We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We recently stayed only one night in this hotel and wished we had stayed at the Millenium one located next door (it looks definitely more modern than Sudima). The Sudima hotel needs major refurbishment, it has a great location by the lake but our rooms smelled terribly and looked and feelt too old.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgiumFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

This hotel is very big one and room views vary quite a lot. We had more apartment type ground floor room with small yard that though didn't have any chairs or tables. Interior was OK, enough space to move around with luggages open. Rotorua sights and services are within walking distance, some travellers may find smell of Lake Rotorua disturbing if wind direction is unlucky but if that's an issue, perhaps alternative destination should be picked for holiday. Nice Polynesian Spa is right door to hotel, pay a visit there to enjoy hot baths. Hotel has its own pool, too. Breakfast was very good with varioty of choices available.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We had a room on the third floor with view on the lake. The room itself looked quite average. It was hot in the room (sunny day + curtains weren't closed...) and the airconditioning didn't work well. Opening the window wasn't a good solution: at some times the rotten-eggs-smell got so bad that we had to close the window again. The location was great: close to the lake (nice walks there!) and convenience stores, a little farther away from shops and restaurants but still fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant or book the maori show as it seemed too expensive. There are cheaper restaurants in the centre + the Mitai and Te Puia maori cultural shows looked more interesting. The bar closed at 10pm and only had a small selection of drinks. We did use the hot pool and the swimming pool - they were both quite small, but at least they were free (the Polynesean Spa next door costs $40 per person). Tip: if you don't like the shower in the hotel room, use one of the showers in the pool - there's much more pressure on those ones.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Travel note to self - avouid booking hotels long distance !

You know... on the Web.. never been to New Zealand before... looking at some photos... thinking "best to book something rather than just turn up" ... WHAT A MISTAKE

Generally the local tourist offices ( i-site) are pretty good at matching your personal needs/bufget to good motels (warning : i-site shut at 5pm like most things in NZ!!)

Avoid "hotels" like the plague - they don't offer anything a motel has not got, and motels are usually cheaper. Now I have learned the lesson.

Also the crummy staff tried to persuade us to book the "maori show" saying if we booked later on (ie after having a chance to think about it)..it would cost 25% more. RIP OFF.
WE did NOT book.. and with some resarch found that if these shows interest you, the non-hotel shows are much better,

AND.. fancy a nice relaxing swim and spa after your 12 hour flight from Hong Kong and drive down from Auckland..??? Well the Sudima claims tohave a spa pool and swimming pool.... but they are horrible, grubby and unpleasant. Far better pay a few bucks for the Polynesian Spa hotel just two minutes walk away. It has real outdoor thermal spas.
.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We stayed at the Sudima in Rotorua in Nov 2009 as part of a bus tour. The hotel is a bit outdated and at least the wing we stayed in (next to the reception building) is in need of a renovation. The room was OK in size but very dim and the 2 broken lightbulbs didn't help. There was also a musty smell in the room when we arriven A nice surprise was a cafetiere (plunger) with real coffee -just right for fighting off the last remains of our jet lag. The room had 2 double and 1 single bed, so even if it was quite a big room, there wasn't too much space to spread out your luggage. The bathroom was quite basic but the manuka honey toiletries were really nice. The ventilation in the bathroom was quite loud, so when one of us went to the bathroom at night, the other one woke up as well (the ventilation is turned on automatically when the light is switched on).

The hotel is located on the edge of the city centre, right next to the lake and the Polynesian Spa. The location itself is fine as there is a lot to see within a walking distance (the lake, the Government Gardens, some hot springs etc), but for shops you must walk a bit further. The reception building, where the restaurant is, is a bit gloomy and could do with a face-lift. The breakfast is served in two different rooms and was OK, but the room was so large and packed that it reminded me of a school dining hall. Also in the wing where we were staying, to get to the lifts, you had to first walk up some steps, so not very good for less agile people or even taking the luggage up to the upper floors. The hotel has a thermal pool but that was not in use when we were there.

The unavoidable rotten egg smell of Rotorua can get really strong at times, even inside the hotel room, and several people in our party woke up during the night due to the strong smell in the wing where we were staying.

One thing you must do when in Rotorua is to soak yourself in the warm springs of the Polynesian Spa! We also took a package to the Mitai Maori experience & Rainbow Springs willife exhibition and really liked it. Apparently the Mitai is less touristy than most of the Maori shows in Rotorua, and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel 20/21 November 2009. Check in was OK, but the staff were offhand and quite rude. We were offered a special deal on the Maori show in the hotel that evening, which we took up and it was very good. We were in the 200 block, which gave us a slight view of the lake, but a much better view of the roof of the main building! The hotel is cunningly designed to apparently ignore any possible views and instead show the other blocks in the hotel.
The room was a fairly standard hotel room. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. The bathroom was large, but as always not enough room to put out much personal gear. The shower was large, but relaxed! The water was not very powerful at all and when my friend in the next room took a shower at the same time we both experienced alternating hot and cold bursts, not nice.
Breakfast was OK, lots of choice, but it did get crowded with bus groups at times. The bar was OK and did at least stay open when the bar tender realised he had guests who wanted to drink after 10pm.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

great hotel its only downfall is the hot spring in the carpark that stinks the hotel out with sulfer smell . i know its rotorua and its to be expected but the room we stayed in was upstairs right near it,it wasnt very pleasant waking to the smell at 2am in the morning
other then that it was a great hotel great service great food clean good for families just try not to get a room near the hot spring

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brettamportmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 91 in Rotorua
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#22 of 91 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £79 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing