We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
40
94
117
67
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
94
117
67
58
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Had a good stay here. Staff in particular made the stay enjoyable. The place is clean and in a good position for getting around Rotorua. Rooms were clean and shower was hot (shower in bath - remember to put the non-slip mat down!)
Hot day when I was there and the place was not evenly cooled - meaning some places had real hot/sticky/humid spots and others very cool.

Room Tip: Had room right near the elevator - bit noisy - doors could do with bit more sound proofing in the heavier traffic areas
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThinkRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I was extrememly pleased that your stay was made comfortable with the standard of service we offered you. It is always a team winner to get positive feedback and I can assure you your feedback was well received by the team here at the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua. We look forward to your future stays with us. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed for one night because of good deal where we could stay and get breakfast plus a family pass to rainbow springs. The room was a little too small for 4 of us. The fire alarm went off at 12.45am which proved to be a false alarm. Staff quickly evacuated majority of guests. We found staff very friendly and helpful. The pool was a good way to cool down. The ceiling fan helped a little in the room but it was really hot still.
Rooms are clean and bathrooms are great. Loved the bath.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Thank you Trevor for your review. I was pleased to hear we made your stay memorable with our facilities and customer service. It is always welcoming to get our guest feedback as it is a great tool for us to improve on. We at Copthorne hotel Rotorua welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We spent three nights here over the Xmas break. The hallways are a depressing colour and it reminded us of a hospital but our room was clean and very nicely decorated. We had the BBQ they did on Xmas day which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was also an excellent standard. We'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your review. I was extremely pleased to read that our themed Christmas BBQ went down a treat it was very popular this year and we welcome all the positive feedback we have been getting as it helps us plan for this up and coming Christmas. We look forward to hosting you and your family back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

After leaving the foyer, heading towards the bedrooms, I was dubious. It looked rather like a hostel and rather run down from the outside. Added to this, the lift wasn't working which made heaving the suitcases upstairs a bit of an effort. However once inside the bedrooms; while not 'swish', were very acceptable, clean and reasonably comfortable. The only pity was that the balconies were very sun damaged with peeling paint and the decking was crying out for maintenance. The rooms were interconnecting and actually pretty spacious so five of us were able to spread out. It was unusual in that each room contained 2 double beds, but this was quite a nice treat for the kids. While we were there the weather was very hot and it got very warm in the bedrooms. The ceiling fan didn't do a lot to cool the room down so we open the ranch slider to the balcony which helped a bit. During our stay we had two fire alams. One at 1 am and had to evacuate the rooms...quite a rude awakening! No leadership was shown at this time of the morning by any of the staff on duty. The second alarm was the following day in the morning. The kids were sleeping in, and it was still rather a pain, especially as we suspected it was another false alarm...and it was. Alarms aside, we had a great time at the Copthorne. The pool was great for the kids and nice and warm. The spa pool was a treat for me, and my husband enjoyed the use of the gymnasium, so all in all we found the facilities available most enjoyable. We didn't use the restaurant due to the cost of feeding a family of five, but it looked and smelled great. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Very helpful and friendly Maitre'D on duty when we went to the bar Thursday night.

Room Tip: Perhaps the ground floor might be cooler in summer.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakview30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you kindly for your review. I was pleased to hear we offered you the service we pride ourselves, and that we catered to your families needs. I do apologize for the fire alarms that interrupted your stay, It was an unusual event to have two such evacuations in a short span of time and our service provider has undertaken the specific work to rectify the reoccurring problem. For future stays enquire about our promotional packages as we do put bed and breakfast packages or add on food and beverage credit packages offers together so this could an option for you and your family. I am more then happy for you to contact me directly and I would be more then happy to tailor to your needs. Thank you again for your feedback,we at the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We enjoyed our christmas break at the Copthorne. Staff were lovely and helpful. Our room was positioned over looking the car park which we thought at first it would be very noisy but no it was wonderfully quite. Our room was of a good standard except for a noisy air conditioning system and a soap holder in the shower which was broken. Probably the biggest disappointment was the spa pool. We were looking forward to using it but there was no hand rail to step down into it. So if your knees are not bending as they should you are not able to use it. This is a major reason we come to Rotorua is for the hot pools and give our tired limbs a soak after a very busy year. Otherwise we did enjoyed the stay. Before we left I filled out the comment form and got a lovely letter back acknowledging the room does need to be refurbished and there are plans at hand to do this work. We will be going back at Easter if we can't get into the Millennium Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you kindly for your review. I am happy to hear our customer servcie met your expectations as we do set standards that we have high aims to meet. As mentioned in our feedback letter we will be upgrading some of our leisure facilities in the near future. I personally welcome you and your family back in the near future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews