We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Home from home a blast from the past” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family Home from home a blast from the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

One first arriving at this hotel I was dubious, but on closer inspection fell in love with the place. The rooms are crazy but full of charm and character along with the friendly attentative staff who clearly enjoyed their work. The breakfasts were prompt and charming as were the waiters, I only wished we had managed to stay there longer to enjoy one of the cabaret shows as the nights we were there, there was a wedding. Only improvement I could see would be to fine tune the wifi network as it was very patchy, but all in all, loved it 100%

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside corridor feel more private but you are exposed the the rotarua smelly air
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate_rist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. We very much appreciate your feedback and do hope you will consider staying with us again when you venture to Rotorua again in future. Warmest regards for a prosperous 2012 ahead. PGH team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    212
    135
    62
    51
See reviews for
119
398
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The location is perfect ; right in the centre of Rotorua next to Government Gardens , and we were lucky to have a large corner room. The room was well furnished , with good facilities and a very comfortable bed.

We spent three nights here and noone put a foot wrong. Service was personal and friendly. Breakfast was very good on each morning and service at the bar was always polite and pleasant. We listened to the cabaret , from the bar , and although it was not to our taste the audience obviously appreciated it

Apparently the Phantom of the Opera makes an appearance on most evenings but we managed to avoid that. It is one of the eccentricities that marks this hotel out from the dreary chains

Room Tip: Pay more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawardTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your overall experience at our Hotel and that you found the food, and service delivery of our staff of a high standard. We do hope you will consider staying with us again when you are next in New Zealand. Warmest regards for a great year ahead in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

An absolute must do experience. Great to see history and old traditions being so well presented. The accommodation is wonderful, the meals fantastic, the entertainment superb and what really made the occasion was the warm, friendly and thoroughly professional service provided by the staff. For a weekend of sheer enjoyment you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonSearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your comments - they are very much appreciated. We are very proud of both our Hotel and our incredible team. Our goal is to make every guests experience a memorable one and I'm pleased that in your case you left us with pleasant memories of your stay. Thanks again and have a great New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My husband and I travel to Rotorua frequently for family reasons; we always stay at the Princes Gate and always look forward to returning. The hotel has an air of old world grace and a wonderful ambience of timeless elegance. The service is professional but very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The owner seems to be always about and is always responsive to requests.

The classic rooms are small and it is worth upgrading to the executive rooms which are still good value. Each room has its own distinctive decor and everything you need is provided. The rooms are clean with minibar and tea and coffee making facilities. There is also a wonderful large but cosy lounge with leather sofas and soft lighting where we often sit in the evening or have high tea in the afternoon. In winter time there are two large open fires burning and it is a great place to sit quietly and read, meet friends or even have a meal. There is also a wrap-around verandah which is a lovely place to have an evening drink when it is warm.

The food in the restaurant is excellent - I had lamb the other evening which was delicious and at about $30 was excellent value given vegetables were included. The lemon tart was also a treat.

It is a real experience coming to the Princes Gate, we are always warmly welcomed and many of the staff seem to have been there for a long time which is always a good sign. If you want a brand new, modern style hotel then stay in one, but if you want somewhere warm, inviting and quietly elegant then come and stay here. I always feel refreshed after our visits and we plan to return very soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PonsonbyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your experience with us. We, like yourself, thoroughly enjoy the "old world charm in a modern day context" our Hotel provides which we believe is a lovely point of difference for many travellers. I really do appreciate your extensive description of some of the facilities offered, and am glad to hear that you found our staff to be both professional and friendly. We look forward to having you join us again when you're next visiting Rotorua and wish you well for a very prosperous year ahead. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Loved the feeling of being removed from everyday - floral carpets and high ceilings, lace at the windows and the corridors lined with old photos. We found the room charming and enjoyed reading about the hotel's history, and the stories of the local identities whose names have been given to the rooms. Thanks for a relaxed stay and warm welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MewsTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel and wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a "relaxed stay"with us. We do hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

We were only able to spend one night, but it was a wonderful place to stay. The hotel's location and ambiance made it one of those places you remember (in a good way!) for a long time. Agree with the comment about WiFi but once you figured out how it was set up it worked just fine. Only caution is to be aware that there are no lifts ("elevators" for us Americans) and even though the staff was most helpful in moving bags up and down the stairs, some older guests may have a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank callen2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your valued comments - much appreciated. I certainly do understand your feedback regarding the possible difficulty the absence of an Elevator (Lift), may present to some of our elderly guests unable to negotiate the stairs to our first floor rooms.

If we are made aware of this by guests prior to arrival, we always endeavour to place guests into our ground floor rooms for ease of access (subject to availability) and to ensure their stay with us is as pleasant an experience as possible.

Warmest regards and we do hope you will stay with us again when you're next travelling to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The room I had in the apartment annex, was a real value, actually a suite. The lobby and main building are gorgeous. The food is good, and the location great. yes, there's a bit of sulfur smell, but it's well part of Rotorua's attraction (not the smell the hot springs). It's clean, and a pleasant place to stay.

But what's up with New Zealand and internet? For the free WiFi, you go to the lobby and get a ticket for free at least that gives you 50 mess of info. One 10 minute Skype call and well forget it. You can go outside to call to not annoy other guests, but why these stupid tickets? And this is the NEW SYSTEM. You can get it in your room via the old system, but then you pay for your measly 50 megs. I wouldn't have stayed under that circumstance.

Ok, it's not only this hotel but NZ tends to treat bandwidth like a valuable commodity. Still, the motel down the road has it for free in rooms, so they really need to get with the 21st Century here too.

(also putting jets in the nice hot tubs outside would be cool!) But it was nice as it is.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abmindprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank-you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments about our lovely hotel and the service you were provided.
In regards to our guest internet service, we currently have free wi-fi available on the bar and lobby area. This is due to expand throughout the whole hotel including the rooms once our current contract on the old pay system expires at the end of December. While we do give tickets limiting to only 50MB (this is so as to control ability to illegally download content due to tough new laws on this), these are free and you can get as many as you like. We do also have tickets with unlimited access for a small fee for anyone who would like to use Skype etc that require more bandwidth. We apologise if this was not communicated to you.
We hope that you do enjoy the rest of you holiday in New Zealand.
Regards,
Brett Marvelly - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing