We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel & show”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & show”
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Found this hotel quiet and comfortable.
Not too far from the town centre, and handy for a nice lakeside path.

Breakfast was well cooked and tasty, and the evening meal (as part of the in-house cultural show) was a delicious buffet with good choice.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    567
    406
    160
    65
See reviews for
395
550
77
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The location of the hotel is great but there are a few issues that we aren't very happy about. We stayed at 2 units at the ground floor. 1st of all, noise from the street can be heard in the unit. 2ndly, when we made the reservation, there was a bit of confusion on the price of the units. 3rdly, we had 4 of us staying in 1 unit (which we did request) but in the unit, there was only 3 sets of everything (3 towels, 3 cups, 3 ...). We asked twice for extra set but, on the 2nd time, only extra set of towels came. Where is the cup, teaspoons.,,,? Disappointing on the service of the housekeeping service....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piggy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The rooms were fairly dated and in need of renovation. The location is good, being close to the lakefront and about a 10 minute walk from the town centre. Not terrible, but I'll try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We weren't expecting much upon arrival due to the exterior of the hotel but i was plesantly suprised! Rooms were nice, views of the lake from the balcony are beautiful, staff and food was fantastic. There is shops in walking distance and a health spa located across the road.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarpsborg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

The location is perfect, next to Lake Rotorua and the Polynesian Spa and a couple of minutes walk to the city centre. The room itself is ok, i would give it two\three stars. There's a good maori show in the hotel each night witch I recommend! The staff was very nice and helpful. To bad that the city smells bad...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwestah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Stayed a couple of nights here and found the rooms to be clean and spacious. The building layouts can be a little confusing, but the location is great. The hotel overlooks a steaming lake surrounded by a walking/jogging path. Like everyone else, the hotel as the city smells of sulfur. There are grocery stores and restaurants within walking distance and they have a small pool (thermal heated?) and private steam rooms you can reserve without charge, Each morning they serve a large, hot breakfast buffet and there is free wireless internet throughout the buildings.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolaGatitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel in March 2009 as part of a package tour of New Zealand and Australia, so cannot comment on the room cost but can make observations on the facilities etc and compare it to all the other 'same-standard' 3* or so hotels I stayed in.

The hotel is a sprawling collection of low-rise accommodation blocks circling the reception/dining/bar area, located in a quiet area on the edge of central Rotorua amongst a lot of other hotels. The main part of the town centre is barely 5 minutes stroll away and the sulphur-rich lake is on one side of the hotel, meaning in certain wind conditions you get a faint 'pong' which shouldn't bother many and is fairly unavoidable if you stay anywhere in the town anyway !

Overall the hotel was fine, but my room was on a ground-floor which meant there was zero privacy unless the curtains were drawn. It also meant you couldn't really leave a window open to ventilate/cool the room, something which was desirable as there is no aircon....For me, there were no other significant negative points (but see below), and all the other expected room facilities and cleanliness were present except the bathroom wasn't, with just a shower cubicle and fairly small basin area.

*** Only 1 VERY small lift existed for each side of our block, but it is important to note that as it located on the slightly elevated 'ground-floor' it can only be accessed after going up a small flight of stairs. This not only rather defeats the object of having a lift but is EXTREMELY relevant for wheelchair users. I say this as someone in our group used a wheelchair and, unbelievably, was accommodated on the 1st floor - this couldn't be changed, so lead to an very inconvenient situation for them....

There was a large dining room and adjacent function room next to the slightly elevated reception area, and a pleasant bar area back down at ground-level; this again raised access issues as movement between all those areas involves a few stairs. The breakfast buffet was excellent, with an unusually wide choice of foodstuffs (eg braised kidneys, lovely !) and the locally-influenced evening functions are entertaining, well-organised and catered for.

This is a pleasant and tidy hotel for a stay in Rotorua which offers a very good location for visiting the area; HOWEVER, from my experience it didn't appear to be at all suitable for those who are wheelchair-bound or have difficulty walking.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing