We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auster on the outside, pleasant on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Auster on the outside, pleasant on the inside”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Once again Cam from www.sdhnz.com gave us flawless instructions for finding this Hotel and his arrangements for the cultural Mitai village excursion in the evening went exactly to plan also. From the outside this Hotel looks very uninspiring however the room we had was quite pleasant, even though compact. Our room did not have any bath towels but on request this was promptly rectified. Service was always friendly and pleasant. Buffet breakfast was very good except for the high tech coffee machine which challenged the two service staff who tried to refill it. No coffee was to be had during our sitting which was a little dissapointing and revealed my coffee addiction latter in the day!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010APlaceOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    99
    60
    44
See reviews for
88
117
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed here for two days. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. There is ample of free parking and just a 5 minutes drive from the city centre. The te puia thermal springs is a 5 minutes walk and the hotel is on the main road. The restaurants serves amazing food and the staff is extremely warm and helpful. If you can bare the thermal smell an amazing place to stay for a day or two.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapacroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We got the "Memories to Treasure" package which was good value. Obviously the "specials" get put in the more dated/older area of the hotel.
Everything was clean and tidy though (although in the morning we found some gloves under the bed that weren't ours!)
Probably wouldn't stay there again, would pay more for a nice room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmurph22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed for one night and tried for another but they were fully booked. Our stay was FANTASTIC. We could not have asked for anything more. Quiet, great food, great staff, great stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piripono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
147 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

My husband, teenage son and myself stayed at this establishment for 4 nights in April 2011. Having booked through an internet site, we got an amazing deal that included full buffet breakfast. Check in was efficient and we received an upgrade to a superior room. Although I did not see any standard rooms, the out side appearance of the hotel did not do the room justice. The room was near new with enough space for us to be comfortable. The bathroom had a shower over the bath, and the tiles in the shower/bath we showing signs of a little bit of build up. hopefully cleaning staff will get on to this shortly so that the near new bathrooms are not ruined by mould. The pool is not overly large but sufficient. We booked the private spa for 30 minutes one evening. This is free of charge but you need to book it through the reception desk as it is a private spa and one room has access to it at one time. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Their is free wireless internet available in the lobby for 20 minutes per day or computers are available in a business section where the internet can be accessed for $3 per 20 minutes. We ate in the restuarant on three nights, enjoying a la carte and buffet. We enjoyed the buffet on two nights but felt like a change as the buffet was very similar for the two nights we ate there. The menu and prices for the a la carte we good and would recommend it. Overall our stay here was an enjoyable one and we would no hesitate returning to this property.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We had a really nice room on the 3rd floor at the front of the building. Clean, comfortable nice bathroom and couldn't be faulted. The building looks dated on the outside but inside it's been recently refurbished and we couldn't find anything to grumble about at all. Service was good and reception and cleaning staff were really friendly & helpful. We ate in the Restaurant on the first night and tried the buffett. It was outstanding and we went back on the second night. The staff in the Restaurant were really lovely and showed they really care about their customers. The lady in charge of the Restaurant was ultra helpful.
We stayed in 3 Copthorne Group hotels in NZ. I can't understand why this hotel was only classed as 3 star. It was FAR FAR SUPERIOR to the other two Copthornes ~ Auckland Harbour and at Taupo~ Caboose lodge ( which were both classed as 4star) . Well done Kingsgate we enjoyed our stay with you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsdranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
267 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This hotel is an average place, nothing very special about it. But the rooms are large, accomodating 2 double beds, so convenient for a whole family to share. The plumbing in the bathrooms is really noisy tho, & you could wake up the family by turning on the tap!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeandixon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing