We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prince's Gate Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
338
277
168
73
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
338
277
168
73
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelgovernment gardensdesigner roomhot poolshigh teadinner showmain buildingrotorua museumsmall roompolynesian spanew zealandcentral locationeat streetcabaretsuiteyesteryearrudi
Filter
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2011

An absolute must do experience. Great to see history and old traditions being so well presented. The accommodation is wonderful, the meals fantastic, the entertainment superb and what really made the occasion was the warm, friendly and thoroughly professional service provided by the staff. For a weekend of sheer enjoyment you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonSearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank you for your comments - they are very much appreciated. We are very proud of both our Hotel and our incredible team. Our goal is to make every guests experience a memorable one and I'm pleased that in your case you left us with pleasant memories of your stay. Thanks again and have a great New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My husband and I travel to Rotorua frequently for family reasons; we always stay at the Princes Gate and always look forward to returning. The hotel has an air of old world grace and a wonderful ambience of timeless elegance. The service is professional but very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The owner seems to be always about and is always responsive to requests.

The classic rooms are small and it is worth upgrading to the executive rooms which are still good value. Each room has its own distinctive decor and everything you need is provided. The rooms are clean with minibar and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a wonderful large but cosy lounge with leather sofas and soft lighting where we often sit in the evening or have high tea in the afternoon. In winter time there are two large open fires burning and it is a great place to sit quietly and read, meet friends or even have a meal. There is also a wrap-around verandah which is a lovely place to have an evening drink when it is warm.

The food in the restaurant is excellent - I had lamb the other evening which was delicious and at about $30 was excellent value given vegetables were included. The lemon tart was also a treat.

It is a real experience coming to the Princes Gate, we are always warmly welcomed and many of the staff seem to have been there for a long time which is always a good sign. If you want a brand new, modern style hotel then stay in one, but if you want somewhere warm, inviting and quietly elegant then come and stay here. I always feel refreshed after our visits and we plan to return very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PonsonbyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your experience with us. We, like yourself, thoroughly enjoy the "old world charm in a modern day context" our Hotel provides which we believe is a lovely point of difference for many travellers. I really do appreciate your extensive description of some of the facilities offered, and am glad to hear that you found our staff to be both professional and friendly. We look forward to having you join us again when you're next visiting Rotorua and wish you well for a very prosperous year ahead. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Loved the feeling of being removed from everyday - floral carpets and high ceilings, lace at the windows and the corridors lined with old photos. We found the room charming and enjoyed reading about the hotel's history, and the stories of the local identities whose names have been given to the rooms. Thanks for a relaxed stay and warm welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MewsTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel and wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a "relaxed stay"with us. We do hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were only able to spend one night, but it was a wonderful place to stay. The hotel's location and ambiance made it one of those places you remember (in a good way!) for a long time. Agree with the comment about WiFi but once you figured out how it was set up it worked just fine. Only caution is to be aware that there are no lifts ("elevators" for us Americans) and even though the staff was most helpful in moving bags up and down the stairs, some older guests may have a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank you for your valued comments - much appreciated. I certainly do understand your feedback regarding the possible difficulty the absence of an Elevator (Lift), may present to some of our elderly guests unable to negotiate the stairs to our first floor rooms.

If we are made aware of this by guests prior to arrival, we always endeavour to place guests into our ground floor rooms for ease of access (subject to availability) and to ensure their stay with us is as pleasant an experience as possible.

Warmest regards and we do hope you will stay with us again when you're next travelling to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The room I had in the apartment annex, was a real value, actually a suite. The lobby and main building are gorgeous. The food is good, and the location great. yes, there's a bit of sulfur smell, but it's well part of Rotorua's attraction (not the smell the hot springs). It's clean, and a pleasant place to stay.

But what's up with New Zealand and internet? For the free WiFi, you go to the lobby and get a ticket for free at least that gives you 50 mess of info. One 10 minute Skype call and well forget it. You can go outside to call to not annoy other guests, but why these stupid tickets? And this is the NEW SYSTEM. You can get it in your room via the old system, but then you pay for your measly 50 megs. I wouldn't have stayed under that circumstance.

Ok, it's not only this hotel but NZ tends to treat bandwidth like a valuable commodity. Still, the motel down the road has it for free in rooms, so they really need to get with the 21st Century here too.

(also putting jets in the nice hot tubs outside would be cool!) But it was nice as it is.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abmindprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank-you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments about our lovely hotel and the service you were provided.
In regards to our guest internet service, we currently have free wi-fi available on the bar and lobby area. This is due to expand throughout the whole hotel including the rooms once our current contract on the old pay system expires at the end of December. While we do give tickets limiting to only 50MB (this is so as to control ability to illegally download content due to tough new laws on this), these are free and you can get as many as you like. We do also have tickets with unlimited access for a small fee for anyone who would like to use Skype etc that require more bandwidth. We apologise if this was not communicated to you.
We hope that you do enjoy the rest of you holiday in New Zealand.
Regards,
Brett Marvelly - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews