We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #87 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Lancashire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel is located some way from the town centre and even further from the lake front, so if you don't have a car expect a 30 minute walk.

The hotel seems to be in need of refurbishment. The lift was very rickety and failed to work on one occasion.......the stairs felt a safer option. The door to the room had dropped on its hinges and needed to be lifted to open the door.

Dinner was awful. Few alternatives without travelling into town.

There must be better places to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we have had a few problems with our left but our provider has done regular maintenance checks on it and I can assure you it is very safe to use. I was not aware there was a maintenance issue with your door. Not sure if you contacted recpetion but this is always the best policy as we wouold have it fixed in a timely manner. Thank you again and I hope we can welcome you back to the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    80
    97
    60
    43
See reviews for
86
116
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Standard room with no air-conditioner was sauna in summer. Fridge was not cold. They change another one but it was not working again. My kids said garden and hall way looks like old hospital. It's cheap but not 4 stars hotel room which I was expected. Breakfast was OK. If I know renovation are and non renovation are so different, I never book old standard room.

Room Tip: renovation rooms with air-con in Summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZChiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. We are planning our 3rd stage of refurnishment in our standard rooms in the very near future. Unfortunately our satndard rooms do not have air conditioning but we do have ceiling fans and extra portable fans available on request. We have done some extensive work on our interior corridors as our maintenance department are progressing through and having our corridors painted on a regular basis. If you plan to visit us again try out our superior rooms. They are well maintained with air conditioning. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

I booked two relatives from the UK into this hotel who were disgusted to find dirty sheets on their bed. The room was also very dated - not a good experience and I was surprised this hotel was so lax in their housekeeping

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you kindly for bringing this to my attention. I will be addressing these concerns to the Housekeeping department as a lax in standards is unacceptable and I do offer my sincere apologize for the service your guests received. Please be assured I do take this very seriously as we do have procedures in place to ensure standards are not compromised and I am very dissappointed to hear we did not deliver. Thank you again for your review it has been very informative.

Kind Regards
Theresa Mutlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Two nights here and it was pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Beds large and mattresses firm. Thank you.
We only had breakfasts in the hotel. The selection was ok. Eggs ordered separately but served quickly.
Staff were a bit surly on the first morning and it was Christmas Eve. Reception staff very helpful.
What is it about charging through the roof for Wifi. Fortunately it was free in the public areas, but do you want to Skype or Facetime your families in an open area?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADJSoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you Tony for your review. I was most pleased to read our cleanliness rated high with you as we have just put new procedures in place to ensure our service is of the best quality. our inhouse training has definately paid off. I know our internet charges have been mentioned by many international guests but this is a company pricing which recently has been made more affordable and a service we have no control over. With the changing environment and this being a service expectation I would hope it may be a service that is even more affordable in the not so distant future. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Awesome hotel and the staff are pretty awesome. Stayed over Raggaz with a group of us and big ups to everyone we came across. Theresa the Manager that I rang to see about the room gave me options to suit our budget which you dont find many places that would do that, she had a wicked sense of humour and just made the journey for the weekend that much easier. Pat in the Restaurant is the man at breakfast today, definately knows how to make you feel like whanau. The whaea's in Housekeeping do a mean job and oops sorry if we made a mess. I will definately be back for raggaz next year so expect a call. Copthorne Hotel and crew rock it. Raggaz was off the hook.

Room Tip: Pay for the type of rooms you want do not expect a palace if you want to pay peanuts. Pay good money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevepAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you behalf of Copthorne Hotel Team SteveP for your wonderful feedback. Your comments were the highlight of our day and I can assure you, were well received. It is pleasing to hear we catered and delivered the service you mentioned as we are continously striving towards delivering the best there is to offer and in your case we succeeded. I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you and please do not hesitate to contact me for Raggamuffin next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We held our wedding here and found it to be a wonderful experience we we're trying to keep the wedding as low budget as possible and the staff at the Copthorne especially Theresa were more than happy to help us work within our budget in terms of accommodation for our guests, room hire and food even providing bits and pieces for us to use during the setup and decorations with their help our wedding was made a very stress free experience and more time for us to enjoy ourselves the room myself and my Wife stayed in was wonderful and we've had excellent feedback from our guests about their rooms too Top Marks!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you Lilly for your review. It was a pleasure to help cater to all your needs as it was a very joyous occasion and one we at the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua take great pride in catering to. On a personal note helping you mould your wedding reception was an easy task and it was a pleasure dealing with you through the journey. I know the team here at the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua enjoyed hosting your reception and your feedback will be well received by all. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed one night only. The room was large and clean. Bar staff seemed a bit harassed at having a large party to serve and got some of the orders muddled. It is situated a little way out of the main centre which is OK if you don't mind the walk. Once again Wifi was expensive in this day and age perhaps Copthorne need to address this matter.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you Diane for your review. I was pleased to hear our facilities made your stay comfortable. I was sorry to hear the bar staff seemed under pressure I can assure you this will be addressed with the deaprtment head as a consideration in future. I do hope to welcome you back to the Copthorne on your next visit to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#41 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing