We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - Positive and Negative Aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average - Positive and Negative Aspects”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We only stayed in the Silver Oaks for 1 night. A family of 4 (2 couples) staying in a 2 bedroom suite. Reception were not very welcoming or friendly and when we asked questions about their recommendations for evening entertainment they were not very helpful. Room was clean and tidy had everything we needed although little run down and in need of refurb (wallpaper coming off the walls). We were informed by reception that the hotel bar would be open until 10:30pm and when we arrived back at the hotel at 9:30pm the bar was closed. The pool and private spas are well maintained however the gym was very poor, only couple of cardio machines that actually worked. OK if you want a cheap, no frills motel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    63
    53
    52
    164
See reviews for
181
79
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed for three nights in a studio room on bed and breakfast basis which was adequate for our needs. Really enjoyed the hot water swimming pool. Also the spa pools. Staff were friendly particularly in the restaurant. and continental breakfast was OK.
Very quiet midweek.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junec12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, New South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Booked via their central booking. When arrived, approx 6.30 pm, not two bedroom apartment. Office staff not helpful and an old receptionist said she was not paid enough to listen to us. Totally disgusted at the service. Worst NZ experience. Worst hotel ever stayed in, worst staff with no manners and communication skills. Never book this via web.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalinipratap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay in 2011

The Hotel has changed management since 2013, and we are currently reviewing all past feedback to ensure that any previous issues have been resolved

Thank you

Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

On our NZ road trip we had just found a motel as we needed to. This time we asked at the Tourist Information Centre, and they said Silver Oaks had a 2 bed apartment for $90 per night Inc breakfast for 2 nights which we thought was good value. We found it fine - and enjoyed the pool. We didn't use the kitchen. The breakfast was good. I left some clothing behind and rang them. They had it, and sent it back home to me after I'd sent them a prepaid envelope. Back home I read the other reviews, and decided to say our experience wasn't too bad!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The hotel room was not what was advertised. Resort? No way!
The room was filthy. The carpet was smelly and badly stained. The kitchen was very dirty and full of grease grime. One of the spa pools was green with slime so we didnt even venture into the others, although waving a look at 2 others they were not much better. The beds fely like you were sleeping on dirty bedding. The loungue was broken with ripped fabric and smelt like something was either living in it or had died in it.
The place needs a complete overhaul. We feel we were mislead and completely ripped off. I have photo's but will escalate them to the group management and the booking agent.
Warning do not stay at this location!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for feedback in relation to your stay in 2011

We are taking this opportunity to let you know we have made sunstantial changes to the hotel service and quality since your stay

We would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bed apartment with a kitchenette and living area. My first impression was that it was quite big and spacious with 2 little sofas and a good table in the kitchen area. Then after a few minutes it became apparent that it hadn't been properly cleaned ( crumbs on the sofa, hair in the shower cubicle), and that the decor was at least 15 years old and hadn't been modified.
There wasn't adequate cleaning equipment in the kitchenette, and only one small tea cloth, which we had to use as a dish cloth. All the crockery and saucepans needed to be washed before being used. On the plus side, they did give us a brand new dish brush after a day, and a few more tea towels when asked.
One of the window blinds in the bedroom was broken so couldn't be opened - and despite reporting this to reception on arrival, this was never fixed.
No chopping board or sharp kitchen knife were supplied, but the on-site restaurant provided us with them after a request.
There were no cushions on the sofas, and they were pretty uncomfortable to sit on.
The tap in the bathroom basin wobbled so much that we thought that it was going to fall off.
On the plus sides, the beds were comfy and clean. The place was spacious. There was a lovely little outside hot swimming pool. The shower was good. A selection of complimentary tea and coffee were provided.
The complex itself is very big and it could be fantastic. It just needs better management and more investment.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally_loves_camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My wife had stayed here previously so we came down as a family.
I would never stay here again, and wouldn't recommend it either!!
The young lazy girl on reception was so rude!
She obviously didnt want to be there and sat on her chair rather than engage in conversation normally.
She had a facial piercing that looked like a metal wart and looked like she had just woke up.
She snatched our credit catd from us and threw our room key at us, all while moping and giving us "the evils"..disgusting behaviour.
The rooms were average, in need of repair and redecorating from the 80's decor to something modern would help...Maybe clean the shower to gid rid of mould?!
The oustside spa pool was ok, but the roof had fallen away and was replaced by a loose piece of rigid plastic.
Given the state of the place and the attitude we received they should pay visitors to stay there NOT the other way around!
FAR TOO OVERPRICED FOR WHAT IT IS!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASEK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 2 December 2010
We are very disappointed to receive your comments, in particular the attitude you appeared to receive from our receptionist, I advise that that receptionist no longer works for us, I believe she is how working for another Hotel.

We appeciate your comments both positive and negative as it assists is in improving our service to our valued customers

Regards Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#76 of 92 in Rotorua
79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
#86 of 92 in Rotorua
321 reviews
1.8 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#68 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Property: SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing