We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Staff, old Hotel”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had a two night stay and found the Hotel was pretty dated. We also asked to be moved becuase of the proximity of some of the rooms to other balconies - and so...noise. The other room we moved to was much better, but the highlight for us was the friendly helpfull staff. They even helped out when we had to postpone our second night to another date - could not have done more for us - much appreciated.

Room Tip: Road side (west) rooms seem quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    82
    101
    60
    47
See reviews for
92
117
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here following the tough guy tough girl challenge. The hotel was absolutely full : the Tri Nations Rugby was on TV. The noise carried on until well beyond 2 o'clock....and then in the bedrooms next to us. The service in the restaurant was almost non-existent.

AVOID in busy times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerandjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Bay of Plenty
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed at Kingsgate during the Ireland/Russia rugby clash last week- first impressions at reception were most favourable - such a friendly lady with a great sense of humour ( sorry - I can't remember your name!). Our room was a superior, and it was great- and we didn't think it was at all noisy. The price included breakfast, so all in all - great value for money. All the staff we encountered were just lovely - the majority seemed to be Kiwis, and it made us proud to be of the same nationality. To us -the decor etc means nothing if the staff are not helpful and friendly - Kingsgate - you have it all - congratulations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

A nice clean room with good view of main road, clean bathroom
Normal tv with access to normal tv programs, mini bar with affordable drinks, nice sofa antique look

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAILRIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Outside looks shabby, inside matches, generally speaking. We booked a superior room (ok), but all the superior rooms are right on the road! So, very noisy. We asked for a quieter room - the only ones they have are standard rooms. These were quiet, but shabby: cigarette holes in the duvet cover and stained, stained carpet, orange drapes right out of the 70s, worn furniture. Nice bits: sauna, spa, pool, bar area, restaurant, staff (generally very accommodating). Our verdict: we think there are nicer hotels available in Rotorua for the same money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collardsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My daughter & I stayed here as a last minute emergency booking from hospital. The reception staff were helpful & friendly, I opted for the cheapest nights stay due to our circumstances. Our standard room was in a part of the hotel which must have been undergoing a revamp. Our balcony door wouldn't open, the neighbouring guests were VERY noisey opening and closing their balcony doors (bang crash bang crash)!!! Then at 3am there was some drunk man knocking on our door to get in, I rang reception who promptly took him away. On the up side, room service meals were excellent & breakfast was lovely. When we were booking out we were told we could stay in our room etc.... until my husband arrived from Auckland with some extra clothes for us.

Room Tip: I have stayed here twice before, however this was back in the late 80's. Although some areas a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The room was upstairs and was beautifully clean and comfortable. Next time I'm in Rotorua I'll head right to the Kingsgate without hesitation. Also free parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InvercargillNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing