We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This boutique gem really grew on us...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This boutique gem really grew on us...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We arrived relatively late on the Thursday before Good Friday - tired and looking for a good sleep. The gentleman on reception was so welcoming, friendly and genuine - a good start! He took us to our room (22 - the Camille Malfroy room) and I must say I was a little underwhelmed at first. It was relatively small, and although the decor is in keeping with the period of the building, it seemed a little tired - the two bucket chairs looked like they needed a good steam clean and the mirror in the bathroom had started to deteriorate where the adhesive was. As there is no air-con in the room (but a radiator heater) it was also a little stuffy from being shut up, but we just left the door open for a bit and that soon sorted it out.

To bed and a comfy bed it was! We had a great sleep and tripped on down to breakfast through the wonderful lobby to be met by some more lovely friendly staff who were only too happy to please. The dining room is very in period and we really enjoyed the cooked breakfasts (had the pancakes, scrambled eggs and the 'Princes Gate breakfast' which was basically the works), as well as the continental buffet on different mornings.

On our second night we tried out the hot pools - three different thermal pools at three different temperatures in a lovely landscaped setting. We were fortunate that it coincided with a cabaret show in the dining room, so we got to hear that while we relaxed in the pools before slipping back up to our room for a good sleep.

So after initially thinking I wouldn't come back here, I can honestly say we now would. We had a room at the lowest end of the price range, so I can only review on the room we stayed in. I do think the soft furnishing in this room could do with a wee update, but it was (apart from the chairs), clean and comfortable. Like other reviews have mentioned - if you want modern there are other places in Rotorua that cater for that. If you want charm and wonderful service, the Princes Gate has it in truck loads.

Room Tip: I'd stay on the first floor to avoid hearing floor boards squeak above you in the mornings. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiw1Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank-you for your nice comments, it is greatly appreciated especially the recognition of our wonderful service. Also your comments in regards to your room were totally correct. In January 2011 we started a total upgrade of all our rooms. This investment has been in excess of one million dollars. In May of this year we commence the final six rooms which will see the hotel with 50 beautiful designer appointed rooms. We have always had wonderful comments on staff, location, ambience and historic value of the hotel. This is now matched with our beautiful rooms.

Yours sincerely,

Brett Marvelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    212
    135
    62
    51
See reviews for
119
398
20
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Beautiful building right in the hub of Rotorua, and on the doorstep of the Rotorua Museum.

Our room was stylishly appointed, with plenty of space to relax.

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, and the dining experience was one to remember!

Room Tip: Pick the Johnson Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Hi Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We agree, the convenience afforded in Princes Gate being located in the heart of Rotorua CBD make it convenient for guests to enjoy some of our most renowned attractions like the Bathhouse Museum, Government Gardens and others only a brief walk from the Hotel.

We're glad that you enjoyed one of our many individually appointed rooms, and that you found our staff and dinner show experience a positive one.

We hope you'll return as our guest when you next visit Rotorua as we would be very pleased to host you again.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We spent an unplanned night in Rotorua and saw this charming property so checked to see what thedrop-in price was. We were shown a choice of rooms and were able to cut a deal acceptable to us. Certainly the property is old but it adds to the charm and the staff look the part as well as being very efficient and helpful. I expect there are some less acceptable rooms so make sure you see the room before accepting

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

if you want a taste of elegance then the Princess Gate is the place to stay, a charming 1930s restored hotel keeping the theme of by gone era. The hotel lobby was a pleasure to walk into and we were greeted with a great smile from Steven who we found very helpful. Our room had a king bed with (comfy as) and the decor was also kept in the theme of the era. The room was spotless and it was good to see a note advising customers who have stayed in Rotorua about trout flies. And the food, just mouth watering. We had the early bird special and the chef cooked the chicken to perfection and nicely accompanied by beans and small parsnips, followed by a great desert. the buffet breakfast was a great selection of cereals and fruit ect, followed by perfectly cooked bacon and eggs served by the hotels owner, great to see. Unfortunately we could only spend one night at the Princess Gate but we will be going back in a few months for 3 days and this were we will be staying.

Room Tip: up stairs room facing west looking over government gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Many thanks for investing the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Princes Gate Hotel.

Hotel owners, Brett and Vlasta Marvelly, have worked very hard over the last 26 years to ensure the unique charm offered in this iconic Hotel experience echoes yesteryear, while still affording guests every modern-day amenity.

We're pleased that your experience of both our staff and food during your stay were of a very high standard, and we look forward to hosting you again when you return to Rotorua in the next few months.

Warmest regards and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were shown to a small suite - bedroom, sitting room and kitchenette initially, but on finding that only one plate on the antique looking hob worked, we were moved to similar accommodation in the opposite building, which was very fair of the hotel.
In this suite, there was thick dust on the skirtings, dead insects on the bathroom window sill and floor. The decor was tired and grubby; there were small stains on the curtains for example.
I was surprised that cleaning was not a daily service so requested that our floors were cleaned, which they were.
Having stayed in a fantastic motel in Napier for the same price, where every corner was cleaned daily, I was irritated that this hotel, which puffs itself up with a self congratulatory historical fact sheet, should rest on its laurels so badly as to let rooms which are drab, dirty and needing some investment.

Room Tip: I imagine that the better, or at least more expensive rooms, are in the main building. However, on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sidonia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

That are some hotels you would like to visit again and Princes Gate Hotel is definitely one of them. Lovely interior, professional and friendly service, delicious food. Moreover do not miss Saturday evening Opera show in this hotel and book your dinner table in advance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystyna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Hi Krystyna, Thank you for your kind remarks with respect to your recent stay at our boutique Hotel. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the architecture, design, and ambience of the 115 year old building, and that the standard of service received from our staff was both professional and friendly.

As you've pointed out in your comments, our dinner shows are popular and we certainly recommend booking in advance to be assured of an unmissable experience.

Warmest regards and we do hope you will stay with us again when your next visiting New Zealand.

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We spent some hours walking around Rotorua , and needed to have lunch. We happened apon the Princes Gate , a beautiful period hotel on the edge of Rotoruas city park and an extension of the historic buillding enclave . We entered the hotel dining are which was set up for formal dining to a good standard . We were warmly welcomed by the new head waiter ( who to my shame , I did not get his name ) and were immediately seated at a lovely inside table.

As we only wanted a casual lunch we thought we may have overdone our selection as the historical hotel looked very upmarket. ! In addition my wife is a small eater and decided the serves at a normal restaunt would be too large for her and hence decided not to order anything. I ordered the fish of the day with salad but asked for an extra empty plate as I thought my wife may want something. The hotel brought out my meal and the additional plate. It had two large pieces of fish which was delicious. I gave a portion to my wife who had more than enough , as did I. The hotel was hardly going to make a fortune our of our custom! Yet the attention and service was nothing short of excellent.

What struck and stayed with me was the gracious and friendly service we were attended with and the offer to show us the hotel afterwards . If we had been staying in Rotora that night we would have definitely attended the dinner /show ( Phantom of the opera which included a comprehensive meal ) which I believe was a per head price of $85 . We unfortunately could not stay, but note that this was much cheaper than a similar dinner show deal at the baths across the park.

We done to Brett and Vlasta Marvelly , the owners for obviously making service to thier customers the most important priority.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank target008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#29 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing