We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay at this motel (it is NOT a resort)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Ranked #90 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Do not stay at this motel (it is NOT a resort)”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night. It is extremely run down, the garden is full of weeds, the mini golf course is not playable it is so uneven,the heated pool badly needs repainting, the spa pools and gym were closed (supposedly for renovations) the kids playground had 2 broken swings and a broken seesaw handle, there were 5 light bulbs missing in our unit, someone else's hair on a pillow, a SKY TV programme book, but no SKY remote, so we could not watch SKY TV, and no internet although it was advertised.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BevWilsonNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Whilst we do thank you for your comments, I do wonder when you actually stayed and suspect it was not actually in July.

We do note you mention that the seesaw had a broken handle, this is not the case, we replaced the seesaw 6 months ago, and I had the Manager go and check the handle this morning, and I can assure you it is not brocken.

For the last 4 months we have had a gardener, who works three days per week, I had thought the grounds were looking very good, he is constanly weed spraying.

The mini golf does not have an even surface, but it is not meant to, that is part of the fun of playing mini golf.


From reading the comments you have made, I suspect that you may have stayed well over 6 months ago, as we have made changes to the property and resolved these issues some months back.

The children's pool does need to be painted, and we do intend to have that carried out before summer, in recent months we have replaced virtually every pipe that surrounds the pool, all the filter equipment, and this week we are installing a new bore pipe and pump. Ineffect we have replaced and upgraded the entire pool, just have the painting to complete. We intend to do this after the bore pump is replaced.

Thank you for your comments

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    63
    51
    51
    160
See reviews for
176
78
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL- DON'T BUY YAZOOM VOUCHERS
The rooms are dirty and old. The curtains are hanging off the rails. Windows do not lock. We had a very bad experience after booking into this place (Via Yazoom) We refused to stay in the first room it was dirty, the curtains were hanging off the rails. The bed covers were as old as, the pattern was barely visable. The pillows were as flat as pancakes. Basically it was an absolutely horrible room. We were offered a different room. Exactly the same as the first. We were then offered an upgrade. Well, that was just as bad, but the upgrade included a spa. That was a joke. This upgraded room had a heated towel rail (hanging off the wall) and was filthy. The window did not have a window latch on, so had to be shut from the outside, but could not be locked. Not very safe. Also I forgot to mention, when I refused the second room. I was asked "what are your expectations" how rude. We ended up leaving. When we asked for refund we were told to take it up with Yazoom where we purchased the voucher. They have been a complete waste of time. Basically saying that we are lying. They have you over a barrel. In the terms and conditions. It states that they (Yazoom) can not be responsible for any faulty goods/services etc. SO THE LESSON TO ANYONE OUT THERE. DON'T BUY YAZOOM VOUCHERS AND CERTAINLY DON'Y GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!!

Room Tip: no room - just don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
The most important lesson that you learn in a Hotel is that the customer is always correct, and with this in mind we strive to meet the expectation of all our customers, to ensure that they have a relaxed and enjoyable stay, our genuine goal is to keep all our guests happy.

In summary you purchased a voucher for a studio room from Yazoom
You were checked into a studio room
On check in, and before going to the room, you insisted the voucher was for a one bedroom apartment, not a studio
The Manager changed the room to a one bedroom
You retunred, and stated that you were entitled to a one bedroom room with a spa
The Manager then moved you into a one bedroom room, but with a spa bath
You then returnsed insisting that you were entitled to a room with a spa pool, not a spa bath
The Manager moved you into the only room with a spa pool, a studio room

We understand that you wanted a one bedroom apartment with a spa
The Manager did not have any available, and explained to you that was the only room available with a spa pool

The yazoom voucher only entitled you to a studio room, and working under the belief the customer is always right, we were not able to supply with with a one bedroom apartment with a spa pool

As you felt your were entitled to a one bedroom room with a spa, and had only received a studio with a spa, eventhough the voucher was for a studio room, you requested a refund from yazoom

When yazoom came to us asking to refund your reservation, we did turn them down.

We do care about our guests, and I do hope your appreciate the steps that we did take to meet your expectations

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Waikanae, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice welcome and help from John Chetty straight away when our TV needed re tuning.
Great manager.
Room was warm, clean and heated for us on arrival, nice comfy beds and pillows.
Nice private spa was awesome after a long day out.
Great heating during winter months.
Rooms were restocked and cleaners even did our dishes which wasn't expected when we came back to the room.
Little bit of repair and updating needed on decor etc but for the price it had all the basics and was nice for a family of 4 on a budget.
Cleaners were nice friendly people, just maybe have them move away from rooms when on breaks due to smoking smells entering rooms if door open.

Thanks again for the stay.

Room Tip: Read reviews current rather then old
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback
Great to hear you had a great weekend and were able to enjoy the resort facilities.

I do agree with your comments, the staff should ensure that when taking a break and a smoke, they are not in the vicinity as to where smoke can go into a guest room, thank you for bringing this to our notice, and we will be adressing this

We look forward to you staying with us again

Kind Regards
Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Webpage says they have: Heated Pool, Bar, Restaurant.Electric Blankets in all Suites. Heated Pool not working. Bar and Restaurant been closed for 19 months. No Electric Blankets. Quilt had paint splatter, Urine Stain and Blood. Manager moved us to another room. This was worse! Blood on the Quilt, Electric Blanket worked on one side only. Sheets were used and not cleaned. Blood on the Sheets. Blood stain and Urine stain on mattress. Electric Plug was smashed on one side of the bed. Hole in she shower roof. Hole in the shower rose. Floor was filthy. Middle of winter and room was freezing. Motel was expecting us; Motel room window was open, no heating on. Had to shut window from outside as no window latch. Lock broken on door. In Room Spa had pubic hair in the plug, (a lot of it), was filthy! Spa area full of black mould and green moss! The shower was disgusting, toilet had poo around the inside of the seat. We had saved for this weekend as was our wedding anniversary. The Manager would not come over to look at the room and when we asked if he would have his wife stay in it, he just shrugged his shoulders. His excuse was, "we are under renovation". Does under renovation mean filth, dirt and putting other peoples health at risk? We spoke with other Motels in the area. They advised that they had had several people leave this Motel and go to theirs. The "under renovation" excuse has been used for 9 months, with no signs of actual renovation, according to them.... The Manager lied to us when we asked for an Electric Blanket. He made us leave the Motel for an hour whilst he "searched for an Electric Blanket". We arrived back in time to hear him talking to a cleaner on the phone. She was putting the Electric Blanket on the bed and we heard him say, "put the blanket on anyway". We asked him if there was something wrong and he said, "no". We went to the room to find that the plug on one side was smashed, so could not plug it in on one side. We moved the bed closer to the bench so we could plug it in, to find it didn't actually work! Upon moving the bed, there was approximately one centimetre of hair, dead moths, dead bugs, and dust! At this time, we asked for our money back, only to be refused. Manager advised he could offer an upgrade in 24 hours. Given we had already moved rooms once, I refused. After speaking with our Booking Agent, they were prepared to refund us and move us to another Motel. This was after a long discussion and emailing photos. We are not people who would complain, but this was just going to far. Blood and Urine stained bedding is just unacceptable! We suggest that if you really are renovating, then start by changing your cleaning staff, get your linen professionally cleaned. Close down some of your rooms and get at least half of them professionally cleaned. Considering it is winter, sheets that you cannot see through would be a good start, and if you are going to advertise Electric Blankets in all rooms, then do what you say! Put on your website that the Pool, Restaurant and Bar are not open for use. False Advertising is a Crime! We see you have good feedback on here... Makes me wonder how much of it is true. Spoke with another traveller in a room above us. They booked a room to sleep five. The lady said to me that there were not enough beds in their room, but given they travelled a long way and were tired, they would double up their children in the beds.... Hmmmm.... I put so much effort into planning the weekend, and to have to spend the first day moving rooms not once, but twice was not on the plans. The Manager was very flustered from the minute we arrived. I am so shocked that he would not even come over to the room and look over it with us! This experience has really shaken my confidence in booking Motels on the Internet. The pictures are a false representation. My last word on this Motel... "Buyer Beware". We do have photos to back up what we say. However, as I have a heart and a conscience, I will not put them up as yet. I would like to give the Manager to explain his bad attitude, and his unwillingness to look at the bedding, the dirt, the pubic hair, the poo, the broken latches, etc, etc..... Again, "under renovation" is not an excuse for filth! Watch the TV Program called "The Hotel Inspector",,, Cleanliness should be first on the list. All else could have been forgiven if it wasn't so filthy.

Room Tip: Here is a Tip... Do Not Stay here unless you like Dirt, Lies, and excuses made up out of more lies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jannine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I am personally very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Unfortunately on Saturday we had two major problems. Around 2pm the underground bore pump died, this pump brings up the thermal water from underground and is used to heat the pool, provide heating to the rooms and hot water. As a back up to the thermal water we have gas boilers, and the gas boiler to the wing you stayed in would not fire up, I understand the electrican was not able to get the gas boiler into action until 7pm.

I am extremely sorry that John did not provide the attention to your concerns that you would expect, but at the time he was taking every possible step to ensure the Hotel had hot water and heating.

The thermal pump is a speciality pump, and is being flown in from Australia, and is due to be installed in three days time, so for the next three days we can not deliver a heated swimming pool, but will be back in operation by the weekend.

In the meantime we are operating on our gas boiler for heating and hot water, so there is no issue in that respect.

I do appreciate that under the circumstances, a number of guests were inconvienced, but we did our very best to manage and keep guests warm.

I am note sure where you say we advertise electric blankets, as I am not aware any of our adverts state this. The property has never actually had electric blankets, as the thermal heating is extremely good, and you would not normally need them, the thermal heating is in the bedrooms and lounge and creates a very warm atmosphere. Which is all great until the bore stops working, an event that I am told happens once every 20 years.

But what I have taken from your comments is that we need to put electric blankets on the beds as a back up plan, incase this ever happens again.

I am extremely sorry that you felt John was not taking any interest in your concerns, just under the circumstances he was preoccupied trying to either get the bore or gas going, in an effort to ensure that we did not upset any guests.

I have asked the Manager to look into your concerns, and address your concerns with housekeeping.

I am again personally sorry that we gave the impression that we were not listening to your concerns, we certainly do listen to our customers, and address and rectify any issues that they may have, it was just a very difficult day, and thankfully the underground bore pump only needs to be replaced once every 20 years.

We have caried out substantial upgrades over the last nine months, for example we have replaced all the pipes undergound, new exterior lighting, replaced PVC pipes in the building, over the last 9 months we have worked on the infrastructure of the Hotel, and carried substantial internal maintenance.

We do appreciate your feedback


Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The two room apartment was extremely unclean upon arrival. Dust on window sills, blinds, around the skirting, lamp and anything hanging on the wall. Hole in bathroom ceiling. Shower floor was unstable. Heating system leaking water. Very musty smelling apartment. Cockroach seen. Plug for spa pool was a ball of celletape. Oil on the floor by our private spa. Many light bulbs were missing. Sock beside the bed. Rubbish behind the couch. Only three sky channel available with static reception. Wi Fi tickets did not work. No instructions for Wi FI, Heating system or Sky.
Manager was friendly but will never stay here again, nor would be recommend to others.
We booked our stay through the AA website.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I am extremely sorry that we have not meet your expectations, or our own expectations on this occassion.

We do appreciate your feedback, and we will certainly take the appropraite steps to prevent this from happenning again.

Our Housekeeping team normally do a great job, and recent feedback had been very positive, but clearly we did not get it right this time.

We do need to update our compendiums with instructions for the TV and wi-fi, we have held back on this as we have ordered new compendiums and were waiting for them to arrive, but we appreciate we should have updated the old compendiums in the meantime

Thank you for your feedback, and we do hope that we can accommodate you again in the future

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

excellent staff that go out of there way to accomodate your every need . we needed help finding a good resturant amongest activitys and they helped with it all. we had trouble with our sky on the first night no tv so they gave us free internet the whole time we were there. nice work john chetty and team :) the cleaners are awesome as well funny ladys that are cool to chat with. they even made up the room with roses and chocolates etc for my ladys birthday (my request) and gave her flowers n all. as soon as our baby is born we are going back. thanks john and the rest of the team, chur!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Our staff had fun putting the rose petals on the bed

Kind Regards

Greg Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful condition -Reasonable payment, warm room condition, wide space for my family, private spa in room, quite clean room and thanks for John Chetty' welcoming.
I will expect to stay here again next travel time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Resort Heritage, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We highly appreciate your comments we do have a great housekeeping team, and the rooms are very spacious perfect for a family.

We look forward to seeing you again, Kind Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilverOaks Resort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilverOaks Resort Heritage

Property: SilverOaks Resort Heritage
Address: 349 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Resort Heritage 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need to revive and rejuvenate? Then select the SilverOaks Resort Heritage as your accommodation choice in Rotorua. The Resort is located in the heart of Rotorua with just a short walk to Te Puia, home of the World Famous Pohutu Geyser, and just 1km to the city centre.The Resort is perfect for both business or pleasure. The Resort has 41 rooms, including studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, with a number offering a private spa pool or spa bath. The apartments offer a full kitchen lounge and dining area. Resort facilities include mini golf, tennis courts, heated swimming pool, spa complex, BBQ gazebo, breakfast room, guest lounge, conference rooms, internet cafe, wireless internet. The Resort in under new management and we are currently refurbishing the resort and adding additional services. We look forward to hosting our guests and welcome all feedback to assist us in providing a high quality product and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SilverOaks Resort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Resort Heritage Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Quality Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing