We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should not be ignored because of its low ranking”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“should not be ignored because of its low ranking”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent an unplanned night in Rotorua and saw this charming property so checked to see what thedrop-in price was. We were shown a choice of rooms and were able to cut a deal acceptable to us. Certainly the property is old but it adds to the charm and the staff look the part as well as being very efficient and helpful. I expect there are some less acceptable rooms so make sure you see the room before accepting

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    223
    141
    64
    51
See reviews for
127
415
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

if you want a taste of elegance then the Princess Gate is the place to stay, a charming 1930s restored hotel keeping the theme of by gone era. The hotel lobby was a pleasure to walk into and we were greeted with a great smile from Steven who we found very helpful. Our room had a king bed with (comfy as) and the decor was also kept in the theme of the era. The room was spotless and it was good to see a note advising customers who have stayed in Rotorua about trout flies. And the food, just mouth watering. We had the early bird special and the chef cooked the chicken to perfection and nicely accompanied by beans and small parsnips, followed by a great desert. the buffet breakfast was a great selection of cereals and fruit ect, followed by perfectly cooked bacon and eggs served by the hotels owner, great to see. Unfortunately we could only spend one night at the Princess Gate but we will be going back in a few months for 3 days and this were we will be staying.

Room Tip: up stairs room facing west looking over government gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Many thanks for investing the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Princes Gate Hotel.

Hotel owners, Brett and Vlasta Marvelly, have worked very hard over the last 26 years to ensure the unique charm offered in this iconic Hotel experience echoes yesteryear, while still affording guests every modern-day amenity.

We're pleased that your experience of both our staff and food during your stay were of a very high standard, and we look forward to hosting you again when you return to Rotorua in the next few months.

Warmest regards and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were shown to a small suite - bedroom, sitting room and kitchenette initially, but on finding that only one plate on the antique looking hob worked, we were moved to similar accommodation in the opposite building, which was very fair of the hotel.
In this suite, there was thick dust on the skirtings, dead insects on the bathroom window sill and floor. The decor was tired and grubby; there were small stains on the curtains for example.
I was surprised that cleaning was not a daily service so requested that our floors were cleaned, which they were.
Having stayed in a fantastic motel in Napier for the same price, where every corner was cleaned daily, I was irritated that this hotel, which puffs itself up with a self congratulatory historical fact sheet, should rest on its laurels so badly as to let rooms which are drab, dirty and needing some investment.

Room Tip: I imagine that the better, or at least more expensive rooms, are in the main building. However, on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sidonia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

That are some hotels you would like to visit again and Princes Gate Hotel is definitely one of them. Lovely interior, professional and friendly service, delicious food. Moreover do not miss Saturday evening Opera show in this hotel and book your dinner table in advance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystyna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Hi Krystyna, Thank you for your kind remarks with respect to your recent stay at our boutique Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the architecture, design, and ambience of the 115 year old building, and that the standard of service received from our staff was both professional and friendly.

As you've pointed out in your comments, our dinner shows are popular and we certainly recommend booking in advance to be assured of an unmissable experience.

Warmest regards and we do hope you will stay with us again when your next visiting New Zealand.

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We spent some hours walking around Rotorua , and needed to have lunch. We happened apon the Princes Gate , a beautiful period hotel on the edge of Rotoruas city park and an extension of the historic buillding enclave . We entered the hotel dining are which was set up for formal dining to a good standard . We were warmly welcomed by the new head waiter ( who to my shame , I did not get his name ) and were immediately seated at a lovely inside table.

As we only wanted a casual lunch we thought we may have overdone our selection as the historical hotel looked very upmarket. ! In addition my wife is a small eater and decided the serves at a normal restaunt would be too large for her and hence decided not to order anything. I ordered the fish of the day with salad but asked for an extra empty plate as I thought my wife may want something. The hotel brought out my meal and the additional plate. It had two large pieces of fish which was delicious. I gave a portion to my wife who had more than enough , as did I. The hotel was hardly going to make a fortune our of our custom! Yet the attention and service was nothing short of excellent.

What struck and stayed with me was the gracious and friendly service we were attended with and the offer to show us the hotel afterwards . If we had been staying in Rotora that night we would have definitely attended the dinner /show ( Phantom of the opera which included a comprehensive meal ) which I believe was a per head price of $85 . We unfortunately could not stay, but note that this was much cheaper than a similar dinner show deal at the baths across the park.

We done to Brett and Vlasta Marvelly , the owners for obviously making service to thier customers the most important priority.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank target008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed just one night and it was at the end of a very long, rainy day. Place showed its history in its room layouts and decor, but we found it comfortable and the staff helpful. We were shown four different types of rooms and given our choice. We opted for first floor with wraparound porch access to our room. It was old, but unique, pretty much exactly what we expected. And its location was right in the middle of Rotorua, with access to everything.

Room Tip: Ask about their options and take a tour of each. You can get balconies, porches, suites and more mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Hi Andrea, Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent overnight stay at Princes Gate. As you mentioned in your feedback, the Hotel is a local icon in Rotorua given it's over 100 year history. We endeavour to keep the yesteryear "theme"of our boutique Hotel, while also ensuring it offers all the amenities associated with its modern-day peers.

Each room within the Hotel enjoys a different vantage point and is individually furnished and decorated, affording each of our guests a choice to suit various tastes and budgets.

We're pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again when next in Rotorua. Warmest regards, PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had a wonderful weekend stay at this lovely hotel. The rooms were beautifully appointed and staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is very well situated in the heart of Rotorua with everything in walking distance.
We all enjoyed the 'Phantom of the Opera' and the 'Cabaret'.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially those wanting a more unique experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_KTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Hi Anna, Many thanks for taking the time to furnish your comments regarding your recent weekend stay at our Hotel. We're always pleased to hear from our valued guests that both our accommodation and staff made your stay a memorable one for all the right reasons. As you've already noted in your feedback, Princes Gate Hotel's convenient location to many of Rotorua's notable attractions make it a preferred option for many travellers to our beautiful City. We're also thrilled you loved our "Phantom"and Cabaret entertainment and look forward to hosting you again when you next visit Rotorua. Warmest regards, PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing