We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but why the lousy Wifi”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The room I had in the apartment annex, was a real value, actually a suite. The lobby and main building are gorgeous. The food is good, and the location great. yes, there's a bit of sulfur smell, but it's well part of Rotorua's attraction (not the smell the hot springs). It's clean, and a pleasant place to stay.

But what's up with New Zealand and internet? For the free WiFi, you go to the lobby and get a ticket for free at least that gives you 50 mess of info. One 10 minute Skype call and well forget it. You can go outside to call to not annoy other guests, but why these stupid tickets? And this is the NEW SYSTEM. You can get it in your room via the old system, but then you pay for your measly 50 megs. I wouldn't have stayed under that circumstance.

Ok, it's not only this hotel but NZ tends to treat bandwidth like a valuable commodity. Still, the motel down the road has it for free in rooms, so they really need to get with the 21st Century here too.

(also putting jets in the nice hot tubs outside would be cool!) But it was nice as it is.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abmindprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank-you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments about our lovely hotel and the service you were provided.
In regards to our guest internet service, we currently have free wi-fi available on the bar and lobby area. This is due to expand throughout the whole hotel including the rooms once our current contract on the old pay system expires at the end of December. While we do give tickets limiting to only 50MB (this is so as to control ability to illegally download content due to tough new laws on this), these are free and you can get as many as you like. We do also have tickets with unlimited access for a small fee for anyone who would like to use Skype etc that require more bandwidth. We apologise if this was not communicated to you.
We hope that you do enjoy the rest of you holiday in New Zealand.
Regards,
Brett Marvelly - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

We travel fairly extensively and stay at many hotels but few have matched the colonial charm of the Princes Gate. It has an ambience of slightly faded elegance, with rich leather furnishing and an eclectic mix of art nouveau and art deco decor. It has a great location next to Government Gardens and easy parking.

We were greeted at reception by a friendly, though not overly so, receptionist, who proved to be the standard for all staff. Helpful, friendly and deferent of your guest status without being obseqious.

The hotel lobby sets the scene for the entire hotel. Leather sofas and rich wood pieces with pieces from the periods mentioned, with a grand staircase, over which hangs a large chandelier - warm and welcoming. You feel you are stepping back a little in time just entering.

The room was sumptuous, with large windows and double doors that led to the traditional, balcony that surrounds the entire hotel at the first floor level, in usual colonial style. a bathrooom with full size bath and quality complimentary items, a king size bed was extremely comfortable - not too hard nor too soft!, internet access and a flat screen TV with Sky television ensured that all modern needs were met.

Other facilities included a private patio area with natural hot pools - perfect for relaxing after a busy day!

Mornings greeted you with a complimentary newspaper before heading down to the suitably decorated dining room for a good breakfast.

Dinner was first rate, a full al a carte menu, with breads and other selections made on the premises and was accompanied by a cabaret show, where we were entertained by two great singers! Preceding dinner however, we were also entertained by what is described as the 'Phantom of the Opera Experience' - a cameo performance featuring a few numbers from the show - again, performed very ably, with which you get to enjoy a glass of wine or beer etc and some very delicious canapes. The performance puts the staircase to great use too!


We didn't see a lift at the hotel, but as there were an equal number of rooms on the ground floor as the the first, I don't envisage any problem for those requiring wheelchair access etc.

All in all it would be fair to say that we were completely won over by the warmth, charm and elegance of this historic hotel and we would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: A first floor room allows you to enjoy the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2011

Thankyou for a wonderful review. It is so heartening to have guests leaving with the appreciation for our vision and motivation for our world of hospitality.
It was also pleasing to receive the Peoples Choice award this week for the Best Nationwide Hotel in New Zealand. To all our visiting guests to Rotorua, our Phantom performance is a beautiful way to start a night. As our reviews have said, it leads to a wonderful night when you take in our Cabaret Dinner & Show afterwards and is most suited for a 40's audience that enjoy great food and to be entertained the way it was in the 30's & 40's.
Once again, thankyou, we look forward to welcoming future guests to our world of charm & elegance, but most importantly, our genuine hospitality.
Regards, Brett Marvelly - Owner for 26 years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We arrived late and stumbled upon this gem of a hotel in the middle of town, just by the entrance to the government gardens. The building is historic with modern facilities and has genuine character. Well appointed bar and restaurants and a wonderful streetside terrace and veranda, where we enjoyed relaxed drinks before and after dinner. All this supported by a discreetly attentive staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulKeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Character old wooden hotel. Lounge and dining rooms beautifully decorated.Cabaret show with dinner was good value. Entertainers talented and interacted well with audience. Food excellent. Staff very friendly. Nice relaxed feel.Rooms off balcony decorated in style of hotel but until air conditioning installed(which they are in process of doing) very hot at night.

Room Tip: Apart from double rooms suites and 2 bedroom apartments are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I was organising a surprise 60th birthday party for my wife and the hotel came to the party with tremendous support. They thoughtfully put my wife and I in a room away from the rest of the family who were arriving later in the day for a surprise dinner. The front desk staff willingly participated in the subterfuge and diversionary tactics necessary to divert attention from a nomally very suspicious recipient. The dinner in the Boardroom was also great - just like being in our dining room at home but all done for us with good service and lots of smiles. Thanks to the support of the hotel we had a great and memorable weekend which will now become part of the accumulated family lore. Thoroughly recommend for a character filled stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The real rating should be closer to ***+ due to tacky furniture, broken heater and much too soft bed. The kichenette was very elementary.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hapatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This hotel is not a high quality hotel as it claims to be! I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bnerhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £61 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing