We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Helpful friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

After reading the reviews on trip advisor I was hesitant to stay here so here is what you need to know. The outside is not attractive but they were doing all the planning to fix it up while I was there so stay tuned. The interior is perfect, lovely reception, lovely people, helpful and patient. The restaurant = dinner was awesome, enjoyed it. Breakfast = could be better but I ate fruit and juice so I had no complaints. The rooms, from what I have heard the standard rooms aren't to flash but we had a superior room, it was very clean everything was good. the TV's were small and reception wasn't 10/10 but your not on holiday to watch tv. The only issues we had was our air con was broken and the rooms got quite hot.
The pool area was perfect, pool temp was amazing 29 degree's. I'd say that perfect temp for winter spring and autumn swimming.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    99
    60
    44
See reviews for
88
117
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We booked a night here through their grabanight site for $59. From the road the hotel didn't look too fancy, but upon entering, the reception and lounge areas were wonderful. I'd pre-filled in my details so literally a cheery 'hello' and signature later I had our room key. After walking through the really nice lounges we entered the sprawling corridors and rooms area. It was like walking through an old and soul-less dormitory or maybe even prison! (it was clean and tidy however). The room, as expected, was very dated and basic. It was a bit cold in there and you could hear noise easily from outside (not that there was much). However it was completely clean, large, comfortable and had a curious sort of nice character to it, plus I was happy to find the bathroom at least had been renovated and was spotlessly clean, a turning point for me as I then went to try the heated pool which was really warm (despite the cool weather) and looked very well maintained. The free private spa was nice too but was in a bit of a small dingy room which took the shine off of it. TV had sky but poor reception. Had specious gym but very old equipment. We didn't eat there but the buffet restaurant did look really appealing. This hotel doesn't compare to nicer hotels so I can't rate it that highly for quality, but you have to consider the price too, and I wouldn't even bother looking elsewhere for this place at a rate this cheap.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I will list the pro's and con's of the hotel

PROS-
Satisfactory Tennis facility
Modern Pool facility
The Buffet Breakfast

CONS-
Sky Sport reception was awful, could not read the scores, time or anything for the All Blacks
When we had troubles with Sky Sport, tried to watch in the bar, yet had very little seating available
Dated gymnasium
Unhappy staff (Cleaners had trouble with their trolleys, very heavy by the looks)
The doors to the balcony rattled in the wind, which was annoying
Bath/Shower combination was bad

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I travelled with a group of colleagues attending a conference at the Energy Centre. We were a bit nervous about the quality of the rooms as the hotel is rated 3.5 star. The hotel looks terrible from the outside. However on entering the lobby everything changed. The interior was modern, warm and inviting. Staff were genuinely friendly and efficient and the superior room we stayed in looked fine if slightly smaller than we expected. It contained a queen and a single bed. The room overlooked the main street and was noisy during the day but silent at night. I found the beds rather lumpy and the pillows thin. I did not sleep well here because of this. Bathroom was well presented and well supplied with toiletries

Food was a disappointment at this hotel. My colleague, who is not a fussy eater, found breakfast inedible and only ate there once even though breakfast was included in our tarrif. We dined at the restaurant on the first night for convenience, but never after that. Food was lukewarm and in one case fish was partially uncooked. Presentation was good.

Having stayed for business in the Ventura Inn previously we felt that it offered better value for a cheap and cheerful business trip and was actually cheaper during the period we stayed because we checked the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The room I was given was a 'smoking room. I phoned reception and advised that I had booked a 'non smoking room'. Was told that there were none available however each room was carefully 'sanitised'. Not so. The room stunk badly of stale smoke including the pillows and even the towels in the bathroom. I requested a change of room. Was told that the hotel was 'booked out'. This was surprising given there were few vehicles in the parking bays, virtually nobody eating in the dining room for dinner or breakfast and the 'vacancy sign' stayed lit all night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyretalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Having previously had a terrible experience in a "4-star" hotel, we didn't hold out a lot of hope for Kingsgate, but overall had an excellent stay. Check-in was reasonable, but evidently the girl at the counter was a bit stressed on her own dealing with 14.30 check-ins as well as phone calls. Room cleanliness was excellent and the housekeeping staff were friendly and polite. Sound insulation to the outside was good also and didn't hear much traffic noise. The restaurant staff helped us to heat up meals and provided extra milk on request. The breakfast was fresh and appetising but got a bit of mixed service from the staff who often looked like they were under a lot of pressure. This was probably the only thing that spoiled an almost faltless stay. But considering it is a 3.5 star hotel, I would still give an excellent rating. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2010

My partner&our 2 sons-3yrs&4yrs old,stayed 2 days&nights.This was a little get away for us&unable to afford a 2day holiday like this very often,was a great deal for our family.We thoroughly injoyed our stay here&definitely come back!The staff during our stay were lovely,helpful&polite,from the reception to the kiwi kitchen where we had breakfast&dinner.The rooms were nice,the tv wasn't so good though maybe an upgrade on tvs would be great.I take my hat to all the cleaning staff@kinigsgate hotel as they do an outstanding job keeping kingsgate so clean!Impressive work!! Being a cleaner myself,I know how back breaking a job cleaning is&thank you to the cleaning staff who always said goodmorning&hello when we saw them.Very happy&impressed family! We did think that the nice pool kingsgate had could've been much warmer,being winter&during our stay wasnt that warm.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumyz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing