We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrid - wish we had moved when we had the chance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #86 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrid - wish we had moved when we had the chance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed here as a last minute decision and booked on the internet the night prior.
When we arrived the following day they had no record of us even booking due to a ‘communication error’. I never understand why you must fill in EVERY detail about yourself on the internet, only to have to fill them in again when you arrive.
The lobby and the first impression were really good, other than the 3 buses outside and the lobby full of bus passengers, this clearly caters mainly to the bus package tourist.
Unfortunately we made the mistake of booking a standard room. OMG, how disgusting. Not only was our first room awful and smelt, the journey to get to it is down an endless corridor not unlike something you see at school or in a hospital. It was worn and tired. After asking to move to a room with a bath we were given a room that had to be seen to be believed, but with a scratchy 2 year old begging for some down time we just made do with what we were given.
There were burn holes in the Bed spread, frayed carpet, peeling wallpaper, and the hideous kitset bathroom unit was actually missing light fittings, there was just a hole in the wood. It was so hot that we slept with no covers and we couldn’t stop the heating in that particular room.
I wish we had walked out when the lady on the front desk said that due to the communications error our credit card would need to be entered again, we had the chance to escape but did not take it.
The only good point was that the buffet breakfast pleased our two year old – which pleases me, and that they make good long black.
We would never ever stay here again, and realise that when you get a good deal, there is a reason. You have been warned - do not book a standard room!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    97
    60
    44
See reviews for
87
116
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

We turned up "on spec." and the young receptionist explained that they only had standard rooms available as there was a convention on in the town.

We accepted this and after a long hike through endless corridors found our room at the far end of the hotel.

The corridors were shabby, the room was dark, dingy and not particularly clean. The curtains were particularly grubby. We found our way back to reception and told the receptionist that we felt that the room was very sub-standard for the price and that we we would be leaving and going elsewhere. She accepted this without any comment.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

On arrival at the Hotel, I felt a little disappointed and wondered if we were the only guests. However the reception was efficient and friendly. The rooms whilst not luxurious were clean. The swimming pool very inviting after a long day. All in all, I think as a stopover when all you need is a clean bed to lay your weary body this hotel was just the ticket.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lms1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

"Five minutes from the centre" said our tour organiser... Five minutes? Maybe if you're a speed skater. For the rest of us, more like 20-25, more to the Lakeside. Hotel exterior is 70s tired, and there's a weird wooden construction on one building's roof which looks like a prison lookout post. Are they worried about the guests escaping? Reception area's nice and bright, but the further you get from reception the more tired the decor gets. The room was quite big with a double and a single. Looked like it had been recently refurbished - but the refurb didn't include the air con which pumped warm moist air into the room. And this when it's 27 degrees and 90% humidity outside! My room mate and I felt we were sleeping in a hot house. When you turn the lights out there's a strange orange light glowing through the sitcom vent. What's powering it? Uranium? We complained for two nights and when we complained a third time someone came and told us it was broken. We were offered another room for our last night but on another floor and the prospect of a move at 11pm at night wasn't appealing so we stayed sweaty for a final night. Breakfast was ok though the scrambled eggs were apparently made from re-purposed custard. One colleague was told she wasn't allowed to take a Danish to her room mate who hadn't come down because she felt unwell "for health and safety reasons". To sum up - the good bits were good but there was plenty of average stuff.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormydog_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

My Husband and I and our 10 Year Old Son have just returned from a 2 night Stay at the Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel .
The Hotel had a good feel to it, it was clean and the rooms have been renovated, but the outside of the Hotel is run down . It needs a paint and we had to be asked to be moved from our first room as it sounded like the roof was coming off, as it was rattling really loudly with the wind . We were given another room which would have been built in the 1950s, although renovated had some of the old outdated things in it, from the era it was built in, such as an old and disconnected "Do not disturb light swtich" which was used back in the day, before cardboard do not disturbed signs were put on doors ! Our room had a balcony and the view from the balcony outside was "a garden area " which had 1950s raised pebble garden boxes which did`nt have many plants in and outside the rooms had old pot plant pots which were from that era, which had no plants in, but instead smoke butts ! We had to ask for our TV to be replaced twice as the channels would randomly, not work, we had one TV channel at one stage ! The heated swimming pool was really nice to use, and it was warm, we went for swims in the mornings before Breakfast, it was so nice . The bar area and the restaurant were nice , and the pool are was lovely too . The food at the restaurant for the buffett dinner - was the nicest food I have ever had in a buffett, I really do Recommend eating at the restaurant . The Breakfast was nice as well, they had fried potatoes, pancakes, scrambled eggs, Baked beans, sausages, toast, tomatoes, 4 cereals , different fresh fruits, yoghurt, jugs of OJ & water which you can take to your table and tea and coffee . The staff were generaly well mannered, and pleasant . They have a laundry which has 2 washing machines and 2 driers for guests to use . There are rooms which are more modern than the rooms we were given, as my in-laws stayed in one of the modern rooms, and they paid the same rate as us per night . If you are going to stay here, I would ask for one of the more modern rooms as they had Air Conditioning in them and were way nicer . The Hotel has a gym which has about 5 different items of gym equipment in it to use . The Hotel provides Shampoo/Conditioner, Body lotion and Soap . We will stay again, but next time I will definatly ask for one of the more modern rooms .

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here with our two young children for 4 nights. The Kingsgate is located 2 minutes drive from Te Puia, a major tourist attraction, along with almost every other hotel in Rotorua. This hotel offers a lovely warm bar to sit back and relax in, and a well staffed restaurant where you can order some very nice food. It was too cold to go swimming, but it does have a decent heated outdoor pool and tennis court. The hallways here are very cold during winter, but the room stayed at an even warm temperature all day and night. We stayed in a standard room with a double bed, two single beds, one bathroom (with a shower and bath) and a small closet that had coffee making facilities and a bar fridge. For a family of four, this room was not big enough, but it was clean and on the bottom floor which allowed easy access to the substantial grounds. The staff here were very friendly and quick to offer local knowledge when asked. There was also plenty of car parking spaces available at the front of the hotel within the grounds at no extra cost.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOJOAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

The entrance features in the brochure - why? The rooms and the rest of the hotel look 2 decades old with little or no maintenance. The rooms are old and unkept and ours even had another family staying in our bathroom - A whole family of ants. The beds are old, worn and uncomfortable and match the flat lifeless pillows perfectly.

The restaurant is another matter - it looks like a cross between a cheap karaoke lounge and a badly lit 50's nightclub, the limited lighting saving you from actually having to closely inspect your food. We found the food to be of average standard, just not for a restaurant, more something one would expect at an aunts place.

The staff however were very friendly, but lets be honest here - that is not what you pay for.

We attempted to use the BBQ by the pool and were informed that we could not as it was considered a health and safety risk??

In short - If I had not been staying with a family group I would not even have put my bags down. I would have gone straight to reception and checked out.

I have only included 2 photos as there was no motivation at all to take any. I did take one of the pool and one of the rather dirty BBQ - these are attached.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing