We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princes gate hotel - left after one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prince's Gate Hotel
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Arrived having booked a room via the Internet to be shown a room whose door open out onto the front?!?

Beautiful looking hotel - however the housekeeping let it down considerably.

On our arrival we upgraded to an executive room and initially booked for one night as the receptionist was less than friendly.

On arrival in our room husband needed quick snooze to re charge batteries due to being unwell.

Found the bedding to be crumpled as if someone had slept in them prior to us - to me one pleasure of staying at hotels is the clean sheets feeling!! Anyway hubby's had quick snooze on top of the bed whilst I went down to enquire as to whether bed had been changed following previous guests.

Spoke to manager who agreed to go up to the room and check whilst we went out for a Walk.

On our return he informed us that whilst he acknowledged that the sheets were very crumpled , that his opinion was that they were clean- no efforts were made to change the linen which was what I would have expected of a 5 star property.

To cut long story short, we left the following morning.

Shame, as this is a lovely hotel which just requires to up it's game somewhat in terms of housekeeping to become a beautiful heritage hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wiars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank-you for your comments in relation to your stay with us. We apologise for the service you received on check-in from our receptionist. We obviously did not meet our standards of service on this occasion.

In relation to your comment about the sheets being crumpled, I went up and checked as soon as I was told about it. In my opinion the sheets were slightly crumpled but no more than usual and the fact that your husband had been on the bed had added to it slightly when I saw them. The sheets were definitely clean. When you came back I came and spoke to you straight away explaining my findings and you were very happy with that and said it always just pays to check. If at any stage you had wanted them changed by us it would not have been a problem.

We do definitely agree that housekeeping must be kept at a premium standard at all times but on this occasion I must say that our standards were well and truly in line with what we expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

We were greeted in a luke warm, indifferent fashion and then had to carry our cases to the McGregor suite.(next to the hotel up 2 flights of stairs) Oh I fogot to mention we were given a sales pitch on attending a dinner/opera Phantom of the Opera!
The suite was all beige, dreary and tired. Sockets loose, shower curtains needed washing, window panes cracked, soap holders and plugs rusty, cobwebs in the ceilings. We went downstairs for a drink and the barmaid was very pleasant....didn't know much about NZ wines and then charged us 14 dollars for a glass of wine whichh should have been 9. No matter too tired to mind! Left the next morning after carrying our cases back to the car and paying a monosylabic lady who did not ask how we had enjoyed our stay, room or time in Rotorua.......perhaps just as well!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EnglandRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank-you for your comments in relation to your stay with us. We apologise for the service you received on check-in and check-out and on being taken to your room. Our policy is always that we carry the guests bag for them to their rooms so we obviously did not meet our standards on this occasion. In the mornings we also do carry bags for our guests on request as obviously we cannot know when everyone is checking out and requiring help. We have brought all these matters up in todays staff meeting to reiterate our expectations for our service to our guests.

In terms of your comment about being told of the Phantom performance that evening, as far as we are concerned, we have no problem with doing this as obviously we are a business and we will inform of/sell to guests any available services/dining/shows that we may have available during their stay.

In regard to criticism of the room, this I do not accept. If visitors are wanting a clinical square box, it is not for them, it is a character building. I refer to a previous review from a guest that stayed in exactly the same room. We obviously desire for all our guests to have a wonderful experience. It is however acknowledged that people have to understand the Princes Gate Hotel is 115 years old. Over our 26 years of owning and operating this building, we have endeavoured at all times to decorate and to maintain to a level that is expected of a heritage building. Therefore you will not see clinical colours, recessed lights, etc. It’s all about chandeliers, a lot of drapery with our staff in suits and ties, etc. I trust this goes some way to offering the expectation of fellow travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

If you are into old world charm, this hotel is for you. If you like to stay in pubs, but not comfortable with unclean toilets and showers, this is like a five start pub hotel with en suite bathroom. Though the hotel lacks a lot of basic amenities you would expect from ibis, like an elevator (since we were travelling as a family we had packed a lot, it would have been very difficult to carry all the luggage up if we had not got the room in the ground floor), but it is very charming. The rooms are small and not much space to move around your bed, but I still love it. This is my second time here and stayed for a couple of days. Last time I was here I did not feel the room was cramped; maybe different rooms of the same category are of different sizes. Rotorua can be very smelly due to all the volcanic activity, but the rooms in the hotel are made to smell good, I did not notice that the last time, it is very mild floral perfume which always lingers in the air, nice touch. The breakfast included in the package was ok, I liked both the continental and the hot breakfast, decent spread. An evening by the fireplace, doing whatever you like doing is not to be missed, I loved it. The best pub hotel I've come across.

Room Tip: If not carrying too much, choose rooms are the upper floor. Better security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Warmest thanks for your feedback following your recent stay. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciate, as we do, the old world charm afforded our guests when staying at Princes Gate Hotel. You are right in that each our our well appointed rooms differ in size and we would welcome you to take advantage of allowing our friendly staff to show you a couple of our designer rooms when you're next visiting Rotorua. We certainly also agree that an evening by the fireplace (especially if you have a great Book and a glass of Wine on hand), is irresistible.

Kind regards and we do hope you'll return to stay with us again soon, PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We booked an executive room, but having compared it to other rooms it wasnt necessary. the classic rooms are very nice. Both however are a little small and the neighbours can be heard "squeaking the bed" through the walls.
Its a beautiful building, charming and very well presented. Our room decor was a little dated, kind of grandma meets provincial styling.
The thermally heated pool means that there is a thermal "stink generator" out the back, so if its not breazy the Rotorua smell can build up around the hotel.
its the nicest hotel in Rotorua and a very romantic setting. The classic rooms represent excelent value for money.

Room Tip: The "designer rooms" are the nicest here. They cost more of course, but very worthwhile if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Many thanks for your comments following your recent stay at our Hotel. We, like you, agree the character and style of the Hotel is what sets it apart from our modern-day counterparts and is a draw-card to many a visitor to Rotorua seeking something uniquely different. Our "Classic"rooms do offer value for money, or for just a little more, guests can enjoy our beautifully appointed "Designer" rooms.

Warmest regards and we do hope you will consider us again as your preferred provider of accommodation when your next in Rotorua, PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Booked the hotel through Booking.com - excellent choice. The hotel was a dream - upon arrival we were upgraded to a queen room - fabulous. The room rates were very cheap. Clean and friendly service was obvious from the moment we entered the hotel. Food was great, very reasonably priced and excellent quality. We lived like kings for the two days we were there. Fabulous old-world hotel set in the by-gone days - everything was fitting and in character for this wonderful hotel. Beds were so comfortable and also the pillows - which I normally find a problem in most hotels. All the usual ameneties were available in the room. Within walking distance to the town centre. Staff were very efficient and friendly. There was entertainment offered each night - we caught the Cabaret - excellent show with a great menu. What more can I say, great value, great ambiance and just an amazing two days. Would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and we would only go back to Princes Gate Hotel when in Rotorua.

Room Tip: No noise from our room - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inbarushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience with our Hotel, and it was our pleasure to have been able to afford you an upgrade on arrival. We're thrilled you enjoyed the character and charm of iconic building and were equally impressed with our staff service, food, and that you enjoyed a relaxing night's sleep (with comfy pillows).

Given it's central City location and minutes walking distance to some of of Rotorua's most beautiful and world renowned attractions, Princes gate is favourite with domestic and international guests alike.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in Rotorua.

Warmest regards, PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Lovely looking hotel and real change from modern hotel chain accommodation but could really do with some upkeep work. We were first taken to a 1-bedroom suite but on finding a dark poky unit with stained carpet, dirty microwave, tiny shower cubicle and hard towels which looked liked they'd seen better days we asked for another room. Ended up in room in hotel which had lots of character and was clean and comfortable. Restaurant and bar lovely but accommodation could do with attention.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plmbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

A little harsh on the headline considering they did enjoy the experience. Without being specific, as in all reviews, they are only one persons opinion and can differ so much from one person to the next who experience the same product. This review did however highlight something that we had already actioned and that was to employ another supervisor specifically designated to the suites. Our housemaids are wonderful but our policy is for every room to be checked prior to arrival but we felt our executive housekeeper was being compromised by trying to be everywhere. So we appreciate the comments and highlight the fact that this had already been identified and actioned.
Thanks.
Brett Marvelly - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I [both mid 60's] stayed here in august 2011 for 2 nights,and paid an extra NZ$100 per night for a room upgrade.
On arrival we were shown to our Room,not the suite with a kitchenette,which we had paid for through our booking agent
Early on the 2nd morning of our stay we were talking to a staff member who was serviceing our room ,told her our concerns,and were told that a bulk booking for the Rugby World Cup had filled the Hotel and that our upgrade wasn't available.
The Manager then told, me personally that he would see that we were not out of pocket and to contact our agency when we arrived home in Australia,which we duly did.
I then received an emai from the Manager Mr Brett Marvally which told me to stop annoying him and to get lost!
Consequently,I can only hope other travellers do not incur the same lies and deception that we encountered on our Princes Gate Hotelstay.

Room Tip: Do not move in until satisfied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank webbie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Prince's Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

We would like to respond to this review by stating that this guest has been dealt with entirely courteously at all stages and that none of his complaints are legitimate. The rate he was charged was exactly as he had booked for the room he received. We have been in contact with both him and the travel agencies and at no stage was an extra charge incurred. We have our paper trail to confirm everything is as it should be.
In response to the remark about the e-mail from myself, I can honestly state that there was never an e-mail sent to him with anything less than the most professional language. Again we have all our paper trail as evidence to support this and the fact that he can spread such slander with no proof is a shame.
We trust that by responding and explaining these facts, that you the reviewer will get the truth rather than the fiction of a guest with a grudge.

Brett Marvelly - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.4 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince's Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £83 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prince's Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Prince's Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing