We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Value for your money”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Good location with good facilities.. The staffs were very helpful and friendly. The big pool was very good and HOT!!. . Will definately go back.. Good value for the $75 that we got it at..
The location is a little out of town but no problem with a car.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    99
    60
    44
See reviews for
88
117
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great location with good facilities. The staffs were very helpfull and friendly. Some of the old rooms need upgrade to match the front rooms though.
Sauna and pool was good and the barbeque area was good and spacious. Ideal for hanging outr with friends on a trip.
Will definately go back but will get the rooms on the front blocks....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzeezA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUCKLAND
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Paid $100 for a room, appears to be good value for money but alas, the aircond doesn't work for both nights we were there. Front desk staff immune to negative feedback. DIdn't seem to want to know about problems. Fake and unfriendly service. Rooms very dated. Will not stay here again. Ever.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at the Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua, after being quoted only $120 for 3 people. The room was in the back building, which looked SO dated, compared to the front building.
We had to park in the car in front of the hotel but the carpark was empty and looked shady/unsafe.
We had 2 double beds and the room looked mediocre, considering it's supposed to be a 3+ star hotel. The bathroom was the only nice thing.
We had dinner at the attached restaurant, which was good value for money.
At 10pm, a COCKROACH crawls out of my towel, we killed it. We called reception and after 15 minutes, the guy comes to remove it asking "is there only one???". Pathetic.
At 11pm, fire alarm wakes us up and we have to go out of the hotel under torrential rain.
In the morning, we requested a discount so we ended up paying only $100.
Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Go to a motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I booked this hotel online for a family trip to Rotorua. The hotel is under renovation and it desparately needs it. It is at least a 25 minute walk to town and the rooms are not at all like the pictures they have advertised on their website. My mother-in-law wanted to buy lysol to spray her room down before sleeping in it. The sheets had moth holes in them and everything about the rooms is outdated, except for the bathrooms. Our rooms overlooked a courtyard that was home to around 100 birds that make an ungodly racket starting at about 6:30 a.m. in the morning and never stop. It's like something out of a Hitchcock movie.

I am not a picky person and will stay almost anywhere, but this place should honestly shut down until they've finished their renovations. The only thing positive about the hotel is its extrememly friendly and understanding staff. I complained to a manager about the state of our rooms and the condition of the hotel and she allowed me to cancel the rest the nights we had booked even though the online booking had a no-cancellation policy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jocelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Once again Cam from www.sdhnz.com gave us flawless instructions for finding this Hotel and his arrangements for the cultural Mitai village excursion in the evening went exactly to plan also. From the outside this Hotel looks very uninspiring however the room we had was quite pleasant, even though compact. Our room did not have any bath towels but on request this was promptly rectified. Service was always friendly and pleasant. Buffet breakfast was very good except for the high tech coffee machine which challenged the two service staff who tried to refill it. No coffee was to be had during our sitting which was a little dissapointing and revealed my coffee addiction latter in the day!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010APlaceOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed here for two days. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. There is ample of free parking and just a 5 minutes drive from the city centre. The te puia thermal springs is a 5 minutes walk and the hotel is on the main road. The restaurants serves amazing food and the staff is extremely warm and helpful. If you can bare the thermal smell an amazing place to stay for a day or two.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapacroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing