We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$168
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$230
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
37
89
107
65
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
89
107
65
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour starrestaurant staffnice roommaorispas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The room I was given was a 'smoking room. I phoned reception and advised that I had booked a 'non smoking room'. Was told that there were none available however each room was carefully 'sanitised'. Not so. The room stunk badly of stale smoke including the pillows and even the towels in the bathroom. I requested a change of room. Was told that the hotel was 'booked out'. This was surprising given there were few vehicles in the parking bays, virtually nobody eating in the dining room for dinner or breakfast and the 'vacancy sign' stayed lit all night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyretalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Having previously had a terrible experience in a "4-star" hotel, we didn't hold out a lot of hope for Kingsgate, but overall had an excellent stay. Check-in was reasonable, but evidently the girl at the counter was a bit stressed on her own dealing with 14.30 check-ins as well as phone calls. Room cleanliness was excellent and the housekeeping staff were friendly and polite. Sound insulation to the outside was good also and didn't hear much traffic noise. The restaurant staff helped us to heat up meals and provided extra milk on request. The breakfast was fresh and appetising but got a bit of mixed service from the staff who often looked like they were under a lot of pressure. This was probably the only thing that spoiled an almost faltless stay. But considering it is a 3.5 star hotel, I would still give an excellent rating. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My partner&our 2 sons-3yrs&4yrs old,stayed 2 days&nights.This was a little get away for us&unable to afford a 2day holiday like this very often,was a great deal for our family.We thoroughly injoyed our stay here&definitely come back!The staff during our stay were lovely,helpful&polite,from the reception to the kiwi kitchen where we had breakfast&dinner.The rooms were nice,the tv wasn't so good though maybe an upgrade on tvs would be great.I take my hat to all the cleaning staff@kinigsgate hotel as they do an outstanding job keeping kingsgate so clean!Impressive work!! Being a cleaner myself,I know how back breaking a job cleaning is&thank you to the cleaning staff who always said goodmorning&hello when we saw them.Very happy&impressed family! We did think that the nice pool kingsgate had could've been much warmer,being winter&during our stay wasnt that warm.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We were really impressed at how the restaurant manager and chef catered for the needs of my coeliac daughter cooking her a lovely meal and allowing us to bring her breads to breakfast.
Great follow up too when we left clothes behind.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsieWhakatane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here for one night to break our journey between Auckland and Wellington. From the outside when it's dark it looks quite impressive but really it's very tired and shabby. The room was OK as regards size, cleanliness, amenities etc, but it stunk of cigarette smoke. We rang down to reception to ask to be moved but were told there were no other rooms available - even though the Vacancy sign was out. The towels even stunk of smoke which infers the same towels were in the room when someone was smoking there.

We used the spa and sauna which were also both shabby and the spa was rather greasy. When you book the sauna you have to go and turn it on yourself 20 minutes before you use it. With the size of this hotel this can mean a lot of walking there and back - it would be nice if a staff member did this.

There are so many hotels in Rotorua that there is no reason to stay here. There were a lot of tour buses outside so this must be their main business - if you find yourself on a tour booked to stay here make sure you ask for a non-smoking room. Also it's quite a way out of town. I have stayed at the Ventura Hotel closer to town and would recommend that instead - you also get a spa in your room there that you fill with clean water yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews