We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely experience!”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a lovely experience!”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Thank you Brett and Vlasta for a super two days at Princes Gate at the time Kiri was singing in Rotorua. What a brilliant idea to package two nights with the concert - though, in truth, while Kiri was lovely, she didn't better the cabaret programme offered the previous night.

I lived in Rotorua in the 50's as a young child and always gazed at Princes Gate in awe every time I went to the library opposite and wondered what it would be like to look inside.Very romantic and reminded me of photographs my grandfather took in Rotorua on a trip in 1912.

Finally, 50 years later stayed there. Will be back. The Marvellys have all sorts of creative ideas for entertainment packages, dinner and accommodation. Highly recommended, but be prepared for unmodern creaky stairs, and dark spaces, over-warm rooms (because of the thermal heat everywhere in Rotorua) and all the little issues that can go with historic wooden buildings - it's a walk back in time to the days when our grandparents travelled very slowly and adventurously to Rotorua in, by our standards, uncomfortable cars and over metalled roads. How they did it is mavell(ous). Don't expect chrome modern and expect to revel in times past. It's an experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others. Some have access to a delightful wrap-around balcony. Ask the ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Princes Gate Hotel owners, Brett and Vlasta Marvelly, and we're pleased that your experience with our Hotel was a memorable experience.

As you've already noted, our Cabaret evenings are a great night out, and while a historic icon like Princes Gate may not be suited to everyone, it's great to know there are travellers like yourself who appreciate the authentic experience offered in our Hotel.

We look forward to your staying with us again when next in Rotorua as it would be our pleasure to host you.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    223
    140
    64
    51
See reviews for
127
414
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Friendly staff, good rooms, some areas of carpet are looking a little tired but it it has ambience. And a lovely dinner thought the cabaret was a bit loud, but fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Kia ora Ruth,

Thank you for your feedback - very much appreciated. We do value, and take note of guest comments. We agree that the Hotel reflects the ambience of yesteryear with all the modern amenities of a 5 star (guest and hosted) property.

We're certainly very pleased that your overall experience with us was a pleasant one and we look forward to hosting you again should you return to Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It had atmosphere, the proprietors and staff were really helpful with advice on the area for things to do etc. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Kia ora Lynne,

Many thanks for taking the time provide us with your feedback following your recent stay. We're pleased your time with us was a satisfying experience.

Our team (owners included), work extremely hard toward ensuring each guest receives the very best service and attention.

We do look forward to your choosing us again when next in Rotorua,

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were on our first ever visit to New Zealand, arrived at the hotel in the evening after several hour drive from Auckland - lovely reception and quickly settled in our room. We adjourned to the restaurant for dinner - spectacular! We ended up eating at the restaurant the following night - these two meals were our best meals in Australia & New Zealand on our 4 week adventure!
The staff / family at the hotel were most hospitable and certainly made our first stop in New Zealand memorable.
The Princes Gate was very comfortable, accomodating with easy walking access to many of the sites in Rotorua.
We highly recommend the Princes Gate for lodging and dining!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Hi Larry,

Thank you for investing time in furnishing your comments and we're so glad to hear that your overall experience with Princes Gate Hotel was an extremely positive one.

Our Chef will be pleased to know that you enjoyed the food, and even better to know that it's the best dining you'd had throughout your 4 week holiday adventure.

As your comments reflect, our staff work very hard to ensure every guest receives a high standard of service, and that our accommodation is of equally high standard.

We do hope you will choose us again when you next travel to New Zealand as it would be our pleasure to host you.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

A wonderful experience. The show and dinner was an afterthought and well worth it. It is run as a family establishment. Only slight problem was that I should have specified I was slightly disabled as I was put in a room upstairs. This provided a lovely view however getting up and down stairs was a bit aof a pain. The hotel is located right next to the park and also very close to Shopping centre. The overall experience was fabulous.

Room Tip: If you are disabled even slightly then tell them as there are down stairs rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments with regard to your recent experience with our Hotel. When you next stay with us, please do specify when making your booking that you would prefer a ground floor room as we will do our very best to ensure your request is met in this regard.

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Cabaret dinner and show and discovered the convenience of our central City location made it easier for you to enjoy the beautiful Government Gardens and other local sights.

We do hope you will consider staying with us again when you next visit Rotorua as we would consider it a pleasure to host you.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My recent trip to New Zealand was great. The Princes Gate Hotel was maybe the best experience. What a comfortable and well located hotel. All the staff was the best I have run into in all my travels. They made you feel at home and relaxed. Anyone traveling to this part of NZ should make this a must. Cheers

Room Tip: Get one facing the park with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Princes Gate Hotel. We're glad that like so many overseas guests to our beautiful City, that we had opportunity to share with you our very own piece of paradise.

We're thrilled you were greeted with great service from our staff, as we work very hard to ensure each of our guests receive this same experience.

We hope you will choose Princes gate again when you next travel to New Zealand, and we wish you well on your continuing travel adventures.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We arrived relatively late on the Thursday before Good Friday - tired and looking for a good sleep. The gentleman on reception was so welcoming, friendly and genuine - a good start! He took us to our room (22 - the Camille Malfroy room) and I must say I was a little underwhelmed at first. It was relatively small, and although the decor is in keeping with the period of the building, it seemed a little tired - the two bucket chairs looked like they needed a good steam clean and the mirror in the bathroom had started to deteriorate where the adhesive was. As there is no air-con in the room (but a radiator heater) it was also a little stuffy from being shut up, but we just left the door open for a bit and that soon sorted it out.

To bed and a comfy bed it was! We had a great sleep and tripped on down to breakfast through the wonderful lobby to be met by some more lovely friendly staff who were only too happy to please. The dining room is very in period and we really enjoyed the cooked breakfasts (had the pancakes, scrambled eggs and the 'Princes Gate breakfast' which was basically the works), as well as the continental buffet on different mornings.

On our second night we tried out the hot pools - three different thermal pools at three different temperatures in a lovely landscaped setting. We were fortunate that it coincided with a cabaret show in the dining room, so we got to hear that while we relaxed in the pools before slipping back up to our room for a good sleep.

So after initially thinking I wouldn't come back here, I can honestly say we now would. We had a room at the lowest end of the price range, so I can only review on the room we stayed in. I do think the soft furnishing in this room could do with a wee update, but it was (apart from the chairs), clean and comfortable. Like other reviews have mentioned - if you want modern there are other places in Rotorua that cater for that. If you want charm and wonderful service, the Princes Gate has it in truck loads.

Room Tip: I'd stay on the first floor to avoid hearing floor boards squeak above you in the mornings. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiw1Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Owner at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank-you for your nice comments, it is greatly appreciated especially the recognition of our wonderful service. Also your comments in regards to your room were totally correct. In January 2011 we started a total upgrade of all our rooms. This investment has been in excess of one million dollars. In May of this year we commence the final six rooms which will see the hotel with 50 beautiful designer appointed rooms. We have always had wonderful comments on staff, location, ambience and historic value of the hotel. This is now matched with our beautiful rooms.

Yours sincerely,

Brett Marvelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Property: Princes Gate Hotel
Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing