We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of history”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel is very old fashioned but very boutique. The service is nothing but very high quality. We were welcomed in to the hotel shown quickly around and then shown into our room.
the room was nice and comfortable.
The restaurant is quite flash but we did not feel excluded at all and the waiter/host was very welcoming
there is a bit of road noise at night but nothing major. The TV is positioned in a weird place
all is all it was a very nice stay

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waters-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

The hotel is very unique and i loved the decor. The staff were lovely. However each and every noise the person in the room next to us made we could hear all night. TV, Toilet, Coughing etc. Major let down and maybe it was 5 star 70 years ago....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linniebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

spent two nights in this hotel and loved it! its a unique hotel with outstanding customer service, its more like a home from home, staff are so friendly and welcoming and go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable, food is excellent and very reasonably priced, bar has great atmosphere, rooms are spotless and comfortable, can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 162Avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Nice heritage hotel, bit on the dated side. But then that is its charm, after all it has been around for 60-70 years. Nice amenities, good restaurant, attentative and friendly staff. Very well located to central downtown. Would stay again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back on west side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccdzyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Our tour operator had booked us into the Princes gate hotel as part o our 3 week tour of NZ, Brett and his staff could not have been more helpful or efficient in accommodating all 45 of the party, great hotel, friendly staff, have already instructed our tour company to book us in again in 2013 if our trip stops at Rotorua. Thanks Brett, we had a great time and can't wait to come back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This old style hotel must be the best value hotel in Rotorua for those seeking a top quality accommodation at a reasonable price.Historic building in central location but tastefully renovated.Excellent lounge and bar.Open fires .Top class restaurant .We had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast and were bowled over by the standard and service.

Room Tip: Best rooms for views and privacy are upstairs on 1st floor but stairs and no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we actually stayed for 2 nights in the self contained apartments........they were lovely and so nice to have a couch to relax on!! (we found a lot of accomodation do not have a couch to sit on!!) beautiful hotel and many opportunities from high tea to beautiful dinner, warm pools etc.........

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maz670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £61 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing