We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince's Gate Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
338
277
168
73
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
277
168
73
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelgovernment gardensdesigner roomhot poolshigh teadinner showmain buildingrotorua museumsmall roompolynesian spanew zealandcentral locationeat streetcabaretsuiteyesteryearrudi
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

From check in to check out the service was superb. Great experience to entertain our clients in a wonderfully authentic establishment. The decor, furnishings, and ambience are reflect a beautiful elegant ear of NZ history. Our clients felt special and loved the experience of beautiful food and superb service. We are looking forward to hosting our Road Show at the Princes Gate again next year.

Room Tip: If you want a view of Lake Rotorua book the Elizabeth room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank practicalproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We arrived dropped our bags and soaked in the hot pool after a long drive.It was our 4th time here because it is so central and walking distance to town and lake. Rooms are warm, quanit, old luxury. highly recommended.

Room Tip: Comfortable rooms, Rooms are named after prominent New Zealanders
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliecan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had the wonderful experience of High tea at Princes Gate Hotel last weekend. The decor was stunning and so appropriate for the experience of High Tea. We were given the option of dining in the dining room or lounge, chose the lounge and was seated before a lovely cosy fire. The staff were polite and helpful, showing us a room for future reference. The 3 tiered platter was outstanding with a lovely selection of cakes and sandwiches. Definitely good value for money and a lovely way to spend a wet aternoon. We will be back and have been recommending the experience to others.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank Kims0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My family had agreed to go out for a special dinner for our aunts birthday, we organized to go to a dinner and show but as more people became interested we decided to use a private function room and have a buffet meal for the 40 people who had decided to come. The buffet options ranged from $59.00. $69.00- $79.00. We went with $69.00 option and it was really great on paper, but the food was CRAP!!!!! The hot carvery which was ham on the bone and then the only seafood option ran out! we hadn't all eaten mains yet! and when I asked the waiter for more of those dishes he replied "its a buffet and that's all that was ordered" to my surprise he was right!!!!! Before we entered the private function room, we were required to pay the total account ($2550.00) After talking to the manager on duty he agreed that the hot meat shouldn't have run out during everyone's first sitting, I asked him what his interpretation of a buffet was and he shock he's head and apologized ultimately passing the buck between the chef and the Hotel manager.
This was embarrassing for me as I organized the birthday dinner and had my entire family questioning the price of the meal. The next day the remaining 17 of us went to dinner at the "HOLIDAY INN" in Rotorua for a buffet dinner $42.00 p.p, and it was amazing "Salmon, oysters, prawns 2 CARVING STATIONS and a load of hot foods and beautiful desserts"I strongly recommend THE HOLIDAY INN hotel and would be happy to say I WILL NEVER BE RETURNING TO THE PRINCESS GATE HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Jay255111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Without getting into emotion, the facts are yes we did run out of seafood which is not an ideal situation and we apologise. The seafood did not however run out before everyone had been through at least once, it was only when guests returned for seconds and thirds, and other guests had piled their plates high with the seafood, that it ran out.
The ham did not run out and there was in fact meat left over on its return to the kitchen.
The organiser herself was difficult to work with constant changes and promises to pay, as per our policy for all functions. This happened over a period of a week but was never followed through until the actual day of the function. This led to an obviously difficult function
The standards of the Princes Gate Hotel are high and as such, our meals and functions are carried out in classic style. A specific emphasis is on our A la Carte and Table D'hote dining, however as with many of our weddings and formal functions, buffets are often a popular alternative.

Kind Regards,

Brett Marvelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

4 of us went there for breakfast on Sunday morning as it is advertised on a banner and a sandwich board out side as the best in Rotorua - bacon, eggs, toas, tea or coffee $11.95. We went in were told the breakfast was $13.00. When we referred to the adertised price she said "oh Ok, I can give you breakfast for $11.95". food was pretty average B & E BUT THEY CHARGED US $2.00EACH FOR 4 EXTRA PRICES OF TOAST!
make sure you check the pricees of everything in Rotorua. Wouldn't recommend & won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

I refer to the comments posted by berniejh. Please find the following as my response.

The advertised special is for Bacon & Eggs with either tea or filter coffee for $11.95 (inc GST). No mention is made of toast being included in this deal.

The waitress did misquote the price at first and then corrected to the $11.95pp. At no time was this ever an issue at payment. She was perfectly correct when she informed the customer before they then chose to go ahead and decide to have toast, that the cost would be $2.00pp. This price was for endless toast so the fact that they only had one slice each was up to them.

I believe as you read the above, you would wonder, like me, about those people to feel so distraught about having had a breakfast including a bottomless cup of coffee or tea for a minimal price and then only having to pay an extra $2.00 per person after being informed of said extra cost and then choosing to go ahead and have the toast. We feel it is prudent to advise these guests for next time, to not go on holiday, certainly never dine out, and perhaps take someone with them who is able to both listen, read and understands the concepts of both costing and decision making.

In terms of value, I believe we offer something very special, not only in our restaurant but in our whole hotel and in the service we provide. We hope we can show other travellers that this is the real Princes Gate Hotel.

Kind regards,

Brett Marvelly - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews