We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not return” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We found the hotel outdated and too busy. It is huge and has a tour bus stopping every few hours. We had trouble sleeping as the tour bus arrived through the nights. Also lots of school aged travellers that made it feel like a hostel.
It was just too busy for us and we had trouble getting our room serviced.
We would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoJackNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    551
    388
    159
    64
See reviews for
390
529
75
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The location of the hotel is good – across the (busy) street from a grocery store and within 5 minutes walking distance of a dozen good restaurants and souvenir shops. There’s a pool, plenty of free parking, and wireless internet access for a fee.

Our room was spacious: two large full beds, TV with about 7 channels (very fuzzy CNN being one of them), coffee making facilities and a refrigerator. The shower was hot, but came out so fast that it was literally pelting your skin and hurt to take a shower. The fridge came in very handy as we went to the grocery store across the street and stocked up on sodas, sandwich fixings for lunches, and beers and kept it all cold in the room. The room was clean and comfortable, about what you would expect from a hotel of this caliber and price. We also used the laundry facilities which were a pretty good bargain.

On the downside, the hotel is located on a geothermal lake, which allows for very pretty vistas over the steaming water but when the wind blows the right direction, the whole hotel smells of rotten eggs. This is not a fault of the hotel and to be honest, you will likely have this smell throughout most of the city. Steam rises from many vents throughout the city, and that’s part of the charm and attraction of this area.

The hotel is also pretty spread apart, so we were in a building about 5 buildings away from the main part of the hotel. The good thing about this is that it was very quiet in this area. The difficult part of this was that we had to navigate our way through a meandering parking land over a bike path in order to get to the parking area closest to our main door. Overall, not a big deal.

Overall, good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peshtigofire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

This is a great Hotel to take the kids. Its location is right near the lake and the rooms are of generous size.

The breakfast in the morning which was included in our deal was 10 out 10. Staff more than helpful and more friendly than other large Hotels we have stayed at before.

Yes parts of the Hotel are dated but we felt this was a plus having kids as we weren't so concerned with everything being so new, which is often worse!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnymac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We got this hotel booking at half the price via a travel website, and during Queens Birthday weekend. Only NZD73 per night that had 2 queen beds - You could not complain.

A 1980's looking hotel with a very dated lobby. However the room had started its refurbishment with new beds and furnishings, i suspect the old bathroom will be next. The staff are friendly.

If you are sensitive to strong sulphur, it best to stay in a hotel away from the lake. A stones throw from the Polynesian Spa makes this hotel convenient.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Stayed in the 2nd floor of the new wing. We got a free upgrade, not sure why but it was much appreciated! The room was pretty comfortable, even after adding another bed for the 3rd person. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure for the shower was fantastic and we all loved the shower gel & lotion provided. The room faced out into the street, but we didn't have noise issues. The location couldn't be beat. It was right by the lake and about a 2 min. walk to the Polynesian spa. We didn't venture into town much so not sure what's available but it was within reasonable walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We booked a room with two double beds but when we checked in, we were shown to a room with single beds in the old wing. We refused to accept this and were then taken to a room with two double beds in the new wing. This room had obviously been recently refurbished and was very comfortable. The hotel is very well located within walking distance of downtown amenities. It is right on the lake which sometimes smells a bit sulfurous but this didn't bother me since this is the active region and you should expect it. The hotel has no elevators so you must be able to walk up stairs or ask for a ground floor room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanBoulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We arrived at the hotel after taking in the smell of Rotorua and from the outside everything looked to be very good, however the room which apparently had been refurbished was disappointing. ( I would have hated to have stayed in a room which hadn't been refurbished ) The hotel is dated and this shows throughout, to be honest they need to spend money and refurb again and not just touch up.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mully1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#21 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Property: Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing