We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde World Style.”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Olde World Style.”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A beautiful old hotel with exceptionaly helpful staff. However I was disapointed with the standard of cleaning. I was not happy to find a hair in my bed or mould through out the bathroom. The couch was heading towards threadbare. If these small things were improved it would make a huge difference. In saying this, the place was charming with loads of character, and I prefer this to modern stark hotels. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank-you for the kind words about the Hotel, staff and location.

Housekeeping is a high priority with nothing less than 100% being acceptable. I can assure the reader that the sheet were clean and that the only explanation is that the hair must have come from a housekeeper.

In regard to the bathroom ceiling, this is actually thermal discolouration and not mould.

We have a maintenance programme that is extremely rigorous, and your comments have certainly helped and been passed along in our daily staff meetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    223
    140
    64
    51
See reviews for
127
414
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My two sisters and I stayed at the Princes Gate Rotorua for the second time in six months. The hotel is in a wonderful location, in my opinion the best location in Rotorua. This historic hotel is next door to the Government gardens and very close to the shops. The hotel was very clean, with a wonderful old world charm. The Princes Gate's main asset are the friendly staff, the owner Brett always has time for a friendly chat. We enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea - being connoisseurs of afternoon teas around the world we rated this very highly.

Can't wait to return.

S Charge

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Sarah. Thanks so much for understanding what we are all about. Yes it is a beautiful building and it does have much history, charm and ambience. But the most important aspect are the people who work within it who at all times strive to give their utmost to make the visitors stay not only enjoyable, but memorable as-well. From the owners perspective, we have spent many hundreds of thousands of dollars over the years, not only painting the roof and exterior, but individually decorating the rooms, providing free wi-fi throughout the hotel etc. We have also started the introduction of air-conditioning into our rooms even though this is not very necessary for Rotorua due to our mild summers and during the winter we do have our geothermal heating and open fires in our lounges.

I have mentioned before, the frustration as an owner, when looking back on 8-9 year old reviews that continue to pull our rating down. Analysing the last 18 months we show to have around a 90% success rate and to be honest, this is well above what I anticipated, as with an 115 year old building you are always going to have those who do not appreciate those things that an older building has to offer .So please stay here if you are wanting more than just a square box that provides no memories once you have left the premises.

Yours truly,

Brett Marvelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. The friendly staff made us and our baby very welcome. The port-a-cot we ordered was already set up in our room, with ample blankets and bedding provided. One lady saw us admiring the drawing room and gave us a tour of the original hotel building, including showing us into a couple of the (unoccupied) historic rooms. We had an excellent 3 course dinner in the historic dining room, and enjoyed a generous continental breakfast, with a great choice of fresh fruit, juices, yoghurt etc. (Certainly far better than any pie cart that the reviewer "Jqqls" goes to.)

Room Tip: The modern 1 bedroom suite we stayed in was in the annex - if you aren't a couple, the extra r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyandShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for making the effort to furnish your valued comments. It was our pleasure to host you and your family and we're thrilled that our service was to your expectation.

We are also pleased that your dining experience with us was also a pleasant one and we do hope you will consider staying with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
PGH team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAURANGA NZ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel when they were running a dinner and show promotion. A great night. The hotel rooms are of an old design but have every thing you need and rather a nice change from the modern city type design and layout. Location is good a flat easy walk to town and lake front. 5 to 10 minute walk to bars and restaurants if you want to go out?? we found the in house bar and restaurant fine. Nice "small" out door mineral hot pool and good off street parking if you are early enough other wise parking on the road outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about the different types of rooms and colour schemes???? there are some bright ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEANDMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments with regard to your recent stay at our boutique Hotel. The age and heritage of Princes Gate lend itself to discerning travellers seeking something uniquely special in a Hotel. As you've already mentioned in your comments our Hotel is rather a nice change from the modern city type design and layout."

The convenience of our location within walking distance of many of Rotorua's notable tourist attractions is a welcome draw-card to many a guest to our accommodation.

Again, many thanks for your comments and we do hope to host you again when next staying in Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We didn't stay here, but we were tempted to head there for breakfast.

Firstly, the ambience is lovely. The lass on reception/waitressing perfectly pleasant....
~ but for a hotel claiming to be *something* the food was simply not up to scratch, and I could eat better at Auckland's pie cart!

With the $12.00 special B&E & coffee... my friend especially asked for his eggs to be soft and runny! We were too hungry to send them back, but they certainly were well overcooked! The bacon was plentiful but some of it was also overcooked. The toast was plain, white, unbuttered (butter was separately provided) and nary even a sprig of parsley in sight!

I asked for tomatoes @ $9.50. I received two good sized ones, on unbuttered white toast, and they'd been halved, and passed under a grill. Nothing else on the plate, and by the time I got them they were practically cold. Good grief.... that's shocking.

As an aside... a few days later we had breakfast for slightly less cost in an Auckland establishment. Hot, buttered, whole grain toast on the side, bacon, eggs (as ordered) plus tomatoes (as an extra) generously hot and peppered. What a difference a bit of care and attention can make to an ordinary experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Firstly thank-you for the lovely comments on the ambience of the building. Being 115 years old and an icon to our city, it is always nice to share these comments. Thanks also for your comments in regard to our service staff. We've always strived for genuine personality with a smile. It's pleasing that this has been identified as-well. In regards to the breakfast comment, it is always of surprise when someone can take the time to write a very unbalanced view when they did not give the restaurant the opportunity to rectify the guests desires as opposed to writing about it. In breaking down the review, the guests total bill for this breakfast was $21.50. It would have been so easy for them to ask for their eggs to be re-done. I trust fellow readers can understand my view in this regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel had a great atmosphere in the public spaces with comfortable couches and free WiFi. Unfortunately, the room we had was disappointing. It was extremely small with barely room to move around. I would definitely recommend splurging for a one-bedroom unit. The location of the hotel was great, within close walking distance of everything. The breakfast was good value and the spa/mineral pools were a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
We would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us and of our Hotel. We are perfectly positioned in the central city and very close to many of Rotorua’s lovely gardens, museum, hot pools and other tourist areas. In terms of your comments regarding the size of the room we would like to highlight the following points. We have four room types available for guests and we cater to all budgets. For the price conscious we provide our lovely little Classic Room which is beautiful but obviously the smaller of our range. We then move into our mid-size Estate Rooms and 1 Bedroom Suites which are both more spacious and have larger beds. For those who desire the best in comfort and elegance we have our beautiful larger Designer Rooms. All our room types are individually decorated in keeping with the Hotels old world charm so there is something here for everyone.

Kind regards,

Brett Marvelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The hotel is very old but historic. My room was pretty but musty. The problem is that it was warm when I visited and there is no air-conditioning. That said I still very much enjoyed my visit there. The staff and the owner were very lovely and helpful. The hotel has a lot of character. I loved the location. It was central to all the activities in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing