We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Princes Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Princes Gate Hotel
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Booked and paid in advance for cabaret evening and accommodation; reconfirmed booking day before arrival.
Drove 100km to venue and booked in.
Later on inquiring when cabaret started was told “you’re the only ones booked in and so cabaret cancelled”
After owner (Brett Marvelly) contacted offered free meal, take it or leave it– left it and drove 100km back home.
Other reviews and social media comment disclose our experience not unique.
“Period Character” should not be confused with old and tatty.
False airs and graces do not replace honest genuine service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank Traveller2742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Princes Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

We prefer to stay in historical lodgings when possible. So glad we found it. There is so much character in the hotel and it was fun to walk the veranda to our room (Steiner) which was spacious and very comfortable. The staff was delightful and went out of their way to be attentive when needed. Would return for another stay for certain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveleroutofNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you for investing the time to provide your valued comments with regard to your recent stay at our boutique property.

We are very proud of what is a historic icon in the heart of Rotorua and it's always pleasing to hear that there are like-minded travellers who have opportunity to enjoy the obvious character afforded by Princes Gate Hotel.

It's rewarding for us to know that your experience throughout your time with us was relaxing, comfortable, and met with your expectations as far as your receiving a high standard of service from our staff.

We wish you well on your continuing adventures, and hope to have you join us again when you next visit New Zealand as it would be our pleasure to host you.

Warmest regards,

The PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Thank you Brett and Vlasta for a super two days at Princes Gate at the time Kiri was singing in Rotorua. What a brilliant idea to package two nights with the concert - though, in truth, while Kiri was lovely, she didn't better the cabaret programme offered the previous night.

I lived in Rotorua in the 50's as a young child and always gazed at Princes Gate in awe every time I went to the library opposite and wondered what it would be like to look inside.Very romantic and reminded me of photographs my grandfather took in Rotorua on a trip in 1912.

Finally, 50 years later stayed there. Will be back. The Marvellys have all sorts of creative ideas for entertainment packages, dinner and accommodation. Highly recommended, but be prepared for unmodern creaky stairs, and dark spaces, over-warm rooms (because of the thermal heat everywhere in Rotorua) and all the little issues that can go with historic wooden buildings - it's a walk back in time to the days when our grandparents travelled very slowly and adventurously to Rotorua in, by our standards, uncomfortable cars and over metalled roads. How they did it is mavell(ous). Don't expect chrome modern and expect to revel in times past. It's an experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others. Some have access to a delightful wrap-around balcony. Ask the ow...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Princes Gate Hotel owners, Brett and Vlasta Marvelly, and we're pleased that your experience with our Hotel was a memorable experience.

As you've already noted, our Cabaret evenings are a great night out, and while a historic icon like Princes Gate may not be suited to everyone, it's great to know there are travellers like yourself who appreciate the authentic experience offered in our Hotel.

We look forward to your staying with us again when next in Rotorua as it would be our pleasure to host you.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Friendly staff, good rooms, some areas of carpet are looking a little tired but it it has ambience. And a lovely dinner thought the cabaret was a bit loud, but fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Kia ora Ruth,

Thank you for your feedback - very much appreciated. We do value, and take note of guest comments. We agree that the Hotel reflects the ambience of yesteryear with all the modern amenities of a 5 star (guest and hosted) property.

We're certainly very pleased that your overall experience with us was a pleasant one and we look forward to hosting you again should you return to Rotorua.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It had atmosphere, the proprietors and staff were really helpful with advice on the area for things to do etc. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Kia ora Lynne,

Many thanks for taking the time provide us with your feedback following your recent stay. We're pleased your time with us was a satisfying experience.

Our team (owners included), work extremely hard toward ensuring each guest receives the very best service and attention.

We do look forward to your choosing us again when next in Rotorua,

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were on our first ever visit to New Zealand, arrived at the hotel in the evening after several hour drive from Auckland - lovely reception and quickly settled in our room. We adjourned to the restaurant for dinner - spectacular! We ended up eating at the restaurant the following night - these two meals were our best meals in Australia & New Zealand on our 4 week adventure!
The staff / family at the hotel were most hospitable and certainly made our first stop in New Zealand memorable.
The Princes Gate was very comfortable, accomodating with easy walking access to many of the sites in Rotorua.
We highly recommend the Princes Gate for lodging and dining!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Hi Larry,

Thank you for investing time in furnishing your comments and we're so glad to hear that your overall experience with Princes Gate Hotel was an extremely positive one.

Our Chef will be pleased to know that you enjoyed the food, and even better to know that it's the best dining you'd had throughout your 4 week holiday adventure.

As your comments reflect, our staff work very hard to ensure every guest receives a high standard of service, and that our accommodation is of equally high standard.

We do hope you will choose us again when you next travel to New Zealand as it would be our pleasure to host you.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

A wonderful experience. The show and dinner was an afterthought and well worth it. It is run as a family establishment. Only slight problem was that I should have specified I was slightly disabled as I was put in a room upstairs. This provided a lovely view however getting up and down stairs was a bit aof a pain. The hotel is located right next to the park and also very close to Shopping centre. The overall experience was fabulous.

Room Tip: If you are disabled even slightly then tell them as there are down stairs rooms available.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you for your kind comments with regard to your recent experience with our Hotel. When you next stay with us, please do specify when making your booking that you would prefer a ground floor room as we will do our very best to ensure your request is met in this regard.

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Cabaret dinner and show and discovered the convenience of our central City location made it easier for you to enjoy the beautiful Government Gardens and other local sights.

We do hope you will consider staying with us again when you next visit Rotorua as we would consider it a pleasure to host you.

Warmest regards,

PGH Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £54 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing