We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Charming Hotel - Love it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Charming Hotel – Love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

If you are into old world charm, this hotel is for you. If you like to stay in pubs, but not comfortable with unclean toilets and showers, this is like a five start pub hotel with en suite bathroom. Though the hotel lacks a lot of basic amenities you would expect from ibis, like an elevator (since we were travelling as a family we had packed a lot, it would have been very difficult to carry all the luggage up if we had not got the room in the ground floor), but it is very charming. The rooms are small and not much space to move around your bed, but I still love it. This is my second time here and stayed for a couple of days. Last time I was here I did not feel the room was cramped; maybe different rooms of the same category are of different sizes. Rotorua can be very smelly due to all the volcanic activity, but the rooms in the hotel are made to smell good, I did not notice that the last time, it is very mild floral perfume which always lingers in the air, nice touch. The breakfast included in the package was ok, I liked both the continental and the hot breakfast, decent spread. An evening by the fireplace, doing whatever you like doing is not to be missed, I loved it. The best pub hotel I've come across.

Room Tip: If not carrying too much, choose rooms are the upper floor. Better security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Warmest thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate, as we do, the old world charm afforded our guests when staying at Princes Gate Hotel. You are right in that each our our well appointed rooms differ in size and we would welcome you to take advantage of allowing our friendly staff to show you a couple of our designer rooms when you're next visiting Rotorua. We certainly also agree that an evening by the fireplace (especially if you have a great Book and a glass of Wine on hand), is irresistible.

Kind regards and we do hope you'll return to stay with us again soon, PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    212
    135
    62
    51
See reviews for
119
399
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We booked an executive room, but having compared it to other rooms it wasnt necessary. the classic rooms are very nice. Both however are a little small and the neighbours can be heard "squeaking the bed" through the walls.
Its a beautiful building, charming and very well presented. Our room decor was a little dated, kind of grandma meets provincial styling.
The thermally heated pool means that there is a thermal "stink generator" out the back, so if its not breazy the Rotorua smell can build up around the hotel.
its the nicest hotel in Rotorua and a very romantic setting. The classic rooms represent excelent value for money.

Room Tip: The "designer rooms" are the nicest here. They cost more of course, but very worthwhile if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay at our Hotel. We, like you, agree the character and style of the Hotel is what sets it apart from our modern-day counterparts and is a draw-card to many a visitor to Rotorua seeking something uniquely different. Our "Classic"rooms do offer value for money, or for just a little more, guests can enjoy our beautifully appointed "Designer" rooms.

Warmest regards and we do hope you will consider us again as your preferred provider of accommodation when your next in Rotorua, PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Booked the hotel through Booking.com - excellent choice. The hotel was a dream - upon arrival we were upgraded to a queen room - fabulous. The room rates were very cheap. Clean and friendly service was obvious from the moment we entered the hotel. Food was great, very reasonably priced and excellent quality. We lived like kings for the two days we were there. Fabulous old-world hotel set in the by-gone days - everything was fitting and in character for this wonderful hotel. Beds were so comfortable and also the pillows - which I normally find a problem in most hotels. All the usual ameneties were available in the room. Within walking distance to the town centre. Staff were very efficient and friendly. There was entertainment offered each night - we caught the Cabaret - excellent show with a great menu. What more can I say, great value, great ambiance and just an amazing two days. Would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and we would only go back to Princes Gate Hotel when in Rotorua.

Room Tip: No noise from our room - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inbarushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience with our Hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to afford you an upgrade on arrival. We're thrilled you enjoyed the character and charm of iconic building and were equally impressed with our staff service, food, and that you enjoyed a relaxing night's sleep (with comfy pillows).

Given it's central City location and minutes walking distance to some of of Rotorua's most beautiful and world renowned attractions, Princes gate is favourite with domestic and international guests alike.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Rotorua.

Warmest regards, PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Lovely looking hotel and real change from modern hotel chain accommodation but could really do with some upkeep work. We were first taken to a 1-bedroom suite but on finding a dark poky unit with stained carpet, dirty microwave, tiny shower cubicle and hard towels which looked liked they'd seen better days we asked for another room. Ended up in room in hotel which had lots of character and was clean and comfortable. Restaurant and bar lovely but accommodation could do with attention.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plmbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
A little harsh on the headline considering they did enjoy the experience. Without being specific, as in all reviews, they are only one persons opinion and can differ so much from one person to the next who experience the same product. This review did however highlight something that we had already actioned and that was to employ another supervisor specifically designated to the suites. Our housemaids are wonderful but our policy is for every room to be checked prior to arrival but we felt our executive housekeeper was being compromised by trying to be everywhere. So we appreciate the comments and highlight the fact that this had already been identified and actioned.
Thanks.
Brett Marvelly - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I [both mid 60's] stayed here in august 2011 for 2 nights,and paid an extra NZ$100 per night for a room upgrade.
On arrival we were shown to our Room,not the suite with a kitchenette,which we had paid for through our booking agent
Early on the 2nd morning of our stay we were talking to a staff member who was serviceing our room ,told her our concerns,and were told that a bulk booking for the Rugby World Cup had filled the Hotel and that our upgrade wasn't available.
The Manager then told, me personally that he would see that we were not out of pocket and to contact our agency when we arrived home in Australia,which we duly did.
I then received an emai from the Manager Mr Brett Marvally which told me to stop annoying him and to get lost!
Consequently,I can only hope other travellers do not incur the same lies and deception that we encountered on our Princes Gate Hotelstay.

Room Tip: Do not move in until satisfied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank webbie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
We would like to respond to this review by stating that this guest has been dealt with entirely courteously at all stages and that none of his complaints are legitimate. The rate he was charged was exactly as he had booked for the room he received. We have been in contact with both him and the travel agencies and at no stage was an extra charge incurred. We have our paper trail to confirm everything is as it should be.
In response to the remark about the e-mail from myself, I can honestly state that there was never an e-mail sent to him with anything less than the most professional language. Again we have all our paper trail as evidence to support this and the fact that he can spread such slander with no proof is a shame.
We trust that by responding and explaining these facts, that you the reviewer will get the truth rather than the fiction of a guest with a grudge.

Brett Marvelly - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We bought a Deal package for a caberat and dinner, and a nights accomodation in one of the designer rooms.Unfortunatly two nights before we arrived we were rung and told there would be no cabaret entertainment.It was my husbands 40th birthday present and our wedding anniversary.We were reassurred that our room was worth $240.00 alone, so I did not want to complain. But to me a deal was a deal.Still thinking the 5 star room would make up for this we were quite disappointed: The flute wine glasses didn't match.( Which normally I wouldn't give a hoot about but this was 5 STAR!) A hinge was broken on the door to the verandah.The shower curtain was torn, and the plumbing was dated and stained. The TV was small and the fan in the bathroom didn't work.Not what I had planned for our special night..BUT we did enjoy a beautiful meal at the restaurant where the service certainly was 5 star and very attentive.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our accommodation in a suite adjacent to the main Hotel was comfortable and beautifully furnished. The main Hotel area is a must for anyone to experience for the sumptuous 1920s charm and attention to detail. We experienced a very special cabaret /dinner evening featuring John Rowles . I would also recommend the high tea.
Above all the staff were all friendly and very helpful. Many thanks to Brett Marvelly

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayla0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#28 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing