We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusted and apalled! stay clear of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We arrived on time for check in, Our room was not available.
John Chetty the manager did not smile or welcome us in any form.
40mins later john gave us a key to our room which was already preoccupied.
2nd visit to reception. John gives us another room. The Spa did not work, Telephone did not work, missing a TV, and the room infested with flies!

3rd visit to reception to voice our concerns, John decides to give us an "upgrade" to another room which turned out to be more than day and a half later! Fed up and disgusted we gave up and stayed in same room.
We stayed for 3 nights and this is a list of what we put up with:

Flie infested room
Overgrown weeds and guaze (1meter high) directly outside our verandor door
Couch broken and visible dirty stains.
Drapes were broken, falling off.
Light bulbs were missing and lights in the kitchen broken and hanging down by wire.
Both lounge lights were full of flie crap and dead moths - disgusting!
Rubbish bins no lids - Flies are clearly a welcome guest. ( as the brunette receptionist puts it to us "flies are part of Rotorua summer" hmm..
Bathroom fan full with dirt - refused to use it for health issue
Hotel mini golf covered with rubbish and astro turf coming off/ ripped exposed
Toilet,Bathroom and kitchen tiles dirty throughout and some places you could scrape the dirt off!!
Children playground with rotted wood and in dire need of safety maintenance
Would not swim in the pool - needs daily cleaning and maintenance
Best thing about the hotel gym was the gym sign (gym room full of broken couches).
Disgusted with how we were treated by the manager!
We ended up in John Chettys (manager) office at 8am with photo evidence of the list above. As we were looking for a resolution. He asked us what we wanted. We asked for a refund for the 2 of our 3 night we already stayed there in those conditions. Manager John was meant to contact us within couple hours after he would speak to the directors for a resolution. With no contact from John, we called him at 8pm asking John if the directors had sorted a resolution. John even argued that we had wrong booking dates with wotif and tried to shorten our stay by a day and all this while he had someone else's booking documentation not ours.
John and receptionist came into our room to pass the resolution. They were rude and arrogant we didn't receive any refund, no apologies for any inconvenience, no sympathy. We told them to leave!
This was our 5 day family holiday resort stay which turned out to be an absolute nightmare and full of frustration and disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjeevxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We do always appreciate feedback from our customers, and we are in the business of providing the best service we can to our customers with the full intention of providing them with the best service possible.

Whilst the picture that has been painted here provides negative feedback, and the pictures taken show a negative picture, it does raise a number of questions

Is the customer review Balanced?
In this review the customer takes a picture of a BBQ that has no nozzels and can not be operated, BUT does not take a picture of the FOUR other BBQ's that are fully operational, and does not make note of the fact we are replacing them, with only one yet to be replaced, Should the customer have taken photo's of all the BBQ?

Does the review fairly report Hotel Refurbishment Program?
In this review the customer takes photos of the childrens playground, that clearly can not be fully used, and there is a picture of a log on the ground that is rotten. Yet the guest does not also take pictures of the new wood that was on the ground ready to replace the rotten wood. Should the customer have also provided pictures of the replacement wood that was clearly in view? Also the metal support for the swing had been removed whilst the metal based was to be strenghtened. We ask should a customer provide an account of current maintenance that is evident at the Hotel and advised to the guests, in their review to provide balance?

problem resolution.
We do always aim to resolve guest concerns. We do appreciate that we do get things wrong, whilst the vast majority of our customers are happy with our service and facilities, we do accept that there are times we have not delivered the correct service or facilties or been able to satisfy the customer requirements. In this case we were not able to satusfy the customer. At the Hotel we are in the process of refurbishing the rooms, and the customer is correct the old furniture has been placed in the gym, as new furniture has gone into the refurbished rooms. On the first night we offered to move the guest to a refurbished room with new spa, they declined, when the customer complained again, we again offered to move them into a new refurbished room, again the guest declined.

Our policy for customer concerns, is that we listen to the customer, and do everything to resolve the problem, that does not mean providing a refund, it means solving the problem. In this case we could have solved the guest concern by moving them into a new room, but the guest did not want to move, they only wanted a full refund. We would only have considered some form of compensation if we could not resolve the problem, in this case we could have solved the problem by moviing the guest to a new room.

We note that we are donating the old furniture to Rotorua charities.

We do appreciate that if one thing goes wrong, it is very easy to find a thousand more problems.

We do strongly state that we highly appreciate customer feedback, and are working through customer concerns, and we remain positive and committed to our refurbishment, we would just appreciate some consideration of the efforts we are making towards refurbishment.

There is one issue that I do find hard to accept, and is a factor in the last three reviews, the words either you give us a refund or we will post a bad review on trip advisor. Our policy is we resolve the guest problem to the best of our ability

When a guest stays with us we want them to have the best possible time in Rotorua, we spend time with guests showing and promoting Rotorua attractions, we truly want our guests to have the best time at our property and around Rotorua

Finally we know we do not get it right all the time, but we are trying

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We had rented a room whilst we visited the Polynesian spas and had expected a little more from these rooms to say the least. The photos are completely different on the website to that of the rooms you are actually given. Upon arrival the lady at the desk was very cheery and exceptionally helpful which was great. However, our rooms were empty and dirty. There was no tea or coffee in the room. Just a few sugars and milk - clearly someone couldn't be bothered to refill these when changing the room. More importantly - the soap dish in the bathroom was full of hair, assuming it was from the previous occupiers and there were dead cockroaches on the floor! Reception was closed by this point so there was no point of contact. I understand the term 'you get what you pay for' however, cleanliness and simply wiping items doesn't cost much. Just common sense. I don't like leaving negative reviews but this place needs some serious rethinking.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyRose28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate the feedback on our positive staff

We understand that you had some concerns with the housekeeping, we now have supervisors that check all the rooms after they are cleaned. We believe that we have taken the necessary steps to prevent this from happening again

Thank you

Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is our third stay at this motel and after this visit, it will be our last. The whole place needs lots of work, the rooms, the pool and even the tennis courts all need major work. Our unit had a leak outside the bathroom and by the look of the carpet it has been happening for some time but nothing has been done about it.

In our bedroom we even had cockroach's running around. The only new thing in the unit was the TV. The couches were both very old as I would say were the beds by the feel of them. We were here for three nights & we would have happily moved to another motel if we hadn't already paid over $500NZD for the room, plus as it was New Year's Day most of the other motels were already booked and as a family of four we needed to have two bedrooms which would have been almost impossible to find.

I would not recommend that you stay here until they have done some major renovations & brought this place into the 21st century.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear valued guest

Welcome back, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback plus selecting Silveroaks Resort Heritage during your recent trip to Rotorua

I am pleased to learn that you did notice the TV was new in your room may I take this opportunity to share with you that we the whole hotel is undergoing refurbishment as per hotel's scedule. I would like to bring it to your attention that all hotel rooms are cleaned and serviced daily by our friendly housekeeping team to ensure that we provide quality accomodation and hotel facilities to our valued guests like you.

May I take this opportunity to share with you that being in festive season the hotel has experienced very high occupancy and the room that you stayed in was occupied by guests every day. I have inspected the room that you stayed in and there was no sign of any coacroaches as mentioned by you.

I would like to kindly invite you to contact me directly at: heritage@silveroaks.co.nz, I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to work towards regaining confidence.

Yours Sincerely

John Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This place needs a full upgrade. No wifi , no dvd player in rooms. Tennis court in disrepair. Sadly no stars from me. Looks like it was built in the early 80s and hasnt been touched since. Steer clear from this one

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback

We did experience a number of problems changing from ATV to DTV in relation to the televisions. We had though that we were properly prepared, but when the switch happened we found that we had not fully replaced the cables for the Hotel, thankfully this is running properly now.

We have been working on the upgrade of the Spa Complex, it has taken us 8 months to complete, as it has been an extensive job, but it is now complete and looks fantastic

We do hope that we can accommodate you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This wold have to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at!!! The Tv didn't work, kettle and most of the power points no good! The bathroom light was a safety hazard flickering on and off! We booked for four of us to stay through wot if and what a dreadful experience we have had! The owner John was so strange bluntly lying to us and charging full price!!! The place is falling apart the restront wasn't open and none of the 7 spas worked!!! Very very unhappy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback

Since your stay we have put a maintenance program in place to ensure all maintenanace is up to date

We appreciate your comments, and believe we have made a substantial improvement.

At this stage the restaurant is only open for breakfast and group functions


Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

OMG.Wish I had read these bad reviews before staying there! I second EVERY BAD comment and wish to WARN everyone ! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Worst place I have ever stayed!

Health and safety HAZARD!

SHOULD HAVE NO STARS.

Gym, is an old furniture storage room.

Tennis court, in Huge state of disrepair.

Pool, wouldn't swim in it. Hygiene risk.

Hot elements, in kitchen didn't work.

Lights out everywhere. Corroded in socket.

Sofa,  broken, wires in coming throughrough seat. So uncomfortable.

Place dirty, stained, mouldy and large cockroach running on floor.

Phone, did not work, faulty power socket, 1 Sky TV channel.

Had other guests asking me about my stay.  Their experiences were just as bad.

It's like FAWLTY TOWERS in real life!!

From front desk, right through the premises.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for selecting Silveroaks Resort Heritage during your recent trip to Rotorua.

I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. In line with our commitment the team strives to deliver a high quality product to all our guests. I am pleased to share with you that the whole hotel is going through the upgrade and refurbishment, which includes the rooms, interior decorations, gym, new furnitures, new telephone system is in place plus total upgrading will be completed as per the hotels schedule, Several hotel rooms are now completed and looks great.

I would like to mention that due to the hotel's business demand all hotel rooms were occupied recently and high room occupancy was experienced in peak times. We have not heard any concerns from our hotel guests, many departing guests have enjoyed their stay with us and are already planning to come back in near future.

May I take this opportunity to kindly invite you to contact me directly at: heritage@silveroaks.co.nz, I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to work towards regaining your confidence.

Yours Sincerely

John Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked two rooms at this place and was so disgusted at the service

The rooms were so old and out dated

They were very dirty they say they have cleaners in other reviews but clearly there not doing there job because the cleanliness was terrible

There were light bulbs broken
The bathrooms were dirty

Live wires in the living area which is a health and safety concern

The bed rooms were untidy the bed linen was stained dirty and out dated

When we went to complain john the manager palmed us and other off to speak with Greg the general manager and conveniently he hasn't answered any of the calls
Not only were we complaining there were 4 others doing the same
John was not helpful at all and being a manager I was disgusted that he kept saying he can't help and there's nothing he can do


WHAT A JOKE

I would never recommend this place to anyone

If you stayed at a back packers it would be like staying in a 5 star compared to THIS S**T HOLE !!!

Don't waist ur money

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellebear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear valued guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback, it was our pleasure to have you as our guest in your recent trip to Rotorua. I am disappointed to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectation.

May I kindly bring to your attention that the rooms allocated to you were occupied by the previous guests during this busy festive season, and I have not heard comments or concerns from other guests, infact the guests departed from the hotel in good gesture and they will be back for another stay with us.

I would like to take this opportunity to bring to your attention that the all hotel rooms are cleaned and serviced every day by our friendly housekeeping team. The whole hotel is undergoing renovation and refurbishment which will be completed as per our schedeule.

Please let me assure that we are committed to providing quality accomodation and service to our guests and as Silveroaks Resort Heriage team we will continously strive to deliver the service excellence.

We would look forward to welcoming you to witness the comfort and enjoyment in our newely renovated rooms in future.

Kind regards

John Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Birchwood Spa Motel
Birchwood Spa Motel
#86 of 92 in Rotorua
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
Wylie Court Motor Lodge
#40 of 92 in Rotorua
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.1 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £57 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing