We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright in a Pinch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room was relatively clean and quite spacious, however the service was slow, and the workers were not friendly. The scent of sulphur from the lake can become very prominent at times, but that is the price you pay for being close to the water. Breakfast and dinner at their restaurant was good.

Room Tip: Check that the room meets your needs before you settle in, they may accommodate a change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you felt that our wonderful team was not friendly enough on this occasion, but I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant in particular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

My room was well appointed and spacious although its heat was the old fashioned radiator type. It did come with coffee tea self catering which was handy as it was cold in Rotorua when we were there. The internet was dreadful, in the rooms and even in the lobby and we had to pay for it. They had to tweak the router so many times that I would up standing at the reception desk in order to connect with their internet as only ten feet away the connection was less than one bar. They did have a spacious lobby with a nice hotel bar and TV so we could watch FIFA games. The breakfast groups were too much for the kitchen and they kept running out out of food while my group was there. SInce we were on a strict clock and they underestimated how much teens could it, it was not pretty. They had a wide range of selections but not enough food to serve a full room at a time. Consequently it was not adequate to meet the needs of the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I do apologise for the issue with the internet connection, we have replaced a number of the routers since your visit, which explains the problems you encountered. I am also sorry that you felt that we did not replenish the food at breakfast in a timely manner, we have shared your comments with the team in order to ensure that we improve in this particular area. I am pleased that you enjoyed the rooms, it is worth noting that the old fashioned radiators are there due to our utilisation of geothermal heating, which provides an environmentally friendly solution to the cold this time of year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As a single man traveling with two teenagers (boy and girl) through NZ I prefer an accommodation with two bedrooms or at least three different beds. Sudima has Family Rooms. Booked one for two nights. According to the website I expected a single room with three beds. Would be fine, but we got 2 separate bedrooms. A superior Twin (# 430). Great surprise.
Advantages of the hotel and room: The hotel is at a walking distance of the centre and located near the sweet smelling lake. Our room was very, very spacious. E.g. the kitchen was bigger than an average hotelroom. Also fine to have a separated space with a big dining table.Furthermore the room was clean and furnished according modern standards.
But there are also some disadvantages: The hotel is very large (biggest hotel in Rotorua) and outstretched. It took a while to find out the location of our room which turned out to be at the end of a very long corridor at the end of the hotel area. And we (that is I!) had to climb the stairs with three suitcases in the absence of an elevator. And no lake view but car park and Pak'n Save view. Finding out the location of the room and bringing the suitcases to your room is a do-it-your-own no-help-from-the-hotel experience. Wifi (10 NZD) was poor. And finally a credit surcharge (1,5%). In short: room 4 bullits (very good); hotel 2 bullits (poor).

Room Tip: If you are looking for a spacious room and you find a view less important #430 is an excellent optio...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that we were able to upgrade you on this occasion and that you and your family enjoyed the space available in this particular room. I am sorry if our team on this occasion failed to clearly explain the location of the room in addition to not providing assistance with your luggage. Thank you also for commenting on the issue you had with the wifi service, we are actively addressing the quality of the coverage provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Booked a room for three nights. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor I asked for a room not close to the reception and the bar. Some person with humor gave me a room at the far end of the hotel on the first floor (I think it was something like 612). Quite a long walk from the reception and no lift. Actually have to pass through a few other buildings. The room had poor internet reception and the TV reception was also horrible (TV3 did not even work). The highway was right next to the room at at 4 am the first trucks started to engine brake for a bend in the road. Hardly slept. Took a shower in an outdated bathroom with dirty/broken grout and checked out as they could not give me another room. Will never ever return here.

Room Tip: In any other hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansenNienke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
I am sorry for the inconvenience you encountered with your stay in general and that the bathroom in your room did not meet your expectations. I am surprised in regards to the headline of your post though, as our team simply met your request for a room away from the main area. We are therefore unsure as to why you believe that we acted in a disrespectful manner. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived at 11 am and there was no problem of checking in that early. The room was large with 2 king size beds. All very airy and clean. Made use of the pool and hot spas ,very enjoyable.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety on offer, but the best was the view over the ever changing lake.

Room Tip: get a room closer to the main entrance , other wise it could be a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schrodters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest
I am pleased that you enjoyed our service, facilities and the views in particular. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very disappointed in the room. We were surprised that as policy they do not press the bed linen! This coupled with the fact that the bathroom was filthy made us wonder if the room had been serviced at all! The dirt was clearly due to poor cleaning over a period of time and must be a failure in management. The floor was surface stained particularly around the toilet, not a pretty sight.
The room was deep cleaned next morning and came up to standard. Stains all gone!

Poor access for disabled or infirm people in some areas. Check when you book.

Individual staff were very pleasant and helpful. We were given a 50% discount for night one.

Room Tip: Be specific if you have any needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham646464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that our cleaning standards did not meet your expectations on this occasion but pleased to see that the team corrected this and actioned your complaint in a timely manner. Thank you for sharing your experience with me, I trust that the remainder of your trip was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I like how large of a complex it was, it almost felt like an apartment complex and everyone was very friendly and hung out outside. The rooms were a little small but definitely comfortable enough to stay in for just 1 or 2 nights. The lobby and breakfast area is spacious and has good breakfast. My favorite spot was the pool, they also had private jacuzzi rooms which we took advantage of using and sipping on some wine in the hot tub. Since it's on Lake Rotorua, you have to deal with the sulfur smell, but it only really smells outside, they do a good job of keeping the smell out of the lobby and rooms.

We were treated to a Maori Haka feast one night in one of the conference rooms, that was fun!

Conveniently located off a main road that had a supermarket and close to McDonald's (free wifi) and Burger Fuel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni-ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SudimaHotelsNZ, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest
I am pleased that you enjoyed the space that our large property provides and furthermore that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and hopefully our city's particular flavour did not bother you too much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £74 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing