We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay if you get a good deal on the rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #83 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This hotel is now getting quite dated and in need of a reburbishment. I think maybe this is work in progress now. It was built as one of the big hotels on the main road, Fenton St in the days when we had many coach tours come through. Not so many now as people are more into doing their own thing such as agro tourism, driving themselves, travelling independently. But it is pleasant and has two excellent lounges near reception and an inner thermal pool. The room was clean and comfortable with a small outdoor balcony. The room did need a makeover, had old style TV but I found it adequate and good value. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant and was not happy with it, I did not receive a couple of items that were stated on the menu and did not enjoy it at all. The restaurant staff were very indifferent with a 'take it or leave it' attitude. Would not eat there again but would be happy to stay there again. Staff okay but one woman sitting in the office behind reception was very abrupt and quite rude, she needs a makeover also. Let's hope the manager reads this and sends her to finishing school.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have been re-furbished, if any although no doubt the price will reflect this. But i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were very friendly received and we got at very nice room. From there we enjoyed our stay and everything worked out as planned. It is outside the center of Rotoura but not to far.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrunteDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Reception staff = friendly and helpful.
Overall feel = tired and run down. In the middle of renovations, hence the scaffolding and building paraphernalia strewn around the place.
Room 4th flr = nice but tired and run down. Also the lift was in-operatable at the most inconvenient times; a frail elderly couple struggled to navigate the stairs.
Restaurant: Staff service = helpful, Food quality and range = dull, tasteless, and unimaginative. A real disappointment, the lowlight of my stay.
Nothing like i remembered the last time i stayed, a real shame.

Room Tip: Wait until the renovations are completed, and they hire a professionally trained Chef who actually c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Is in the middle of renovations and newly renovated rooms are much better than the old ones - still noisy with sound travelling easily from the corrididors to the rooms - food in the restaurant was great, good value, and better than we found in the city at twice the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for, and get, a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed here for one night during the Rugby world cup. Bought the room of wotif.com and requested a room with a balcony. When we got to the hotel check in was a little slow not sure why as there seem to be enough staff on but only 1 person at the counter. The reception area looked nice enough. When checking in i confirmed if the room we had was a balcony room and they said yes. We were on the third floor so we took our luggage and carried it along the dead and tired looking corridors to the even more dead and tired looking lift. when we got to our room it was not a balcony room so we went straight back down and spoke to some one about getting us the balcony room they quickly changed our room and gave us a new key - we carried our luggage again through the corridors and up the lift and got to our new room - when we opened the room we relaised another guest was still using this room although there was no luggage in sight it seemed the beds had been slept in, the shower had not been cleaned and we were basically standing in some one elses room . I called reception from the room and advised them they had given us some one elses room. They sent some one up with in 10 minutes to get our luggage and take us to a new room - thankfully this was a room with a balcony and was quite clean . Once settled in the room it self was fine - the rooms are a little dated but the bed was quite comfortable and the room was quite. We went to the hotel bar to have a drink and i thought it was quite nicely decorated . The bar was pretty quite no one else apart from my partner and i were at the bar at 7pm on a Saturday evening . The location of the hotel is fine although there is not much around within walking distance so you need to have a car which we did - the drive to the city was about 5 minutes so no biggie. Breakfast was not included in our wotif deal so we asked at the restaurant how much the buffet breakfast was and were told $22NZD each which we thought was fair as we really didint want to go out anywhere . Breakfast was pretty basic they had scrambled eggs and if you asked they could make you any kind of eggs you liked. They had a selection of breads and spreads, cereals and milk , coffee tea and juices but the hot section was quite limited. During check out we started to pay for breakfast and the lady wanted to charge us over $26NZD each when i told her her calculations were incorrect she had to call the restaurant manager to come to reception and give her the price of breakfast - only after he confirmed the price he quoted us did she charge us the correct amount. All in all our stay was not bad it was quite comfortble but i am not sure i would stay here again due to the lack of communication between staff. If they perhaps had better communication amoungst themselves we wouldnt of had to change rooms twice or wait around to pay for our breakfast and check out.

Room Tip: get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queen_Of_Hearts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Noisy with workmen on scaffolds outside the room.
Front desk greeting was unfriendly on arrival.
Room service did not deliver request.
Can hear what is going on in other rooms
Not worth the high nightly rate.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purple771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stayed here during the RWC. The hotels decor is dated and some of the rooms need attention but overall the beds were comfortable and clean. The buffet was basic but great if you dont want to journey into town. The bar was great and service good. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to town but 5- 10 mins in a taxi. Reception staff are great for calling taxis. 20 minutes of free wifi every morning

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieMarie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 91 in Rotorua
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#50 of 91 in Rotorua
263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#20 of 91 in Rotorua
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Address: 328-348 Fenton St, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £65 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua is situated in a region that offers unique geothermal wonders and the prospect of an exhilarating holiday. Located on Fenton Street, the hotel is a short distance from the city centre, and perfectly located for guests wishing to sample all that the city and broader region have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing