultural tour group. The outside of the hotel is unremarkable however, the location by the lake made up for the appearance. The lobby and bar area was pleasant, our room was on the small side. Our group was surprised at the cost of wi-fi. The breakfast provide to our group was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilichick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food as well as the location on offer and thank you for the feedback in regards to the wifi facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Bedrooms in wings and a bit dated. A long walk to reception and dining areas. Had to sleep with windows closed to avoid sulphur smells from lake. A good centre for visiting mud pool, geysers, the Agrodome and a Maori Hangi and concert. Unfortunately an early morning cable car trip cancelled due to cyclone cutting of electrics. Dining accommodation a bit cramped but food good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest
I am sorry that you found our city's particular flavour to be a bit uncomfortable. Thank you for your comments about our guest rooms, we are continuing our programme of refurbishment in this area in order to ensure that our product meets guest expectations. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the food and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing