We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Nice, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here on my own to attend a wedding at the hotel. The room was comfortable and possibly nicer than I expected. I had a small couch, coffee table and king bed and the bathroom had a nice big bath. Everything I needed was in the room, including ironing board and hair dryer. The service from all staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay here, although I have to say I didn't really use many of the hotel facilities and was out a lot of the time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you kindly for your feedback. Your comments were well received by the staff and I am pleased we delivered a acceptable level of service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    82
    102
    60
    48
See reviews for
93
117
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Self and spouse stayed here 2 x nights on a discounted rate through BestHotels.com We were not displeased at all. Room was very tidy and clean, with armchairs, a table and much drawer space. All good.
Presumably the room had been redecorated and nicely recarpeted. Seems the painters overlooked the inside of the bathroom door.
If you stay in the room we had, don’t anticipate using the fridge for cold goods. Fridge is in a cupboard with, of course, a door, with ventilation through short and grossly inadequate open slots at the top of said cupboard. Heat created by the fridge is therefore retained within the cupboard so the fridge is fighting its own heat – and seriously fails to win. With temp set at lowest possible level nothing remains cool never mind cold. Simple also to put ‘stuff’ over the slots thereby cutting off all ventilation and enhancing the heat around the fridge. Not at all good. Removing the cupboard door would help.
Air con could not cope with the outside 26c heat of the day even though someone had previously set the room temp at .5. Really not good.
At check-in we were told we had been upgraded “free”. That word rang bells as we had been billed by BestHotels (an offshoot of Millennium/Copthorne) an optional sum (above the rate) for an upgrade, which I had taken as meaning this would cover an upgrade if one was available and would be a waste of money if there wasn’t. Telling the very helpful receptionist of this charge caused it to be deducted very promptly. More good.
Trouble with being told one is upgraded is nice but really often doesn’t happen, for one rarely, if ever, is able to see what one has been upgraded from – if there has been an upgrade at all. We are delighted to give the receptionist the benefit here for she was extremely helpful and wouldn’t tell an untruth.
Best job in the hotel has to be that of the barman. Over two days and evenings we saw no one using said bar or even seated therein . On one occasion we entered and service was prompt and good. On another occasion there was no person serving so we left.
Restaurant is very good with attentive and helpful staff and acceptable pricing. With NZ anticipating an increase in Asian tourists, I believe management should get sorted for these folk as all do not arrive in groups with a guide. While dining, we observed 4 Asians attempting to make sense of the English worded menu. Even with the studious help of the Asian waitress it took an extraordinary time for the 4 to ascertain what was what and to place orders.
Overall, a very good, and informative, stay. The hotel is unable to change its distance from town so it’s not worth mentioning that. There is a nearby dairy and a grog shop along side streets.

Room Tip: Unable to help here. The lift may be a worry though failed to fail during our stay. Don't expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Probian9910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you kindly for your feedback. Your comments have been taken on board and we do hope to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay here but have to say it needs an upgrade. Carpets are well worn, décor scuffed and buckets on the landing as roof was leaking.
Check in was friendly and efficient. Our room was about as far away from reception as it could be. Not a problem for us but may be for anyone with mobility issues.
Our room was spacious, beds very comfy with clean. good quality linen. Pillows very hard, I asked for soft ones at reception but didn't get any.
Bathroom was fine, if dated. Towels were clean, though well worn. Usual bath amenities provided.
There was a safe,a fridge and good quality tea and coffee which was replenished daily.
Breakfast was of good quality but there were so few people staying at the time that it all seemed to have been sitting there a while. I am sure people would happily wait for fresh food to be cooked for them rather than see food wasted. Lots of choice and staff were very helpful and friendly.
Location was fine for us, a nice 15 minute walk to town.
For the price we paid I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thak you kindly for your review. We appreciate any form of feedback. We are planning a mini refurnbishment in late March early April which should address some of the areas you mentioned. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Dated and old.
Only one lift serviced all levels, people forced to take stairs. One couple in our group got stuck in the lift.
If this wasn't a pre organised tour, we would not have stayed here.
Too far from town, you need a taxi to take you in.
Was clean and tidy. We had no jug in the room for boiling water. We requested one and ended up with two.
Restaurant was good and served delicious meals, that we could get through. Breakfast buffet was plenty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNDAV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you kindly for your review. I do apologize for the lift being down during a portion of your stay. We are upgrading it in the New Year. Unfortunately the distance from town can be a problem for some guests although if you travelled with a group this is usually clarified through your Travel agent. Thank you for your review, your comments are a great tool for us to enhance on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked using a "mystery accommodation" booking through Wotif. The room reflected the budget price, tired decor, double bed, misfit curtains, no spoon for the coffe/tea facility, carpet desperately needed replacing, multiple scorched/melted iron marks on the nylon carpet covering the suitcase ledge. Wi-fi limited to 20mins free per day and only from the reception lobby. Bar facilities nice. Dinning room dated but plesant. Food, buffet over cooked vegies, crackling salted to an inch of it's life, surimi cheap seafood, bulk bought-in dessert pav, cakes and slices, nothing original except the hot apple pie. We get considerably better quality at our local RSA and cheaper. On the plus side, swimming pool was great even thou a bit hot. Staff obliging and friendly, this includes housekeeping.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Than you kindly for your review. Your comments have been taken on board. Our hotel will be going through a mini refurb in mid March early April which should see a big improvement with some of our hotel decor. Your comments have been invaluable to us as a tool to move forward..Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked a standard room for two adults and a teenager. The room was very hot and stuffy because the bathroom heater was left on. We had to open all the doors and windows to cool the room down. Our room was a non smoking room - but we had cigarette smoke circulating thru the vents. We told reception about this but it continued for hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. My apologise for the inconvenience with the aroma of smoke. We do try our very best to police non smoking in our rooms where we can. Your feedback has been noted with thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After having such a dreadful experience at a filthy hotel opposite the Copthorne myself and three children turned up at Reception here in the hope that they could accommodate us. The Receptionist was the most pleasant and helpful lady who took time to work something out for us and even upgraded us. The bar staff were very friendly. Rooms well equipped and exceptionally clean and a pleasant smile greeted us each morning by the housekeeping staff. Food was plentiful and catered for all nationalities. I did not use the pool but suspect this would have been fine going on the rest of the hotel. Thank you to all the staff for their help in what could have turned into a disastrous weekend for us had we had to stay at the Silveroaks Resort. You will be highly recommended by all my family members.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thak you for your review. I was very pleased we managed to accommodate you after you expereince at another property. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and facilities. Your comments were well received by the team here at the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua and we hope to host you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
428 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing