We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lost property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this place. I didn't use the pool so can't comment on that but it was disappointing that the spa pools were closed. The room was clean and functional and I thought it was good value for the price. I would have left this place happy but for two things.
1) At check out there was nothing more than a transaction to pay for the room. No asking "how was your stay?", "Did you enjoy your time in Rotorua, etc?" Just simple customer service that was missing.
2) I realised 4 days later that I had left an two expensive jackets in the wardrobe (one down jacket, one heavy wool, a total over $600). I called and found that they had been placed in their lost property, but I was frustrated that they hadn't called when they had all my contact details (I could have picked them up that day). When I went to pick it up several weeks later I asked what the policy was and they said they are required by law to hold items for three months. Now I don't expect that every little item left behind deserves a follow up phone call, but when items are clearly expensive I expect a customer focussed business to give me a call. If they had, I'd be using them again as they didn't they've lost my business.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaps65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
I am most disappointed to receive these comments.

We had felt we had provided great customer service, we certainly did our best to accommodate you, we re call you had your mountain bike with you and we stored that for you everyday and we chatted about your ride each day.

We were certainly aware of the two coats, on the day you checked out, you rang the hotel to see if you had left the jackets and advised us they were in the twin bedroom, as you were staying in a two bedroom. The Manager went to the room and found the jackets and called you back to let you know they were here, the Manager asked if you would like to arrange to have them returned to you by courier, but you advised you would be back in Rotorua in a few days time and would pick them up, which is what happened.

We are not sure what else you would like us to have carried out.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    63
    49
    51
    158
See reviews for
172
78
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Booked 3 nights at this hotel with an online broker. Exceptionally disappointed. Room did not match description. No TV in bedroom. Spa pool broken. Tired interior, chipped furniture and holes in walls. Over a month after our stay the hotel charged us again as the online company we had booked with had gone into administration. The hotel made no attempt to contact us before taking money from our bank account. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. WORST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CFHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We do understand that you were very happy with your stay, which was three months ago, but are now not happy because we have charged you directly for your room.

As you are aware you made a reservation through check-in.com.au and you fully paid them for your reservation, when you checked into the Hotel you signed our registration form that simply states you are required to pay for your accommodation, and that if the party you paid does not pay us then we can charge you direct.

In this situation check-in.com did not pay, and we charged your credit card direct. We did contact you direct and we did provide the instructions as how to make a claim against check-in.com.

We also explained this to you over the phone, we did make every effort to ensure you did know what was happenning.

We regret this situation, but it was out of our control, you may also beable to claim on your travel insurance.

We are well aware that you did not have any issue with the accommodation and did enjoy your stay, what has tranished your stay if that the booking agent you used, with regret, was not able to pay for your accommodation, and I appreciate you now have to make a claim against check-in.com, which I do appreciate is not something you want to do.

Once again I am very sorry this occurred, and I am sorry if you feel we did not explain this to you fully, I do hope you appreciate it the matter was out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

room #24 was very outdated and felt grotty, had to shut the window from the outside didnt even have a latch to lock it! toilet leaked, spa was out of order, pool tepid and mini golf was pretty much unusable as the turf was lifting these were one of the features that made our booking decision, glad it was only one night and the continental breakfast was complimentary

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B00ZHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We do appreciate your feedback, we were not aware there was a slight leak at the back of the toilet and this has now been repaired.

The pool is heated from a thermal bore, and the temperature does vary from morning to night, but the pool is kept at a very warm temperature such that guests are still swimming at 10 at night.

The mini golf is swept everyday, as at this time of year the leaves are still falling, but do do endeavour to keep the mini golf clear of leaves at all times.

We are continually upgrading the rooms, and we do hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hi me my hubby and our daughter stayed for three nights well the cleaning standards of this place is very poor the room wasn't cleaned properly when we got there rubbish on the floor hair behind toilet door dead insects everywhere . Had to ask for our room to be vacuumed second day had to ask for toilet paper twice no dish wash liquid thought they might of changed linen but no not the whole time we were there When we booked out told girl at reception they need to sack their cleaners told me just hired new cleaners.suggested that they check and listen to their guests .its such a shame apart from the cleaning side of the room our stay was lovely pool was fantastic once they turned the temperature down and it had a homely feel.just a pity about the bad cleaning standards of the room

Room Tip: This is a lovely place if they pulled their finger out with the cleanliness of their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We are a family of 6. We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2013, having a one bedroom apartment and a studio room. The apartment had a double bedroom, with a single bed and a sofa bed in the lounge.The studio room had a double and a single bed. The rooms were comfortable, though the mattress for the sofa bed was ultra thin and all the springs could be felt. The room facilities were all fine and the place was reasonably clean. The rooms are, however, very tired and in bad need of redecoration. Most of our windows were missing their handles and could not be shut properly. Our lounge curtain was hanging off its rail. The bathroom door would not close. The hotel had a thermal heated pool, which was really warm. There is mini golf. One of the reasons we booked this place was because it has a tennis court, however, the court is not at all playable and is very unsafe, being covered in slippery mud at one end and ripped at the other. The net is also broken. The location is really good, being 5 minutes from most attractions and also near to some large supermarkets. Overall, it was fine for 2 nights and very good value price wise. It is just a very tired facility badly in need of some investment.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Fantastic Excellent value
We had 7 people 3 children 2 teenagers & my partner & I $150 a night in a busy time of year that being Easter. Great value A++ if I were to have a pathetic groan it would simply be that the tv was little LOL pathetic I think because who goes on holiday to watch TV mate you could do that at home. The laundry facility was cheaper than the self service one in Rotorua open this time of year by the Gull. The oil heaters were great fast heating & drying our damp clothing. The staff went the extra mile

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroha1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated. Our Team loved putting on the Easter Egg Hunt and all the children seemed to have a great time.

You are correct some of the TV's are too small, and we are working to replace and upgrade them to larger TV'S

We look forward to see you again next Easter, but hopefully before

We really appreciate your comments as all our Team are working hard to ensure guests have a great stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Kitchen – the fridge leaked and this was evident by the rotting boards that the fridge was sitting on
Unit reeked/smelt of curry - yuk
The wine glasses had finger prints all over them, so we washed every dish and wiped down all the surfaces
The table in the dining room had food around the perimeter – disgusting
Lampshade over the dining room table – when was that dusted last
Cover on lounge suite/pull out bed stunk/felt really dirty
Bedding not that clean – doubt that the duvets had been laundered
Spare pillow I grabbed from wardrobe in twin room, discovered long black hairs on my sheets the next morning, my hair is short and brown !!
Ants everywhere in the kitchen
Our feet were black from walking on the kitchen floor – a steam mop over them would help !
All carpets are filthy/very stained – disgusting
The radiator in the twin room has had some fluids or something thrown at it/ spilt on it – has now gone black, I wiped part of it off with a tissue – disgusting
As for the bathroom, yuk black rings around the plug chain and tap, scraped some of it off with my fingernail
Toilet – cracked toilet bowl and when one closed the door – dust, filth and scraps of toilet paper gathered the corner – disgusting
Swimming pool, filthy
Spa not working
BBQ’s not cleaned
Borrowed a sink plug from another unit as one we had had a hole in it and filthy black

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
We do appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback.

We do hope you enjoyed your tournament in Rotorua, as you are aware one of your party was due to check out on the Sunday but left for the tournament and did not return until 4.30pm and wanted to check out at that time and did not want to pay for the day room charge.

The team members were able to return and shower prior to their travels.

As a result of the Hotel requiring payment for the day charge, that does appear to have upset you, we certainly did not intend to upset you but we do hope you appreciate there is a charge for a late check out, particularly when it is 4.30pm.

We do appreciate your comments, and we will certainly have our housekeeping department follow up on all your comments to improve the service we provide.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and property.

We look forward to you staying with us again, when your tournament plays again in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.2 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#71 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Property: SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing