We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By-pass and just head to Taupo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Ballarat Victoria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“By-pass and just head to Taupo!”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We booked this motel on the internet and were completely deceived by the photos. Whilst the book-in service was good, the room (which was classified as a "superior room") was 1970`s, had no airconditioning, no fans and was sub standard by our standards and contrary to what was promoted in the compendium. To use Aussie slang - the motel is mutton dressed up as lamb. This is not "Premier Accommodation" as descibed on the web site and we not recommend a visit. Go straight to Taupo and stay at the Quest. We thought this would be one of the highlights of our trip regarding accommodation and recommended also to other friends who joined us. they were equally disappointed...not just us!!! at least they had a fan!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoenix1442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    567
    406
    160
    65
See reviews for
395
550
77
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Stayed 2 nights at this huge lakeside hotel. Very adequate room, apart from lack of air con. Despite all our efforts to keep cool, temp rose to 30 degrees C. Our complaint did result in the delivery of a fan.
Bathroom with tub; decent breakfast. Hotel is beside an active area of the lake and there was a distinct sulphurous smell while we were there.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We stayed here for my birthday, we had an executive suite with two king beds. Although we were situated right next to a busy road, we heard no traffic noise. It was very comfortable, the kids loved ordering room service, the buffet breakfast was AWESOME and dinner was lovely too. The only thing is the reception was hard to find in the dark and we drove around looking for it and also the pool area needs a bit of an upgrade.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Just spent the weekend here on recommendation from a friend. Great location with town link track behind the hotel taking you straight to the Redwoods trails. Good lock up area for bikes. Service was excellent with all staff extremely helpful and friendly. We'll go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Currently staying at Sudima hotel day 2 of three night stay. Travelling with old school friend and staying in room 638. The front desk were very helpful sorting out plug adapter, and excellent massage $90 for an hour which I can really recommend after a 26 hour flight. The room itself has two queen beds which are very comfortable bathroom not big but adaquate. Read some reviews about smell but not really noticable (but der this a spa resort with real thermal springs so its gonna stink of suplher) - Right gripes Wifi in room but would be great if free and also couple of bottles of complmentry water would be good both these wouldnt cost much but would be very welcome - Overall good hotel, with nice atmosphere friendly helpful staff and value for money

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loadlift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights over New Year's - my husband, our college-age son & me. The room was tolerable: the bathroom was tiny, the toilet seat didn't fit right, the TV didn't work, some of the lights were burned out. The cleaning staff were abysmal - they left bags of trash in the hall, they took away the clean towels & left the dirty ones (I didn't think you needed to speak perfect English to be able to figure that out). But the biggest problem is the lake. We used Flight Centre to help book this trip (we traveled to several places) & they should have known about the smell. It's overpowering. The hotel pool was unusable because of it. They actually pipe some of the sulfur over to make a bubbling fountain next to it! The reception desk gave us a hard time about calling tours to confirm, they gave us bad driving directions to 1 place & we almost missed that tour.
Rotorua is a great area - but stay in town where it doesn't smell as bad.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplehair59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Clean rooms, comfortable bed and well sized room. The main problem was the lack of soundproofing, we could hear every noise from outside. The building itself is extremely outdated and in need of refurbishment. For the cost of the room, there are newer hotels in Rotorua that offer much better value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing