We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see old decor, bring earplugs!”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice to see old decor, bring earplugs!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel is very unique and i loved the decor. The staff were lovely. However each and every noise the person in the room next to us made we could hear all night. TV, Toilet, Coughing etc. Major let down and maybe it was 5 star 70 years ago....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linniebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    223
    140
    64
    51
See reviews for
127
414
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2011

spent two nights in this hotel and loved it! its a unique hotel with outstanding customer service, its more like a home from home, staff are so friendly and welcoming and go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable, food is excellent and very reasonably priced, bar has great atmosphere, rooms are spotless and comfortable, can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 162Avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi on tour
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Nice heritage hotel, bit on the dated side. But then that is its charm, after all it has been around for 60-70 years. Nice amenities, good restaurant, attentative and friendly staff. Very well located to central downtown. Would stay again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on west side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccdzyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our tour operator had booked us into the Princes gate hotel as part o our 3 week tour of NZ, Brett and his staff could not have been more helpful or efficient in accommodating all 45 of the party, great hotel, friendly staff, have already instructed our tour company to book us in again in 2013 if our trip stops at Rotorua. Thanks Brett, we had a great time and can't wait to come back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This old style hotel must be the best value hotel in Rotorua for those seeking a top quality accommodation at a reasonable price.Historic building in central location but tastefully renovated.Excellent lounge and bar.Open fires .Top class restaurant .We had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast and were bowled over by the standard and service.

Room Tip: Best rooms for views and privacy are upstairs on 1st floor but stairs and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we actually stayed for 2 nights in the self contained apartments........they were lovely and so nice to have a couch to relax on!! (we found a lot of accomodation do not have a couch to sit on!!) beautiful hotel and many opportunities from high tea to beautiful dinner, warm pools etc.........

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

For my "very significant" birthday I was determined to seek out a "characterful", individual, personally run hotel as an alternative to a same-old chain one. Imagine my satisfaction and appreciation, when making the an enquiry at Princes Gate, they said that they would be delighted to assist with all my needs. This included a variety of accommodation, a buffet lunch and a dinner with entertainment and opportunity for dancing after.
Princes Gate possesses much that I was looking for in a character hotel; an interesting setting overlooking the Government gardens; built in 1897 and beautifully restored with very modern amenities.
The entrance to the hotel is just lovely, with beautiful lead light windows. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. I was introduced to the person who I took to be the coordinator of the events of the weekend and I later realised that he was in fact the owner of the hotel. He has a very hands-on approach and was able to advise me on several aspects that I had not considered. At the end of that initial meeting, I had a clear idea of what to expect from the hotel and the staff.
The rooms that we were to occupy for the long weekend were so very beautiful. The bedroom had been decorated in glorious colours and was so romantic. The bathroom facilities were modern, clean and spacious. The view out of the bedroom windows was not great, but the interior more than made up for that. It was very warm (just the way I like it) but my husband felt it was a bit too warm. We managed a compromise by opening a couple of the bedroom windows a little way. The other bedrooms I saw were also very pretty and in character so nothing like chain hotel ones.
As for the tasty food at a quiet dinner that first night, it was a good indication of what was to come the next day when both lunch and dinner were going to be served for my guests. Waiting staff were effective, obliging and unobtrusive in equal measures throughout the whole weekend.
The buffet lunch was superbly organised and the was both food beautifully presented There was plenty to delicious food to eat and wine to drink. The costume themed dinner later that evening was again well organised with tasty entrees, main and dessert all being managed splendidly. The entertainment in our function room was at odds with a cabaret in another dining room, but that was managed unobtrusively even though we were the raucous group.
Checkout was quick and easy and we had no problem understanding what each item on the bill represented. We were given a print of the hotel by the owner which was a lovely appreciated touch.
So, all in all, it was a fantastic experience. It made my birthday one that I will never forget. Great room, good location, good price, very experienced staff who were very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing