We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #84 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had fun at Rotorua ,the rooms are pretty clean.
The breakfast are pretty good as well.
We didn't go try the spa, but we think we may gonna try it next time.
The value are just right, it a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DjyYjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you kindly for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and that you plan to return. We look forward to hosting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in Rotorua for 3 nts over New Years. We had been staying in self contained apartments during the rest of our travels and thought a hotel with buffet breakfast would be a nice change - especially considering 2 of the 3 nights we had planned evenings out for dinner anyway. The Room was great for families with a queen bed and 2 x single beds. Not much room between beds but no less than any other hotel room. Facilities were as you'd expect, with tea/coffee, small fridge, hair dryer. There were only 3 towels for the 4 of us when we arrived but the housekeeping staff were most happy to provide extras and always had a smile when they popped in to clean. The reception staff were efficient and helpful. The buffet breakfast did not disappoint with a great variety of cooked food, cereals, pastries, fruits etc. - a great way to fuel up for our daily trips around the fascinating city. Probably just a little too far out of the CBD for younger children to walk, but we had the car so wasn't a prob. About 1.5km to main CBD. Only disappointment is that the pool was a little chilly for us and we were looking forward to a hot spa on our last night - but we found they were in private locked rooms and you had to book and over this time we were advised they were all booked and we couldn't get in.

Room Tip: The ground floor courtyard side rooms were convenient as they had a "back door" direct acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdyBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thak you kindly for your review. I was pleased to read we provided a good level of service and that it made your holiday hassle free. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Never judge a book by its cover. Looks maybe deceiving!!!! Old rooms, old furniture ie Tv, HAIRDRYER that looked like it was from the 1800's century or something, paint fading, dodgey looking plates, spoons utensils.

Oh and Don't Even Get Me Started On There Gym!!!!

Has it even been cleaned ever????? Smelt so rank like crap. I have never been in a gym that has smelt that bad!!! Not to mention no air-con or fans.

Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SportyGuyNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I have raised the cleanliness of the gym with our housekeeping team as this area gets serviced everyday and I do know we do have a huge volume of guests utilizing this facility. I would suggest depending on your time of using the gym there may have been many other guests before you as it is open from 7am right through to 10.30pm. We do know some of our rooms are dated and we are programming a refurb in the not so distant future. Thank you again for your constructive feedback, it is always a very welcoming tool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was very disappointed in this hotel. Rooms were very tired and in need of a renovation. Bathrooms were dirty. We Had visitors with us from Australia so after I had told them it was 4 stars we were very disappointed and a little embarrassed. I definitely think there needs to be a review on the standard of the hotel. Staff were very friendly. But no access to Internet from our room was disappointing aswel. Overall very disappointed and would not stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jonsonwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read your concerns and I have raised this with heads of departments concerned. Our custome comments are a valuable tool for our hotel to take on board and ensure we deliver a memorable service. I do apologise for the lack of service you mentioned and pleae be assured this has been taken seriously. Thak you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Rooms are fine, nothing special. But there's no ability to control the heating in the room and it was incredibly hot! Had to sleep with the door open and had a poor nights sleep. Also very few channels on the TV. A budget hotel for sure. Much better options in Rotorua.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your review. I am unsure the reason for the heat control but I do receommend a quick call to reception as I know they would have offered a solution to the heat problem or a possble upgrade to a airconditioned room on availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed here as this was the hotel included in my AAT Kings tour. I was immediately disappointed. Very tired, old hotel. My room was absolutely not up to standard. I can not believe this place is listed as 4 star. For what I paid for that tour I am incredibly disappointed in the standard of the hotel and my room. I will be speaking with my travel agent about this place.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I do know parts of our hotel are aged and we do plan to start revamping areas of the hotel in late March early April. I regret to hear your stay was not up to your standard although we do try our very best to upgrade where possible. Your comments have been taken on board as a valuable tool to help us work towards regaining your faith in our product. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here on my own to attend a wedding at the hotel. The room was comfortable and possibly nicer than I expected. I had a small couch, coffee table and king bed and the bathroom had a nice big bath. Everything I needed was in the room, including ironing board and hair dryer. The service from all staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay here, although I have to say I didn't really use many of the hotel facilities and was out a lot of the time

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you kindly for your feedback. Your comments were well received by the staff and I am pleased we delivered a acceptable level of service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £63 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing