We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smelly enough to make you ill - staying on Lake Rotorua isn't a bonus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights over New Year's - my husband, our college-age son & me. The room was tolerable: the bathroom was tiny, the toilet seat didn't fit right, the TV didn't work, some of the lights were burned out. The cleaning staff were abysmal - they left bags of trash in the hall, they took away the clean towels & left the dirty ones (I didn't think you needed to speak perfect English to be able to figure that out). But the biggest problem is the lake. We used Flight Centre to help book this trip (we traveled to several places) & they should have known about the smell. It's overpowering. The hotel pool was unusable because of it. They actually pipe some of the sulfur over to make a bubbling fountain next to it! The reception desk gave us a hard time about calling tours to confirm, they gave us bad driving directions to 1 place & we almost missed that tour.
Rotorua is a great area - but stay in town where it doesn't smell as bad.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplehair59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2010

Clean rooms, comfortable bed and well sized room. The main problem was the lack of soundproofing, we could hear every noise from outside. The building itself is extremely outdated and in need of refurbishment. For the cost of the room, there are newer hotels in Rotorua that offer much better value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I recently stayed in the Sudima for the first time and had a great experience. At time of booking I had the option of a standard or deluxe room (deluxe only being apprx $30.00 more) so I thought why not. I was not disappointed with my choice. Nice refurbished room, well equipped with a flat screen, sky ect. The location was great close to the city centre.

After I had booked I was a bit nervous with some of the reviews I had read about the smell and the rooms ect but I found the smell of sulphur bearable and it is only when you are parking your car that you are greeted by the smell.

I would definitely recommend a deluxe room. Very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proud2bkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The hotel itself is outdated and is located in the smelliest part of Rotorua. The entire town of Rotorua smells of sulfur but we found that the Sudima hotel was literally the smelliest part of town. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful and the hotel is walking distance from shops and restaurants in Rotorua. However, the state of the rooms and the smell would keep me from going back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MC1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We recently stayed only one night in this hotel and wished we had stayed at the Millenium one located next door (it looks definitely more modern than Sudima). The Sudima hotel needs major refurbishment, it has a great location by the lake but our rooms smelled terribly and looked and feelt too old.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgiumFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

This hotel is very big one and room views vary quite a lot. We had more apartment type ground floor room with small yard that though didn't have any chairs or tables. Interior was OK, enough space to move around with luggages open. Rotorua sights and services are within walking distance, some travellers may find smell of Lake Rotorua disturbing if wind direction is unlucky but if that's an issue, perhaps alternative destination should be picked for holiday. Nice Polynesian Spa is right door to hotel, pay a visit there to enjoy hot baths. Hotel has its own pool, too. Breakfast was very good with varioty of choices available.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We had a room on the third floor with view on the lake. The room itself looked quite average. It was hot in the room (sunny day + curtains weren't closed...) and the airconditioning didn't work well. Opening the window wasn't a good solution: at some times the rotten-eggs-smell got so bad that we had to close the window again. The location was great: close to the lake (nice walks there!) and convenience stores, a little farther away from shops and restaurants but still fine. We didn't eat in the restaurant or book the maori show as it seemed too expensive. There are cheaper restaurants in the centre + the Mitai and Te Puia maori cultural shows looked more interesting. The bar closed at 10pm and only had a small selection of drinks. We did use the hot pool and the swimming pool - they were both quite small, but at least they were free (the Polynesean Spa next door costs $40 per person). Tip: if you don't like the shower in the hotel room, use one of the showers in the pool - there's much more pressure on those ones.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 91 in Rotorua
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#23 of 91 in Rotorua
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £77 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing