We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & easy stay, nothing great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice & easy stay, nothing great”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Hi,

I stayed at the Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua for a day. The staff was really helpful. Room was nice, nothing extra ordinary. Wifi was available free of cost for half an hour only & that to the Central Lobby area. There was some Air Conditioning issue with the Superior rooms so they had provided table fans to compensate for the same. Parking is free right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh_Dua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    99
    60
    44
See reviews for
88
117
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We usually prefer to stay within walking distance of the town centre - but came across the Kingsgate, which had a special deal on at the time (NZ $119 per night, including $50 restaurant/bar credit), so we gave it a go. The reception are makes a nice impression - our room was a bit tired but for the $119 special deal, it probably wasn't one of the best available. Enjoyed our $50 at the in-house bar. Friendly staff at reception and at the bar. As expected, it would have been quite a long walk into Rotorua town - for this reason, we would probably choose different accomodation next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We used the Weekender Special and had a great stay in Rotorua. The Kingsgate staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was sparkling clean and the food was just great, particularly the roast dinner on the Saturday night. The bar was also a very comfortable area.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whanga_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2010

I would just like to say during our stay at the Kingsgate 26-28 November, we had a blast, sun was shining, all the trips we took around town was great, to come back and relax in our room or in the pool in the late evening was awesome. We also really enjoyed the professionalism of the seating, serving and attendance of the Restaurant Staff. Great food, great company, great stay, who could ask for more. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others. Would stay there again and try the Suite next time.
Regards,
Joanne

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djjaecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2010

To be honest we arrived here with our two children and the reception area and bar area where a nice surprise, considering the outside of the resort. Got our key and then started the processes of finding our room, success finally came. The room was clean but furnishings were stained and curtains had tears. The bathroom was again clean with plenty of towels but again very tired.
The staff over all were friendly but in no way made any effort to look up and greet you. Had dinner in the restaurant that night and have to say that we were very dissappointed. It was a buffet style and there was plenty of food, but the food that was on offer was either burnt, dry or lacking in taste. the next 3 nights were spent around town.
It was quiet at night though you could hear people a few doors down so I would think it would be louder during summer season.
The pool is fantastic and warm and a great place to hang out with the children. Though there where times where it seems the local community comes in and takes over the area.
Breakfast was what you would expect and again lacked taste or consistency, though I can say that the coffee was consistently bad.
Over all a nice place to stay, lacked that something to make sure that you come back and seems to rely on the tourisim rather than repeat business.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icansaythis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

After reading the reviews on trip advisor I was hesitant to stay here so here is what you need to know. The outside is not attractive but they were doing all the planning to fix it up while I was there so stay tuned. The interior is perfect, lovely reception, lovely people, helpful and patient. The restaurant = dinner was awesome, enjoyed it. Breakfast = could be better but I ate fruit and juice so I had no complaints. The rooms, from what I have heard the standard rooms aren't to flash but we had a superior room, it was very clean everything was good. the TV's were small and reception wasn't 10/10 but your not on holiday to watch tv. The only issues we had was our air con was broken and the rooms got quite hot.
The pool area was perfect, pool temp was amazing 29 degree's. I'd say that perfect temp for winter spring and autumn swimming.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We booked a night here through their grabanight site for $59. From the road the hotel didn't look too fancy, but upon entering, the reception and lounge areas were wonderful. I'd pre-filled in my details so literally a cheery 'hello' and signature later I had our room key. After walking through the really nice lounges we entered the sprawling corridors and rooms area. It was like walking through an old and soul-less dormitory or maybe even prison! (it was clean and tidy however). The room, as expected, was very dated and basic. It was a bit cold in there and you could hear noise easily from outside (not that there was much). However it was completely clean, large, comfortable and had a curious sort of nice character to it, plus I was happy to find the bathroom at least had been renovated and was spotlessly clean, a turning point for me as I then went to try the heated pool which was really warm (despite the cool weather) and looked very well maintained. The free private spa was nice too but was in a bit of a small dingy room which took the shine off of it. TV had sky but poor reception. Had specious gym but very old equipment. We didn't eat there but the buffet restaurant did look really appealing. This hotel doesn't compare to nicer hotels so I can't rate it that highly for quality, but you have to consider the price too, and I wouldn't even bother looking elsewhere for this place at a rate this cheap.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Property: Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing