We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - good location - good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well equipped and comfortable . A bit of updating could be done but overall no complaints at all. I would recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear YorkBonBon

Thank you for your positive feedback, we really appreciate your comments about the helpful staff and facilities, and value.

We do accept that some of the rooms still need to be modernized, and we are currently working on refurbishing all of the rooms

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rotorua

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at this place at Easter this year, booked and paid in advance for three nights, but checked out after 1 night - the room smelled like to had a major water leak, the supposed private jetted tub shouldn't be used at night as no light, the shaver plug hanging out of the wall (wires showing), the shower tray almost buckling under the weight of an average 11 year oled and then waking up the next morning to ants in the kitchen and a cockroach crawling over the bedside table. Wrote to management and complained and they replied offering a discount for our next stay but refused to refund the two nights we didn't use.
THIS IS NOT A RESORT - BY ANY STANDARD - the photos in their web etc were obviously taken many moons ago when it might have sttod up to it's title.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay over easter. We do appreciate you had some concerns, and these have now all been attended to by our maintenance person.

The pictures are recent pictures of the Hotel, and were uploaded in January 2014.

We are pleased to let you know that our spa complex, has now been completely refurbished, the finishing touches are currently underway, and then it will open

We do hope that we can accommodate you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Not a great experience not only is the restaurant and hot pools closed, they lost our booking. After 30 mins waiting we told them not to worry about it and we would do something else. We then rang up asking for our deposit back and surprise surprise our booking has appeared and they cant refund! Now we have more charges applied to our credit card. Hmmm not happy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pieman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback

I am sorry that our reservation staff did not manage your booking correctly.

At present our restaurant is open for breakfast and is only open for dinner for groups and private functions or conferences.

We are working on updating all websites and links to ensure that this information is correctly reflected.

The spa complex has taken us 8 months to refurbish and replace the spas, pipe work and internal roof, it is at the finishing stages and is ready to be reopened.

We thank you for your comments and we are working on improving the issues you have raised


Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My advise is don't stay here! I booked in for a weekend. The room was the worst I have ever seen in my life. Cockroach in the shower, stove top 'out of order' so a replacement was in the cupboard to bring up to put on the bench. Windows would not close properly, microwave had had a fire in it by the look of it ... just disgusting. Upstairs there was a party going on. Got to sleep around 4am. Tried to get hold of someone to come and tell the people to 'shut up' but the phone number had been disconnected. So if there is an emergency...don't ring the emergency number as there is no one available.We only stayed for one night and was told I had booked for two so 'you have to pay for it'.I was so angry and tired I yelled at the reception people that this is outrages.I gave the list of problems to the man at reception and he apologized and said that the rooms were due to be renovated. I asked him why they were still renting them out then. No answer. Disgusting. Tourists must laugh at this. Filthy place.

Room Tip: Book at another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Errol

We have looked into your complaint. We understand you claim you stayed in January 2014, which is just over 3 months ago.

We can not identify any reservations under your name, and we are not aware of any previous complaint.

The on site Manager is available 24 hours, abd can be contacted by dialing the number for reception, and the night bell is also available at reception

All the non studio rooms do have hot plates.

We have checked the hotel diary, we can not located any issue in relation to a party in one of the rooms. We do check dor any disturbances, and should any guest be making noise we do request them to stop for the peace of other guests.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for a week and we were pleased with the accommodations. The rooms are old however suitable for a stay that is primarily and place to sleep.The manager was helpful and tended to our needs. He also upgraded us from a studio spa to an apartment to show his appreciation for our business. We would stay again.

D Ramsey, San Francisco, CA

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear DebraR

Thank you for staying with us for the week.

Thank you for the feedback, and great to hear that all the staff looked after you

We would love to see you again, when you next return to Rotorua

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Had an awesome time here at SilverOaks, came in a big group and we were very lucky that there was a unit that could accommodate for our big group and the unit was spacious that we didn't not feel confined to a tight space compared to our previous stay here in Rotorua.

Unit was clean and the cleaning staff that tended to the rooms were very friendly and approachable.

BBQ area was a nice space to have a meal which was just outside our door.

Heated pool was an added bonus.

Overall thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would definitely come back.
Thank you SilverOaks

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiOfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Warm greetings from Silveroaks Resort Heritage

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience, and we are pleased to know that you had an awesome stay plus throughly enjoyed your holiday with us at Silveroaks Resort Heritage

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the warm and caring services provided by our friendly team and that you found our housekeeping associates to be friendly and approachable. I have noted your appreciation towards the spacious room, bbq area, heated pool and I have shared your valuable comments with all our team members.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, and we truly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future where we will do our best to exceed your expectations.

Best regards and safe travels,

John Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

You get what you pay for here. The room was unrenovated, basic and clean with the exception of three small cockroaches in the bathroom and a mould patch next to the lavatory from a leaking pipe. More of a tired two star motel than a resort. Ideal if you want very cheap and very basic accommodation. If you want a three star resort you are likely to pay double the price anywhere else. My ratings are 'below average' rather than 'poor'. This is a two star property and run down (they seem to be selling off the units now). I was happy to crash in my clean bed each night and had little intention of spending my holiday inside my shabby room. Good hot water in the shower. Ancient pink bathroom. No remote control for my television. Reported this at check out to the friendly staff who had clearly heard it all before. The pictures do not represent the current condition of this property - it is not a holiday resort but a place to cheaply bed-down overnight. I saved the best part $100 dollars staying here and treated myself to a great dinner and good bottle of wine in town with the sppils.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarloBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback

We are currently updating the Hotel and will certainly take you comments into account

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#50 of 92 in Rotorua
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
468 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £82 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing