We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room. Long way from the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
London
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice room. Long way from the centre”
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Big room with heating which worked. Long way from town so not really suitable for coach tourists.

However, nice bar. acceptable food (although don't have the Chicken Ceasar - they use Chicken slices with a skin on!)

I can't recommend any hotel where the Maitre D' asks for your room number and THEN asks to see your room key just to check!

It's important to trust your customers guys!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    82
    101
    60
    48
See reviews for
92
117
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
merseyside england
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

We booked a tour of NZ and so the hotels were part of the package. After reading some reviews we were a bit apprehensive, however we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious with a view of the road in front but that's lined with palm trees so it was a nice view. There's a lovely heated outdoor pool and we found the staff to be extremely helpful. We went to the Hangi night and that was good fun. Breakfast was fine, nice bar, plenty of computers and WIFI available in the room for a charge. Don't know what people find to moan about!

  • Liked — the room and the pool
  • Disliked — It was a bit of a walk from town - about 15 mins
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank andrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We were sent around the back to access our rooms.If they hadn't done that we may not have realised ,the total lack of maintenance at the rear of the hotel.
All the wooden window frames are completely rotten and paint is flaking everywhere.Looks like it hasn't been touched for 25 plus years.
When you enter from the front,it is definitely nicer than the back but just has a tired/faded look to it.
On a positive note our standard rooms were very quiet and they were definitely nicer inside than the outside appearance we were first greeted with.(just a continuation of the faded look)
Staff were ok to deal with.

  • Liked — No road noise where we were
  • Disliked — General lack of maintenace
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cowfarmer350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Average, average. Room a little shabby. Overall feel was like student flat complex. They did however handle a conference I was attending and other groups at the same time with seeming ease.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jeffrocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

I only stayed one night and the hotel upgraded me from my standard room and I found this hotel good, after some of the hotels I stayed in during my trip this hotel is remembered as one of the better ones.

Granted the reception staff were not falling over themselves at check in but they were helpful and offered me assistance with Rotorua’s attractions and maps when asked. I was told the hotel was a bit far out but it was within a short walking distance from the town.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dub_Travaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

after ennduring 6 days in a room in Auckland that was not a dedicated room for a wheelchair user I found the room I had here terrific. As a parapalegic shower and toilet facilities are always a problem and it was great that the room had a large bathroom with a proper dedicated disabled accessable shower. The room however is a fair way from reception but very quiet as it is not on the main street. The buffet on a Saturday night was excellent value for money and reception were very helpful when we were looking for a hungi to go to booking for us. The small bar was pleasent with a big screen to watch the rugby. There is a pub around the back called cheers and is best kept away from as it is truly a [--]

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank ironsideMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We spent one night at this hotel and were greeted by a disinterested receptionist, who gave us the keys and seemed obvious to the fact we may need directions and help to get our bags to get to the 2nd floor. One of our party was old, another was unwell and the hotel didn't have staff to help.

No one in reception had a clue where the hospital was when we needed to go & couldn't have cared why we were asking though did eventually looked it up. Rotorua is not that big! Where do the staff come from?
Also the hotel is a long long walk from town.

  • Liked — It kept the rain out
  • Disliked — reception's attitude
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
840 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing